LUSH • Tuca Tuca • Fragrances

rated 3.3(22 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.45%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tinkerrbelle on 2/10/2014 10:22:00 PM more reviews by tinkerrbelle

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

The sugary powdery pungent mix of rose/violet/carnation, dusty powder, chocolatey notes, musk, and dirty unwashed hippy patchouli. It reminds me of:

1. Cheap rose incense that people use to cover up dope smoking.
2. Floral toilet spray mixed with Angel perfume and dust.
3. I have entered a dusty bathroom just after someone has liberally sprayed cheap rose/carnation/floral toilet spray to try and cover up they have just used the toilet to do number 2's.

A portion of the population find this type of scent a nauseating body odour stink bomb that gives us violent headaches, makes us sneeze, and reminds us of questionable attempts to cover up disgusting odours rather than practising common hygiene. Most men I know when asked to name their perfume loves and hates place this fragrance type in the absolute "loathe with a vengence" category.

To be fair, parts of it are lovely, and after 1-2 hours it does settle down into a nice floral musk skin scent. But it still makes my stomach churn.

I find it very persistant and long lasting (at least to my sensitive nose). On me it lasted around 12 -18 hours.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Cmappelt on 7/2/2013 11:24:00 PM more reviews by Cmappelt

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Okay, you have to like different, woodsy smells to appreciate this perfume. For example, I love sandalwood for the deep, musky quality. Most products I'm drawn to contain sandalwood, vertiver, and deeper floral scents like violet. This perfume has all of these with a hint of vanilla. Try it on first, and if you don't immediately like it, just wait an hour. The scent changes with your body heat and for me, this is how it went. I put it on every morning and my husband says it smells like cat piss. Not good. By the time I get to work, the compliments start coming. "What is that smell...it smells so good," and people start sniffing around trying to figure it out. Men love it once it settles down and turns into that sexy, violet scent. It has become my signature quality at work...smelling good. I really think it smells different to other people...maybe you think it doesn't smell that great on yourself, but others will be following you around sniffing. It is truly a deep, sexy, intoxicating perfume with a bit of spicy undertones. If you're looking for foo foo (think Clinique Happy), this is not for you. If you're looking for a flirty, mature fragrance then give Tuca Tuca a shot. It's only around $30 so what's to lose?

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cocorocha on 3/20/2013 8:58:00 AM more reviews by cocorocha

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    


the thing is- anyone (imho), who says this perfume is a wreck, really doesn't have the nose for it...it is that simple....
i quite understand the utter disgust people spread on this review site over this one, but (as usual), I kinda ignore the reviews written in a very subjective and kinda degrading way, thiogh I absolutely understand a common disliker of TT..
on me TT is a gorgeous perfume, that screams JASMINE (just like other Lush monster-LUST), but there's so much going on, that (as with other Lush perfumes)I'm looking forward to ride the Gorilla rollercoaster of developing on my skin...
a nuclear violet (just like the one in Stephen Jones's for CdG violet) emerges with a vulcanic, heated stems and vanilla cream...a weak but rich sandalwood and very prominent ylang-ylang...
later I can smell some vetyver, but on a very low pitched stage....
surely there must be some jasmin here, ..or....?hm...

after an hour, this becomes a very sexy,feminine scent,a very victorian violet...and it is creamy and beautiful indeed...
me gusto mucho...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mo98103 on 7/21/2012 5:16:00 AM more reviews by mo98103

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Hmmmmm. I don't get it - I understand that fragrance is a very personal thing, but to actually claim that this smells like arse or induced a migraine is a tad on the hyperbolic side, if you ask me.
This smells like violet candies, with some easy to pick out sandalwood and vetivert. Usually, I stay very far away from florals, but violet and rose are both weaknesses of mine. This is a pretty true violet, but it does not become powdery (which I hate) and the vanilla just floats by and thankfully does not linger on my skin. One of the best things about this fragrance is the staying power, which is about 8 hours for me, especially rare with violet based scents.
It's very inexpensive, and I actually like the packaging, so I don't see a reason not to try it.

If you like violet, try it. If you don't, don't. That's pretty easy.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sweetiepea161616 on 2/3/2012 7:17:00 PM more reviews by sweetiepea161616

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy   Eyes: Green    

Now I really think you must be obsessed with violet in order to appreciate this perfume. It is a violet bomb! There are some powdery vanilla and kinda sandalwood-type notes as well, but mostly the violet hits you like a ton of bricks. I grew up eating violet candies so this really makes me feel nostalgic and reminds me of eating violet candies. My husband thinks they smell like soap, but anyways... I really do like this, but keep in mind that it is really strong and can smell old lady-ish in large doses. Keep it light and you will smell like a rose! I mean, violet!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 milkandtaxes on 10/31/2011 2:28:00 PM more reviews by milkandtaxes

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Not a fan. It's a pretty boring, bland perfume. Just kind of a floral brick wall, I guess, not really offensive, but no little nuances or quirks that so many Lush perfumes have. I have no idea why people buy this perfume when Lush has so many great fragrances available. I guess if you want a boring, nondescript scent to go with your boring evening dress, buy this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 blaqkrabbit on 9/29/2011 9:59:00 PM more reviews by blaqkrabbit

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Grey    

At first I really hated Tuca Tuca, Lush's violet perfume. Like really hated it... but then after actually trying it on my skin a few times I stopped disliking it... and then a few times more I found I liked it.
My first response to the perfume was much like many of the other resviews. I thought it smelled foul and a bit like my old aunt.
After wearing it a few times though it smelled like really sweet sugared violets, almost like candy. The packaging could be better- but it's not the worst. It looks alright but it leaks sometimes.
Overall I would say I really like smelling like Tuca Tuca. It makes me feel sweet, attractive, and bubbley. =D

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hollyms on 9/11/2011 12:46:00 AM more reviews by hollyms

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

Reading all these incredibly mixed reviews, I am amazed. It just goes to show how very different Lush scents are on every body. NONE of the offensive odors these people are speaking of showed up on me. From the first use, I began getting compliments on this. My boyfriend is obsessed with smelling this on me. I like to wear Breath of God during the day because it makes me feel sophisticated and elegant, but I wear Tuca at night because it makes me feel gorgeous, sexy, and fun. It's great for clubbing, date night, etc. The smell is very much jasmine, but also with some melon and vanilla. (What's not to love about that?!) And, of course, as with all Lush scents, it changes throughout the day.

I agree with another reviewer who said that if you do not like unique scents you will not like this. This is not a perfume for someone who isn't willing to step outside of the box.

Please, just give it a shot on your own skin. Spray it on, wait a good 30 minutes, then see what you think!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bdawn on 7/1/2011 1:13:00 AM more reviews by bdawn

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm on the fence with this one because I also think it smells gross when I first put in on. For this first hour it goes through a couple of different phases on me which are disgusting. Like someone else said it starts out smelling like old man aftershave. After about 15 minutes the scent changes to something similar to urine mixed with perfume...barf!! However this is the worst of it as after about 45 minutes it settles into something soft and seductive. A very pleasing musky smell that I quite enjoy. I did say that I wouldn't repurchase because maybe isn't an option and I'm not sure I want to smell like an old man who peed his pants for the first part of my morning.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rubybluecat1 on 6/22/2011 2:48:00 AM more reviews by rubybluecat1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

If you tend to prefer generic department store perfumes then yes, chances are Tuca Tuca is not for you. If you like perfumes that are a little more original, give Tuca Tuca a try.

To me, it smells very similar to Lush`s bathos bar; earthy violets, with sensual vanilla and jasmine. Bold, but also a bit mysterious :-)

As with all perfumes, it`s best to try before you by. I suppose it could definitely clash with some people`s body chemistry (hence the negative reviews) but I`ve only received compliments, and my SO told me I smell like a sensual flower. I sampled it a few times at Lush before purchasing a small vial, and am now going for the 30ml bottle.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More LUSH products

More Fragrances products