MAC • My Dark Magic (Venomous Villians) • Eye Shadow

rated 4.1(30 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 kes1234 on 4/26/2012 8:00:00 PM more reviews by kes1234

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Love! This is my hands down favourite eyeshadow. It looks so beautiful in the pan and it wears really well over a primer or cream shadow. It is more glittery on than it looks in the pan. It looks great applied with a damp brush or as a liner.

As I said in my review of she who dares these are beautiful, strong, glittery shades and they are the longest wearing glitter shadows I've ever used.

I've given this one 5 lippies rather than four simply because I prefer it to she who dares. It is more strongly pigmented and looks great applied over just a primer rather than needing a cream shadow to really make the colours pop. Also this doesn't look muddy if you layer or blend the two shades although both colours do look quite similar when applied.

Would I buy it again? Yes, if that were an option though I'm sure these will last me ages as it's not really an everyday eyeshadow. You get a good amount of product though it is expensive.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 meganterese on 1/5/2011 4:06:00 PM more reviews by meganterese

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I got this for christmas and I am so glad I did! I love the combination of purple and black to make a smokey eye. I probably wouldn't do this for everyday smokey eye because the colors are so bright, but they are such beautiful colors. MAC always knows how to do it right!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nicolejohnson on 11/22/2010 7:42:00 PM more reviews by nicolejohnson

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Like "she who dares" i passed this up in the VV collection , actually i passed up the entire collection !! lol. I received this in a swap and I'm so glad that i got the opportunity because it is GORGEOUS !!!! the purple side is pretty glittery and the pink side is amazing over black base . The one i received in swap has a fairly good color payoff as i know some people received them with a lot of black marbled in it. If MAC Comes out with other MES similar i would purchase them. They are finally getting their act together with their MES ! So happy

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 joshen444 on 11/8/2010 12:41:00 AM more reviews by joshen444

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i like it~
i'm kind of sad that i didn't get the other one "she who dares"
but i'm so glad that at least i got this one
i really like the color
the color is not that intense when wearing it dry (i haven't try wearing it wet yet~ i'm so happy with the result already so maybe later)
MAC limited edition eyeshadows are always so big~ and the packaging is so cute~ love it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 MrsGlamour on 10/27/2010 10:08:00 PM more reviews by MrsGlamour

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Looks like its just black when I wear it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 danikcali on 10/26/2010 2:05:00 AM more reviews by danikcali

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this eyeshadow! I wear it wet and with a base. It's very dramatic and fun...especially for a night out. I'm still experimenting with colors to wear it with and using it dry, though. It's a great deal, in my opinion...can't imagine I'll be running out of this anytime soon!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 wandalemur on 10/20/2010 6:15:00 PM more reviews by wandalemur

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I love this product. It is so beautiful. I can certainly tell the difference between the two sides on my eye lids. I like to use this over a grease paint stick or a paint pot to make it stick, and I always use it wet. I think the fall out is very minimal from this compared to MES I have purchased in the past.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tawnyinthepink03 on 10/20/2010 3:00:00 PM more reviews by tawnyinthepink03

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I actually really like this mineralized e/s duo. Mine has much more of the Deep pink with pink pearl colour than the Deep plum with purple pearl colour. Which I don't mind at all. I have been using my Painterly paint pot all over my eye before applying these which seems to help w/the fallout and the colour payoff. BTW I'm a NC25 (for reference). I'd definitely buy this again, but don't think I'll hit pan for quite some time...

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nola80 on 10/18/2010 10:30:00 PM more reviews by nola80

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

So I bought this the first day of release and the no. 1 thing on my list from this release and it has taken me several weeks to give an honest opinion about it. Well at first I tried it dry and it's mostly a wash of black with lots of glitter. Then I tried it wet with MUFE Mist and Fix and it still kinda looked mostly black and I was getting worried this would be unusuable! Then I took out my greasepaint Charred Mauve and used the dark purple over it and it was incredible! It's the truest violet I've ever seen and it has less glitter and looks very metallic, it is absolutely gorgeous! The more pink side does not take much to make it work, I'm NC42 for reference and it shows up as a lighter purple and looks just as great. When I used my Blackground paintpot it did not have the color payoff like my grease paint though. I only gave this 4 lippies because it's a little harder to work on with my darker tone but I'm still incredibly happy with it considering I missed out on Young Punk! I would not need to repurchase condsidering I will probably never hit pan, unless they re-released it because Malificent is my all time fave villain!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ns4487 on 10/16/2010 8:47:00 PM more reviews by ns4487

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was really disappointed with this eyeshadow! loved it in the pan, but when I used it, both colours looked the same, pigmentation wasnt great and it just kinda looked 'muddy' on me. For the price of this in Aus, I wouldnt purchase it. Plus there was quite a bit of glitter fall out. Maybe Im not using it properly, but I didnt like this product. Packaging is cute though!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products