Tom Ford • Grey Vetiver • Fragrances

rated 4.1(11 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blondefornow on 1/3/2014 9:47:00 AM more reviews by blondefornow

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I hover between Grey Vetiver and Chanel 19 as being "me in a bottle". I have always loved Vetiver scents (before I even knew what vetiver was). I am 47 and remember myself at the men's side of the fragrance counters at 14 years old looking for the perfect "me" scent. Grey Vetiver starts out sharp and metallic, but it doesn't take long to warm up on my skin and an earthy, almost musky note takes hold. The longevity is amazing on me (I can still smell this on my skin the next morning). It is clean without florals or citrus. It isn't masculine to my nose, but just smells good. I've gone through several bottles of different Vetiver fragrances, but this is the one I keep coming back to. It is gentle and modern. This, to me, is what a clean, "normal" human body smells like. This will continue to be a part of my arsenal for years to come!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jake84 on 5/6/2013 12:11:00 AM more reviews by Jake84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is one of my favorite fragrances ever for men. Vetiver is so sexy and Tom Ford does it well. This is so modern and sophisticated. It makes me feel dressed up, like I'm wearing a suit, but it is good for casual wear too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 girlnextdoor on 2/9/2013 6:48:00 PM more reviews by girlnextdoor

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I know this is a men's cologne, but this is the perfect scent for women who don't like typical "ladies" fragrances. A simple but sophisticated scent, green and smoky, makes me want to wear cashmere sweaters and high heels. Classic and luxurious, but still modern ( which I guess is kind of Tom Ford's 'thing'). Comes on a bit strong with the first spray, but dies down to a comfortable, warm and sexy perfume that only people sitting right beside you will smell. I have gotten so many compliments from friends, and even strangers while wearing this ( from waitresses, people on the train, and one time while I was being fitted for a bra...), and I think it's because this is so different from what most women choose for perfume. I'd say try it on at sephora a couple times to see how it interacts with your chemistry, because it is a bit pricey, although not terrible for a TF brand. The bottle is simple and masculine, frosted glass with a silver cap, nothing fancy, but pretty and retro enough to have out on your vanity. Wear almost every day, will buy again!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tallicarules on 8/31/2012 12:31:00 AM more reviews by tallicarules

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Received a sample of this fragrance and although it's considered a men's fragrance (I believe),I fell in love with it almost instantly. It's wonderful from the moment of application but as it melds with the skin,it becomes utterly luscious and divine. It's a difficult fragrance to describe...think crisp woodsy green,a bit of citrus with a smokey,leather like top note. Does that make any sense? For women who like unusual fragrances,this is a good one. If your husband or significant other likes it as well,it's a big win-win! Check ebay for the sample size if you can't find it anywhere else. I like it better than several of his women's fragrances,(Black Orchid and Violet Blonde),although they are wonderful as well. I'm definitely a Tom Ford fan. (If you ever get the chance,try the Tom Ford/Estee Lauder oil spray...The best!)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ifthe on 5/13/2012 3:59:00 PM more reviews by ifthe

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

Makes me want to dress like Katherine Hepburn; or at least buy a great pair of gray suede loafers. Very modern and clean take on vetiver. Here it is more smoky and flint like, sort of how an unlit match smells; as opposed to a "dirty" vetiver (an example being Tauers Pentachord Verdant).
Top notes are pale smoke cooled and uplifted by white grapefruit and perhaps a bit of orange blossom. The middle notes are least appealing to me, there is a slight soapiness that emerges for about 30 minutes. Luckily, a beautifully done dry orris root and some oakmoss come in to round things out; making the drydown cool and smooth.
In my opinion, this is a unisex scent. If you're a gal who loves Bvlgari Black, you'll wear Grey Vetiver without hesitation. I know I will.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Shadow_Witch on 1/15/2012 4:05:00 PM more reviews by Shadow_Witch

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Clean. Classic. Smoky. Vetiver. Not as soapy or loud as Guerlain. Just right. The perfect companion to Violet Blonde.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 atlas84 on 12/17/2011 8:33:00 PM more reviews by atlas84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Other    

Spritzed this on at Nordy's the other day. Smelled exactly like Guerlain Vetiver with an ever-so-slightly cleaner drydown. A no-go for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* King_of_England on 9/16/2011 7:24:00 AM more reviews by King_of_England

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

Pleasant but rather unoriginal fragrance, Some vetiver, supported by ambergris and musk I would guess. Closely similar to Cartier's 'declaration', apart from the price

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MrFragranceReview on 4/22/2011 4:48:00 PM more reviews by MrFragranceReview

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Vetiver has been done countless times before so any new fragrance should bring something new to the table which is a difficult task. Grey Vetiver tends achieves to feel modern and is unique which is quite the feat. This should appeal to people who don't and do like Vetiver since it's a smokey, citrus Vetiver. It's very masculine, lasts all day with moderate projection. It's classy and would be well suited for the office or a formal setting.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Gailkey2 on 3/11/2011 10:28:00 PM more reviews by Gailkey2

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Dark, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I smell the citrus in this for sure...im not good at naming notes..but this fragrance is nice..i got 2 samples for my boyfriend and now he has the 1.7oz..he loves it, and i admit I spray it on myself on days as well..but once again , i take 1 lippie away bc of the price..: (

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Tom Ford products

More Fragrances products