Butter London • Rosie Lee • Polishes

rated 4.1(23 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 MissMatchedSocks on 9/14/2014 9:13:00 AM more reviews by MissMatchedSocks

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Love love love, the glitter is fine and makes it very pretty on all nails, its the perfect rose gold polish

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bikerchick on 7/8/2014 11:44:00 AM more reviews by bikerchick

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Rosie Lee is a very pretty polish. It is a mid-toned warm pink micro glitter, the color reminds me of English roses. This is a really nice shade that isn't too bright or juvenile. I got pretty good opcaity with 2 coats, it applied evenly and dried very quickly which I have come to expect with Butter's glitter polishes. It does dry to a slightly gritty texture and is top coat thirsty so 2 thick coats are needed to smooth it out. The formula is a bit thick but not hard to work with. I usually get 3 to 4 days of wear with BL's glitters before they start to peel off, I've been wearing Rosie Lee for 2 days now and it's still going strong. However, I don't think I'll buy this shade again. I don't wear many pinks but I do prefer brighter fuchsia leaning pinks so Rosie just doesn't float my boat. I like the sparkle she gives but the color is just a bit dull to me personally. If you like pink and you like glitter, this is a good polish to check out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sprite26 on 7/5/2013 4:51:00 PM more reviews by sprite26

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

One of my all-time favorite polishes!! Any brand, variety, etc. BL's Rosie Lee is a warm pink microglitter, very girly & fun. Opaque in 2 coats and as always with BL, no problems with application or wear. On the nail it looks bright, shiny, and gorgeous. It's glittery, metallic, and PINK. What more could you want?
Also, this is the kind of pink that almost anyone could wear. It's not Barbie-pink, or juvenile Hello Kitty-pink. Flattering for a wide range of ages and skin tones. One of Butter London's best- highly recommended!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 angelina71 on 6/13/2013 5:16:00 PM more reviews by angelina71

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Beautiful rose-gold glitter. It is not girly pink, so it doesn't look cheap. Rosie Lee looks so rosy, that I could almost smell a good old English garden, that perfect it is. I didn't even try to do airbrushed look, but this polish is so good, that I got many compliments and friends thought that I went to salon. High-end polishes are really worth the rave. My summer polishes are Deborah Lippmann Mermaids Dream and Rosie Lee.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* XxPRINCESSAxX on 4/27/2013 11:16:00 PM more reviews by XxPRINCESSAxX

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Other    

Rosie Lee is a rose gold/pink all glitter polish. You definitely need to layer it on. Application on long nails was surprisingly not very difficult, due to the formula. Usually I have issues with glitter polishes and have to paint them on in sections because the glitter particles are not spreading evenly and tend to gather in one area only. That was not an issue with Rosie Lee.



The texture, as with most Butter Londons I've tried is great, and I only needed about 2 coats, whereas I would need several to get such full coverage with a Sephora OPI or cheaper glitter polishes.


The color was very flattering on my NC42ish medium-tan skintone. It is very blingy, and definitely noticeable. Not recommended for anyone who isn't into 'loud' nail polishes, because although the color may not be neon or electric, the sparkle factor is definitely there! I posted two pics on this review of me wearing this, it is the 3rd and 4th pics (long nails), and the sunlight really captures how sparkly it is!!


I really like doing nails as an accessory so I imagine this would compliment a black dress very nicely.


Finally, the nail polish peeled off each nail in a single piece, as if it were a press-on nail. But this is not unique to this shade, this happens with all of my glitter polishes. And it did last a few days before this happened.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 teenofchrist on 4/15/2013 5:43:00 PM more reviews by teenofchrist

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I just had to write a review on this nail polish. Itís so gorgeous, beautiful, pretty, sparkly, and perfect! I cannot say enough good words about this nail polish. Itís so stunning on the nails. I receive compliments all the time when I wear it. I have many nail polishes but I always come back to Rosie Lee and I wear it for weeks! It lasts so long, looks beautiful, dries fast and doesnít have all the bad chemicals like other nail polishes. I love Butter London Rosie Lee! Itís the best! I highly recommend this to everyone. Go out and purchase this nail polish now! Itís a must have for your collection! At least give it a try and test it out! It is my HG nail polish and I keep on repurchasing everytime.
This nail polish needs more attention and credit!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xjenniferclaire on 4/1/2013 9:05:00 AM more reviews by xjenniferclaire

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This is the most beautiful fine rose coloured glitter that is opaque in two coats, I like to give it three. This does have a habit of flaking and chipping quite badly but I have found that if you put a layer of a light nail polish underneath and a good too coat on top it really minimises chipping. I haven't came across any other colour like this in a cheaper alternative and would definitely purchase this again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Beauty4Ashes on 1/20/2013 2:28:00 PM more reviews by Beauty4Ashes

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Rosie Lee is a beautiful, finely-milled glitter polish. The best part of the polish is the color. It's more of a salmon pink shade than a true rose shade. It's not particularly light or deep, so I describe it as a mid-toned shade which means that it's very flattering on all skin tones. The consistency of the formula is somewhat on the thicker side and I suggest applying very thin coats when applying. After two thin coats it was opaque for me. However, the more coats applied the more rosey and less salmon pink the color. I prefer 3 coats. After drying, the texture is like dried sugar or fine sand on the nail. If you're not into that texture, then I suggest applying two coats of topcoat. Overall, due to the unique color and easy application, I recommend.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kolwink on 1/9/2013 7:36:00 AM more reviews by kolwink

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My neighbor gave me a surprising birthday present this year: Butter London's Royal Navy, Deborah Lippman's Across the Universe, and L'Occitane hand cream. I was taken aback because she's a student and not rolling in the dough ... and also because these were all brands which mentally I'd pegged as 'too rich for my blood'. Still, even though I won't be making these items as part of my regular repurchasing repertoire, I decided to keep them and try 'em out.


Then I chickened out. I have small, short, and oddly-shaped nails, and am wary of bold, dark, or big glitter. I didn't like the swatches found online of Royal Navy or Across the Universe, so I went to the store and swapped them for Butter London's Rosie Lee and Deborah Lippman's Mermaid's Dream.


I know, I'm almost starting the actual product review now. Finally.


I decided that Rosie Lee would be for-toes-only, and proceeded to apply 3 coats (no base coat or top coat, since I don't own either). Man, I do love the color: a rosy-goldish, pinkishly-coppery glitter hue. It looked so warm and pretty on my toes that throughout the next day I took off my shoes at work a few times- in order to admire my feet. (Husband: "...")


I had read a Scrangie.com review of Butter London Scallywag (another glitter) which she described as drying to "an attractive sugary/sandy matte finish if you don't use topcoat." I'd say the same for Rosie Lee- my toenails definitely feel sandpapery (but not off-puttingly chunky). However, I wouldn't enjoy the gritty feeling on my hands.


Lastly, reviews online mentioned how difficult the polish was to remove. I didn't really care, since I plan to leave the polish on until it wears away on its own. Also, I just finished a 2.5 week trip to India, during which I wore sandals and walked constantly. I was pleased to note that the polish stuck stubbornly- after 10+ days, both big toes finally gave up the fight (husband stepped on one foot, and I dropped a suitcase on the other), but the little guys are still hanging in there, twinkling pinkly away.


Edit: I changed my mind and have been wearing the polish on my hands, because (unexpectedly?) 3 coats doesn't feel gritty compared to 1 coat. I guess because it's evened out? Anyway, here is my report:
- after 1 coat: sparse glitter, gritty feeling
- after 3 coats: opaque glitter, less gritty feeling


Indoor lighting gave 3 coats the coppery hue I love. Outside, beneath a cloudy sky, the copper disappeared and it was plain pink, unfortunately.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* NYCBeauty99 on 12/4/2012 6:26:00 PM more reviews by NYCBeauty99

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I feel very conflicted about this product. The color was absolutely beautiful. I loved the sparkles and the rose color. I wish it were a tad darker, but still, it was lovely. I found the application quite easy. I did my nails at night. By the middle of the next day, the nail polish had chipped quite badly. I'm fairly new to nail polish. I'm just learning how to paint my nails. Still, I used what many consider a very good base coat (Orly Bonder) and top coat. I also don't really work with my hands. I should have been able to go one day without significant chipping.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Butter London products

More Polishes products