Essie • Sew Psyched • Polishes

rated 4.4(56 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* baldymonster on 12/12/2013 4:35:00 PM more reviews by baldymonster

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Lovely military gray-green. Okay application. Definitely one of Essie's better polishes, but I'm not sure I'd repurchase. I have yet to find a green polish, no matter how subtle, that doesn't make me look like I'm suffering from a mild case of jaundice.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 missbliss on 11/14/2013 2:47:00 PM more reviews by missbliss

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Looooooooooove this one. It's like a beautiful silvery sage green. Unless you're in an ultra conservative law firm type of environment, it is work appropriate yet still edgy. It goes with all of your fall & winter clothing choices. I've had it on for 4 days and it has looked great with each outfit. That's the other thing-- I've had it on for 4 days, topped with the humble NYC Grand Central Station topcoat & it is still looking great. Two easy coats and you're ready to go for the work week.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SCHAVDA on 8/19/2013 4:28:00 PM more reviews by SCHAVDA

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I really love this colour - it's a muted medium dark sage green colour with a hint of gray. I have the classic formula not the new one that's available in the UK with a wider brush. I know some people prefer that formula and wider brush but for me the classic is just as nice. The narrow brush means that I can get a flawless application with little overspill onto the cuticles that need to be corrected. The formula is great - it flows nicely, evens out and is opaque is almost one coat but needs two for perfect finish. I think this colour is really sophisticated in a modern way because its not bright or loud in any way. I have olive skintone and this really looks good against it but I think it would suit most skintones depending on your personal preference. Overall, I could not recommend this polish enough.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lumer00 on 3/4/2013 8:51:00 PM more reviews by lumer00

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is probably my favorite nail polish in my collection. I have medium slightly olive skin, and this color compliments my skin tone so well. The color is a khaki green with a gray undertone and very slight silver shimmer that can make the color look grayish in certain light. This is a very unique polish color, which is why I gave it the full five stars. I agree with other reviewers who say this may not suit those with a cooler skin tone. The formula on Essie polishes always gives me the longest wear time, about 5-7 days with tip wear but no chips (I wash my hands very frequently, do dishes, type on the computer, etc.). I found this polish to be a little on the thicker side for Essie's formula, and the dry time slightly longer. It is opaque in two medium coats. I would not recommend applying this in thick coats because it will bubble, the formula as I mentioned is on the thicker side. I did put one drop of thinner in it right when I got it because initially the formula was thicker than what I like to work with. Overall, I love this polish and after having it for over a year and a half, it still applies good as new! I'm wearing it right now with Illamasqua Mottle on my ring finger/accent nail as a nice spring polish look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cherrryyyx on 2/11/2013 6:28:00 PM more reviews by cherrryyyx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I've heard so many good things about Essie nail varnishes, so I finally decided to give in to the hype and try a colour. So I picked up this one and "Not Just a Pretty Face" - another fabulous colour for spring. I love the colour, it's a muted army green which is not something I'd usually go for but I love it. I usually just use Barry M polishes, as they're cheap and the colours are pretty, but they do chip really easily. This has last a good few days and is still perfect. I will be looking to purchase some more of these. LOVE LOVE LOVE.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tabriasmakeuplife on 2/3/2013 2:06:00 PM more reviews by tabriasmakeuplife

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I love this neutral colour. It's a grey/army green colour that looks fabulous and goes with a lot of outfits, IMO. It also stays on for sooo long and I even have a tendency to bite my nails. It's gorgeous! Love wearing it to school or for a night out. Repurchase!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Julia941 on 12/14/2012 6:00:00 PM more reviews by Julia941

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I love this color. It's a muted, silvery sage green and the application is beautiful. I like Essie nail polishes. I find the creamy formula easy to apply, opaque in 1-2 coats, and I like the smaller brush and cap because my nailbeds are small. I also like the square bottles as they are easy to store and I can fit many more Essie np in a box than round bottles that flare at the top or base like OPI, China Glaze, etc.

This color is a nice neutral and great on its own, but it's also a great base color for layering. I've used it under clear/holo glitters such as ButterLondon Tart w/a Heart (the green in the base makes the blue reflect beautifully), special effect nail polish such as Essie Pure Pearlfection and CND Raspberry Sparkle (a great dupe of RBL Halcyon). I also like it with nail tattoos in muted colors from BigRuby and it looks great with a matte top coat. I've heard it's a dupe of one of the Chanel LE polishes Khaki collex (Khaki Vert?) but I don't have any to compare it with.

I would definitely buy this polish again and highly recommend it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 candybunny88 on 12/14/2012 4:37:00 PM more reviews by candybunny88

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Tan, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I'm not normally someone who wears dark nail polishes. In fact dark polishes look pretty bad on me so I always go with light or bright colours. And since Essie is so darn expensive here in NZ (we are talking $24 NZD a bottle, which is like $19USD), I've never had the urge to buy any Essie polishes unless I find them at a makeup sale

So at the latest makeup clearance sale, I got the chance to swatch Sew Psyched. I really wasn't expected much and was very pleasantly surprised. It's a beautiful khaki that applies very smoothly. The polish is very opaque and you can get a great coverage with 2 coats. It's not streaky by any means. What impresses me the most is the colour since it looks so good on my short nails and it's just so sophisticated so it's perfect for work.

I'm really happy with this purchase and would buy again if the bottle runs out (which probably will never happen) and I can find it for cheap again

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ashleylaurenxo on 12/7/2012 7:15:00 PM more reviews by ashleylaurenxo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I love this colour! It's a great khaki green. I only had to apply 2 coats to get the desired colour. I love how long lasting Essie nail polish is. I find it doesn't chip nearly as quickly as a lot of OPI nail polishes do.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Melli098 on 7/6/2012 7:48:00 PM more reviews by Melli098

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to love this color but my complexion did not do it justice. I think this color pops more on cooler complexions but the application and the color itself is lovely!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products