Essie • Little Brown Dress • Polishes

rated 4.8(22 reviews)

Average Rating.4.8
Would buy this product again.90%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 savvyowl821 on 5/29/2014 10:40:00 AM more reviews by savvyowl821

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Personally, I'm not crazy for this polish--dark polish isn't really my thing. But I just couldn't dock a lipstick point. This polish is wonderful by all means--the formula was great, and the color! I loved the color in the bottle--it looked like the perfect dark chocolate color, and I ADORE dark chocolate. Of course. It dries a bit darker on the nail, so that's why I'm not madly in love with this polish. However, you could tell at once, even in dimmer lighting, that this is not a black polish, which makes this polish even better. It's sophisticated and unique, too! I don't have anything quite like this! I strongly recommend it! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sjea32 on 3/23/2014 9:31:00 PM more reviews by sjea32

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I found this polish a while back at TJ Maxx. I was stoked because I had been looking for it. I'm pretty fair/pale and this does look dark for sure, but much better than black. I always use at least 2 coats of any polish. I love it and I always get compliments when I wear it. Definitely a good buy if you can find it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bonniherself on 10/24/2013 1:09:00 AM more reviews by bonniherself

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

A rich brown the colour of coffee or maybe a very dark chocolate. Great formula, easy, smooth application and lovely, shiny finish. Looks like a jelly-creme formula, with the nice colour depth of a jelly, but the opacity of a creme. Opaque in two coats for me.

This is a pretty dark polish, but I find that even though it is very dark, it is usually identifiable as not-black even in indirect light. It does look sort of "warm off-black" in some lighting situations, but I don't think it ever truly goes into "yep, that may as well be black" the way some dark polishes do.

This is a really lovely polish, and I can see myself wearing it a lot. I'll probably grab a backup bottle to keep on hand, in fact. I've also used this in a chocolate-mocha gradient manicure, with this as the darkest colour, and it was purely delicious looking.

Yummy polish in all respects. Didn't expect to like this one as much as I do (I thought, yeah, okay, dark brown creme, I can use one of those), but, yeah, very nice, indeed. Essie is slowly winning me over, one great polish at a time...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AmyMendoza on 8/12/2013 3:58:00 AM more reviews by AmyMendoza

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I love how Essie has all these edgy dark polishes that are just this side of black but just arent! This is one of them. This expresso bean brown coffee color is beautiful! My only problem with dark polishes is that chips are so noticable! :( I can never get polish to last on my nails for long so I can judge wear time. But thats ok I get bored easy.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MissRaffix3 on 2/26/2013 6:31:00 PM more reviews by MissRaffix3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is the first actual brown nail polish I've owned (of course I have taupe and beige colors, just never a legit brown). On my fair skin, it's a really nice, deep chocolatey brown... almost black in certain lights. It applied smoothly and was opaque in 2 coats, with the exception of some nails which were still a bit streaky. It lasts on the nails quite a while without a top coat. I've had it on my nails for about 4 days now and they're only chipping very slightly. But I'm sure with a top coat it would last a lot longer.
But I do really like this nail polish and I would recommend it. It's definitely a great fall/winter color. I plan to use it in nail art as well, which I'm excited about.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* felgoj on 1/2/2013 1:57:00 PM more reviews by felgoj

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Nice dark chocolate cream color. Smooth formula, non-goopy, easy to apply (minimal bald spots), doesn't run or flood cuticles upon careful application. Nicely opaque consistency, but I'm always a 2-coater in general anyway to smooth out any bald/thin spots. Surprisingly long-lasting, chip-resistant formula (IME).


It's pretty much the shade of dark brown that I wanted (deep & shimmer-free) but extremely dark on the nails (especially after applying top coat, which tends to deepen polish color a little bit) that it looks virtually black in room lighting. Picture #3 listed above is accurate (& similar to my winter skintone too).


Makes a great dark base for special-effects polishes layered on top. I might lighten this super-dark shade a bit with a little white polish sometime in the future so it could look more brown instead of almost black (but not as light as milk chocolate brown). If that works out well, I'd buy this again. Bought online @ lower cost since store prices are insanely high.


1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ceen on 8/19/2012 6:49:00 AM more reviews by ceen

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Fabulous dark chocolate shade. Elegant, sophisticated. High gloss finish. Long lasting.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TiffanieJean on 10/26/2011 1:57:00 PM more reviews by TiffanieJean

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

This is a great dark espresso type brown color. Very fall appropriate. I have very pale skin and it doesn't wash me out as much as a straignt black color, but still has all or the contrast that I love.


It actually looks black most of the time, but if you are in bright artificial light or outside it definitely has a brown hint to it. I added a picture in artificial light as well as a picture of the true bottle color.


Essies formula is somewhat strange to me. It's streaky, but slightly goopy at the same time.. I only use one coat, but go over every nail about 3 times to keep it looking presentable. It goes on flat and opaque with one coat, and dries fast.


The biggest issue I have with Essie is the small thin brush.. It's honestly one of the worst brushes of all polishes I have used. You would think that for close to $8 they would fix that. O well, good thing they have gerat colors!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LazyLittleLady on 9/30/2011 8:34:00 AM more reviews by LazyLittleLady

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is exactly the dark chocolate color I was craving for fall. Thanks to a MUA'er who recommended this, because I had never gotten Essie polish before. The color is opaque, applies beautifully and lasts forever. It looks so dark and rich, its almost black in dim light. I like to wear it with black peep-toes for the color contrast to stand out. Overall, this polish is amazing and totally recommend it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* habakuktwo on 9/23/2011 4:15:00 PM more reviews by habakuktwo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Dark, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This color came out with the Fall 2010 collection. Little Brown Dress is a deep chocolaty brown almost like a Hershey chocolate bar. It unique because even though it's such deep dramatic color, indoors it still looks brown and not black. The formula was great the only problem I had was Essie's brush. For my nails it's so thin that I sometimes have application problems.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products