Ren • ClearCalm 3 Replenishing Night Serum • Moisturizers

rated 3.8(11 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 RebeccaKathryn on 12/26/2013 10:41:00 PM more reviews by RebeccaKathryn

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This seems to be a relatively unknown product, however I am really happy I came across it. I have been using this night serum for about a month and have seen really great results. I like to apply it right after cleansing my face before I apply any other products like my spot treatment or moisturizer. I haven't noticed any dramatic improvements in my acne scars, however after starting college I began to get moderate acne on my cheeks which I had never experienced before and after I began using this the acne was calmer after one use and cleared up within about a week. It isn't a miracle product but it is great for people with sensitive, acne-prone skin!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shuppet88 on 9/30/2012 3:13:00 AM more reviews by shuppet88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

So I've been using this for the past 2.5 weeks, and I really love it so far. It has given me quite similar results to the Lancome vissionaire, minus the ridiculous price tag. It brightens, I'm assuming due to the first ingredient which is chamomile flower water. My skin is no longer dull and dry, and blemishes disappear overnight. I used to have gross flakes around my chin area, and I haven't had any problems with that since using this. I haven't had to use high coverage foundations. I get a lot more out of my NARS tinted moisturizer now. The only thing it doesn't do that the vissionaire did is give a glow, but I'm sure that's just because the Lancome has like this weird artificial purple/pink shimmer to it. This gives me a natural luster to my skin, and has virtually reversed my dryness so that I have supple, plump skin. I really do love this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 RhiMUA on 4/22/2012 4:28:00 AM more reviews by RhiMUA

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is a truly sensational product for anyone with sensitive/combination skin that is prone to reactions and breakouts.

After suffering from sensitive skin for years, I had been so used to using more hydrating products to stop my skin from becoming dry - however, more often than not those products would cause blemishes and exacerbate my skins proneness to breakouts.

I decided to give this 'night serum' a try after hearing some one literally RAVE about it - and I haven't stopped using it since. I use it in combination with the clay cleanser from the range and the results have been incredible. My breakouts have gone - and my skin looks super clear and bright. I love the smell, it is fresh and clean and absorbs quickly.

I have been using this every night, sometimes in the morning too as I don't feel like the day fluid gives me as much hydration as I need - it's great though in the humid summer months.

Can't recommend this product enough. I am on to my fourth bottle - give it a try, I hope it gives you the results like it did for me!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Angeldoll on 3/18/2012 8:47:00 PM more reviews by Angeldoll

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have been using this product as a moisturizer in the mornings as I dont find it effective enough as a night treatment for my acne. I love that it moisturizes and instantly calms my skin without making it feel congested and calms down any redness and makes it feel soft as a babys bottom!. AS for acne scars/hyperpigmentation havent seen a change in that yet. But this is the only moisturizer/serum that has not broken me out so I will continue to use it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kaaary on 1/29/2012 5:39:00 PM more reviews by kaaary

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this for about a month and it really hasn't done much for me :( It didn't break me out but it didn't do anything good for me either. Some people on here have written that it's a good, light moisturizer but for me I always need to use a heavy moisturizer after this because my face still feels dry after. Maybe because it's winter here.

All in all I like the smell of it, it's very light and clean, and I like the packaging (pump bottle). I also like the idea of having this extra "night serum" step, but it just hasn't done much for my skin. So it was a waste of $30 for me!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 redcloud75 on 11/12/2011 7:39:00 AM more reviews by redcloud75

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

As I have oily acne-prone skin which has recently become dehydrated since moving to a desert, I've had to rethink my skincare routine. This product has been very helpful because it seems to hydrate my skin while reducing redness, and is very light and non-greasy. The smell is pretty nice and fresh, it absorbs quickly and when I wake up in the morning my skin feels comfortable, non-greasy and is slightly clearer. It's quite reasonably priced, and I like the hygienic pump.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 innerchild on 2/20/2011 8:17:00 PM more reviews by innerchild

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

(Overall rating: 3.5, Price: 5, Packaging: 5, Repurchase: No)


I've used the REN ClearCalm Replenishing Night Serum for both day and night for 3 weeks. For the day--because ClearCalm Day Serum had this horrible, pungent smell that I didn't wanted on my face so opted for using the the Night Serum for both night & day. For the night--because it was supposed to be calming and hydrating and not induce more acne.


Since this is my first REN moisturizer, I didn't know what to expect since I'm fairly new to this brand. I liked the texture of this so-called night serum. It's really more of a light-cream. The main moisturizing component of this moisturizer is the shea butter. I read that shea butter has the remarkable ability to normalize the skin, and it's the main ingredient in both of Dr. Alkaitis' Night and Day Creams and the infamous Embryolisse cream. However, the REN Clearcalm Night Serum has a thinner consistency and spreads much more easily than those three. It also absorbs fairly quickly and hydrates my skin well.


For the past three weeks I've been using this, I didn't notice it "preventing" or "treating" acne per se, though it never really claimed to do such a thing in the first place. It only promises to rehydrate the skin and set a medium for other acne products. From my experience, it does just that. It helps the skin get back to normal by hydrating it and keeping it healthy. About it reducing hyperpigmentation, I can't vouch for that since I use a chemical exfoliant regularly. What I can say, however, is that the lactic acid (which is way at the bottom of the ingred. list) doesn't bother my skin at all. I think you'll have to use it consistently for more than a month to notice any reduction in hyperpigmentation.


Pros:
- Nice light-cream texture that glides easily and absorbs quickly.
- Suitable for sensitive skin-types.
- Hydrates well and also great for daytime during the winter for me.
- Spa-like scent (which could be a undesirable for some, but -at least- it smells better than the Day Serum!)


Cons:
- Expensive ($30 for 1.7 oz)
- Shea butter isn't for everyone and not for everyday during the day. Moisturizers formulated with shea butter hydrates my skin well, but it feels a bit much on humid days (I live near the Gulf of Mexico = very humid!) So, if you have truly combination-oily skintypes and you use this during the day, it does have the potential to feel heavy and oily.


All in all, I won't be repurchasing since it's a fairly simple formula that only functions as a hydrator. There's nothing remarkable about the product itself and the price is a bit steep for what it is. You can get a basic moisturizer from another brand at a much more reasonable price, or even something that does more than just hydrating (I think for acne-sufferers, a night treatment that really calms and soothes helps. This mainly just hydrates ime). I'm moving on to a lighter moisturizer for the day since it's getter warmer and more humid now. For nighttime, I prefer using oils to deeply hydrate and calm my skin during the night.



Ingredients: Anthemis Nobilis (Chamomile) Flower Water, Oleyl Alcohol, Cetearyl Alcohol, Cetearyl Glucoside, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil, Glycerin, Lauryl Laurate, Myristyl Myristate, Oryzanol, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Vaccinium Vitis-Idaea (Lingonberry) Seed Oil, Vaccinium Macrocarpon (Cranberry) Seed Oil, Alcohol Denat., Phenoxyethanol, Salvia Officinalis (Sage) Oil, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Pelargonium Graveolens Flower Oil, Anthemis Nobilis (Chamomile) Flower Oil, Citronellol, Geraniol, Linalool, Limonene, Citral, Sodium Hydroxymethylglycinate, Carbomer, Cassia Alata Leaf Extract, Pueraria Lobata (Kudzu) Symbiozome Extract, Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract, Laminaria Ochroleuca Extract, Lactic Acid, Tocopherol.

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 tiantianlu on 1/19/2011 5:40:00 PM more reviews by tiantianlu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I think this makes an excellent night moisturizer, but it didn't do much to alleviate my breakouts. I only have the occasional breakout and thought this would make a good "insurance" for clear skin but my breakouts still kept occurring. This is NOT a gel type serum so it doesn't need to be paired with an additional cream. I love that it smells fresh, absorbs quickly, and isn't heavy. Great moisturizer, but it didn't do the double duty for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 afghanbeautyo1 on 10/30/2010 9:34:00 AM more reviews by afghanbeautyo1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Great product, cleared up my acne overnight.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hasschen on 10/18/2010 5:51:00 PM more reviews by Hasschen

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Silver, Curly   Eyes: Blue    

WOW I think I've finally found something for my temperamental skin.

You see I'm oily but I'm dehydrated, Acne prone but sensitive.


This whole line has a slight smell of which I'm usually intollerable of but this is light and doesn't seem to stick around.

It's a light gel texture that soaks in easily, light but feels hydrating.

I'm using the whole line of ClearCalm 3 & can see a huge difference.
It's a pump bottle 1.7 ounces $30

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Ren products

More Moisturizers products