Stila One Step Correct

2.9

66 reviews

40% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 7/13/2015 8:50:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I got this from Mecca Maxima in Brisbane, Australia. I purchased the smaller size (15ml) as it was $32AUD and the bigger bottle was $52AUD. I bought this primer after seeing many great youtube reviews and it is definitely worth the hype. Stila packaging is so cute, the little gold box and then the actual product which basically looks like a twisted rope inside the bottle. It has 3 colours inside, the green, pink and a white tone. It does look really weird but I like it. When you pump it out it is easy to control the amount that comes out. It comes out with all 3 colours in the product and you don't have to mix before you apply, as it easily blends.



on 6/13/2015 8:50:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Okay, I have to be honest here - I bought this because the swirls looked pretty. Of course, for 40 dollars, I also expected it to do more than just spice up my makeup stash.

Unlike a silicon primer, the product was more slippery. It felt a little like soap, actually. When I first used it, I couldn't really see a difference. I let it collect dust until recently where I dug it up again.

I was going to do my makeup from scratch for a performance outside, and I didn't want to bring a bulky tub of moisturiser around. I needed something that would stop my BB cream from accentuating dry patches on my skin, and this did the job nicely! As I was slathering the primer/corrector on my face, my friend, who doesn't know much about makeup, commented that my 'foundation' worked pretty well. That is to say, the primer/corrector was really doing its job of correcting, of course.

I used it again today as I wanted to skip moisturising. In the day light, I could tell that it had really balanced out the redness from my zits pretty well, evened out my skin tone a little, and even brightened it. I put on my BB cream and Innisfree's No Sebum Mineral powder to set, and I don't think my skin has ever looked better. My blemishes and two big pimples were almost completely covered up thanks to the corrector's neutralising effect!

The reason why I am not going to repurchase this product is because it's expensive and my skin, apart from the redness of zits, does not require much 'correcting'. If I have to, I'll just get a green concealer that would be much more affordable.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/11/2015 7:37:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This was one step that did not correct. Generally, I don’t have “troubled” skin. I’ll occasionally have redness around the area surrounding my nose or break out from hormones or react from a new skincare product. The pros of this “serum” is that it’s lightweight and didn’t leave my skin feeling oily. Don’t be nervous about the triple color swirl – the color doesn’t appear on your skin. I quoted “serum” earlier because I’m not if that term is fitting for this product (on the bottle, the name included - "skin tone correcting & brightening serum"). I feel like it’s a makeup product and not a skincare product and I lump things labeled “serums” into skincare. In regards to covering up redness, concealing blemishes, improving skin textures, & filling in pores, I felt like my regular BB creams were much more effective combating these issues and is a more convenient/quick-fix/all-in-one for my type of skin.

The main reason for returning this item was because it didn’t mix well with the foundations I currently own. I also had primers, blurs, and other products that performed better separately than this product that's supposed to be a “primer, color-corrector, brightener and anti-aging skincare." I tried multiple combinations and gave it a good run, but to me, it didn’t show stellar results and would have caused more issues with my current makeup products, so it wasn’t worth it to keep (with a 20% discount). I’d much rather spend my money on targeted makeup/skincare products rather than those that try to accomplish too many issues.


on 1/18/2015 6:04:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This broke me out, didn't like much about it except for how quickly it set in to the skin. Not very hydrating, not worth the money.


on 1/7/2015 11:10:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

I bought this product because it looked really nice in the bottle, and I thought that the variation of colors would work together to blur the imperfections on my skin. Realistically, I think that it didn't do much for my skin. It did make my skin feel smoother before putting on my foundation, but it did not help the foundation last longer or control the oil on my skin. Also, I think it might have been irritating my skin because I started to break out on different areas of my face after using it.

The packaging is ok, it's a plastic bottle with a pump, which I do like because it's more hygienic.


on 1/6/2015 7:54:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I have dry/to normal skin and I sometimes get oily around my nose but that's all. THis primer has lasted me 6 months I think and I've used it probably every time I've worn make up!

I apply one pump all over my face, which is usually more than enough. I allow it to dry for a couple of mins and then apply my foundation (NARS sheer glow, L'Oreal true match or MAC studio fix fluid).. I think this definitely helps my make up last longer and without it I feel weird applying foundation straight to my skin.

The 3 colours do some colour correction but not a lot. When I first used this I noticed a difference, but I think my skin has become less red so the primer doesn't need to colour correct a lot. If you're looking for something to colour correct your skin, I would try a single colour primer rather than this.

Overall I really love this primer, it doesn't make my skin feel dry or sticky, nor does it have a silicone finish (yay!)

I'm coming to the end of this primer and deciding whether to buy another or try something new!


on 12/20/2014 6:57:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I wear Stila's foundation and only used moisturizer beneath it but I began to notice how my make-up seemed to be holding on for dear life by the end of the day. So I wanted to get a primer that would help with redness, discoloration, and make my foundation last longer. This primer didn't seem to be doing much at first, but the more I used it the less I began to notice the imperfections in my complexion. It does a great job at evening out skin tone and goes on smooth. The texture is creamy and it doesn't have a strong scent which is good because I have sensitive skin. It is a bit thicker than I'd like it to be and if I don't dot it around my face it is hard to spread. Overall I would recommend this for people with normal or acne-prone skin, but if you have dry skin, like I do sometimes, it would be best if mixed with a simple moisturizer as it doesn't have the most hydrating consistency.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/1/2014 3:08:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have very dry skin. On top of that, I somehow had dry patches that hurt! Allergies? I went to Sephora with the intention to buy Smashbox's primer. The sales person stated Stila's the better of the two. She gave a sample of both and told me to try both at home doing and using everything that is the same. Smashbox had a more silicone texture. Stila felt like a moisturizer. Then I used my Urban Decay Naked #4 foundation. Worked well with both. Both covered my pores quite nicely. By late afternoon, it was the foundation with Stila that lasted the longest and into the night. It also covered a tad of my redness but it moisturized my face the best. Clear winner and now my holy grail.


on 10/18/2014 10:18:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

a little goes a long way, one pump is more than sufficient for my face, I have rocesa and while this primer doesn't fully neutralise the redness it helps tone it down & even out my skin. It feels very hydrating putting it on & absorbes into my skin beautifully, the perfect buddy for my foundation & bb cream, the product is in a clear tube so you can physically see how much you have left!


on 9/16/2014 10:26:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I will finish this bottle but not repurchase. It's fun to look at and use, but performance is lacking. My main complaint is that it causes my foundation to "pill." I end up having to brush little balls of makeup off my face. This may be because I use a liquid-to-powder foundation, though.


Popular Primer/ Correctors


Back to Top