Sephora • Color Diary • Palettes

rated 4.9(10 reviews)

Average Rating.4.9
Would buy this product again.90%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 TishLiu on 11/20/2012 3:15:00 PM more reviews by TishLiu

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I stopped wearing eye makeup for several years so I didn't have any unexpired eyeshadows left and was browsing at Sephora to figure out what colours I should try out on my eyes. I wanted a silver/grey quad, wanted some browns and pinks, wanted some shimmery green and peach, and some purples. Each color family was $16-20 for a quad.



Then I saw this big, gorgeous, godzilla of a palette. It had almost everything I wanted (no real peach) and cost something like $35 for 6 separate palettes. The quality of the shadows is no worse than the MACs I've tried (Shu Uemura may be silkier but costs a small fortune) and I've been using it for the past 2 years. If I ever run out, I would definitely purchase again but A) I don't see that happening anytime soon, and B) I think it was a limited edition set.


My favourite colours:
* shimmery dark Silver / grey shade in "Hot Date At Eight", and I use the dark brown for my brows
* matte Taupe and matte Rose in "Relax and Unplug"
* the gorgeous shimmery Periwinkle in "Must Get New Shoes"
* shimmery dark brown and shimmery copper in "Meditation Retreat"
* the goldenrod yellow in "Day at the Museum" is beautiful, but not as pigmented as I'd have liked.


What whopping value for money. It even comes with 5 lip glosses, though one of the plastic gloss containers broke on me the pretty shade of hot pink I really wanted to use. (This was 2 years after I bought the set though, so the gloss probably dried up and made the container more vulnerable.) I always associated Sephora with higher-end bourgie stuff that I would usually never buy, but I'll have to take them seriously from now on.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ls468 on 2/21/2012 2:03:00 PM more reviews by ls468

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Great pigmentation and rage of shades.

Does ANYONE know how to depot this? Please for the love of god message me. I love it but it's so bulky!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* trillium13 on 3/31/2011 3:14:00 PM more reviews by trillium13

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I've recently gotten back into wearing makeup on a regular basis, and I wanted to get some new things, so I decided to get this set. I'm really glad I did!

All of the shadows are beautiful, and VERY pigmented, a little goes a long way. They are easy to apply and blend. There is a variety of matte and shimmer shadows, with the shimmers being not too over-the-top glittery. There are definitely some colors that one would probably not use often, but they are good to have around.

The glosses are nice colors and a really nice texture, not sticky at all. I will say they are not super-shiny.

All of the blushes are pretty, although I do think that one is too orangey for me. Two of them are quite light and shimmery, and make a nice highlighter over a base blush.

My only complaint about this set was that it took me a few tries to get the hang of opening the lid. I don't know if it's just mine or not, but it's very difficult to open it unless I do it from just the right corner.

The fact that you can take out each palette separately and put it in a to-go compact is just an added bonus! This set would be great even without that. At $25, this is a great buy!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Reiyelcs on 11/15/2010 7:29:00 AM more reviews by Reiyelcs

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I. Absolutely. Love. This. Set.
In the past I was a bit disapponted with the quality of sephora's eyeshadow: they were not so pigmented, and with or without primer you had to use a lot of product to have a decent payoff. This palette's colours are generally way better than the old ones, and some of them are truly amazing. Love all the lipglosses (especially the dark one) and almost all of the blushes: there's only one (the orangey one) that does't suit my skin at all and I probably won't use it.
As for the price: I paid 34 euros and I think that's totally worth it (for 30 eyeshadow, 5 blush and 5 lipglosses? If this is not a bargain...).
Interchangeable palettes? Genius! I prefer small, slim palettes, and this are just perfect for my needs. "A day at the museum" (the one with primaries) may seem scary and unusable at first sight (I totally thought I wasn't going to use it), but it's actually very wearable if you know how to match colours =). Adore this one and the neutral, smokey and pink/purple ones. I don't like "Relax and retreat" as much as the others, but I don't dislike it either.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Silverchair on 11/14/2010 5:02:00 AM more reviews by Silverchair

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

If you don't have this and you like palettes GO GET THIS!I bought this with the 20% off discount during F&F so I paid less than $25 for it.
The quality is amazing. I have used this all week and the eye shadows are very pigmented. I used them over primers and they lasted all day. The colors blend very well and I just love this.
The lipglosses are a little sheer except for the dark red but that is ok.
The palettes are about the size of the wet n wild color icon swatches.
There are some colors where you are going to wonder "what am I gonna do with that?" They might come in handy one day esp. if you are an MUA or love to experiment with color. There are mac dupes in here such as the LE Hypnotizing and stars n rockets.
You cannot go wrong with this, makes a wonderful gift.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 donchica on 9/28/2010 5:19:00 PM more reviews by donchica

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have mine now and dont know what to do with it lol! I love how pigmented it is, and very blendable, My only gripe is that I can only use 2 of the blushes there. Ill probably use them as highlighters or to boost or tone down my peach blushes or pinks.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 irisni on 9/23/2010 11:56:00 PM more reviews by irisni

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I am in love with this palette. I got it from my friend for my birthday (ironically I gave her the POP Beauty Hello Gorgeous! for our shared birthday. And I got the better gift!)
and it is...amazing. The blushes are pretty and sheer, with a slight shimmer. The eye-shadows range from velvety matte to satiny shimmer. There are gorgeous purples, blues, gold, greens, grays...even a brilliant yellow and a deep red.
The ONLY weakness in the kit for me is the lip-glosses...and not because they don't stay on...it's just that I don't use bright or dark glosses. I still gave it a 5 because that is a preference, not a quality problem. I do love the clear and the caramel colored glosses...and I think I could work with the bright pink. It's only the cranberry I don't like...because of the color, not quality.
I love this palette, and I would recommend it to anyone...An old hand at make-up or a beginner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dee615 on 9/17/2010 2:02:00 PM more reviews by dee615

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I've spend three decades and literally thousands of $s (maybe tens of thousands at this point) on various color cosmetics from the US, Europe and Asia. I've bought high end and low end, mixed up different colors of lipsticks and had cosmetics custom made. I've tried palettes and singles ... you name it. And I was literally ready to give up, cancel my subscriptions to all fashion mags for their false promises and go natural.

I decided to make ONE last attempt - and it worked! I'm wonderfully pleased with the Sephora Color diary, both because of the quality of the products (yes, both shadow AND gloss) as well as the concept of customizable snap and go mini-palettes. The shadow colors are well pigmented and creamy, and the glosses impart a subtle sheen. What a difference from all the chalky shadows in colors that don't blend well into each other or into my skin, and from the icky-sticky-plasticky glosses smelling of molten bubblegum.

My skin is a deep caramel, with distinctly yellow undertones.It's really hard for me to find cosmetics that flatter my coloring - they either don't show up on my skin, or have a muddy blue undertone that gives a ghoulish look. It's been next to impossible to find the right degree of clarity and the undertones that flatter my skin. Some cosmetics look OK in certain types of lighting, but look completely off when I go outdoors.

Well, this palette "has it all" in the most versatile sense of the word. From reading several reviews here and on the Sephora site, it looks like the colors works on a lot of different skin tones.

This is one product I'd definitely recommend!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Zaiynab on 9/14/2010 4:54:00 AM more reviews by Zaiynab

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

This is amazing! There's 5 palettes, and considering it's only 34 dollars, that's only $6.80 per palette! I looove the blush, it goes on my brush so easily and is very pigmented. The eyeshadows are beautiful. And the lip gloss is also pretty pigmented, especially the red one. And I travel, so it's really nice being able to pick a palette, put it in the mini traveling case, and go. And the coordinating colors in each palette are perfect for beginners (like me), because how am I supposed to know which eyeshadows, blushes, and lip glosses all go together/match/complement each other?? So it's nice to have them all together already for you. =)

And the blushes are so pretty! The pictures online do not do justice. 3 of them are shimmery <3

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Charma22 on 9/14/2010 4:21:00 AM more reviews by Charma22

Age: Unknown   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Wow. I normally am not into Sephora premade kits because of the quality, but what drew me into this one was the fact that it came with 5 open faced palettes that you can pick and choose to put in the traveling closing palette (if that makes sense).

I was also hesitant because of the quality of eyeshadows that seem to comprise Sephora's previous premade palettes.

But, let me tell you that this one is fantastic. Each palette has 6 eyeshadows, 1 one and 1 lipgloss. The box that carries all the product has a mirror, as does the travel compact. The eyeshadows are pigmented. I tested them with my fingers and then later with a brush. The colors apply smoothly and evenly. The blushes are shades of soft pink and peach. The lipglosses don't have an offensive smell and are very smooth on the lips. They aren't very sticky.

I've had this palette for a week one and I've worn colors from all the palettes and each color, even the matte ones are good.

For reference I am an NC25/30 with a very golden/yellow tone. So for a medium skin tone, all the shades work. I wear both cool and warm toned colors and can wear pretty much every color in the palette. My faves are the purples and the super vibrant blue. There is also a beautiful neutrals palette included.

This set retails for $34 right now and it is very much so worth the money.

I love buying makeup, in fact, I usually make Sephora my weekly must go to shop store. But with this palette, I feel complete in eyeshadows and blush for the time being.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Sephora products

More Palettes products