Urban Decay • Freelove • Eye Shadow

rated 4.8(12 reviews)

Average Rating.4.8
Would buy this product again.100%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CordulaM on 12/14/2014 1:06:00 PM more reviews by CordulaM

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Other, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

God I love this color. So unique, I haven't found a comparable one color wise that was even mediocre in staying power. This is both. I actually got this because I bought the Shadowbox (2014) which I absolutely hated in terms of color pay off. Really disappointed. But this color was one of the reasons I gravitated to that palette, so when I returned it, I picked this single up instead. It's my only UD shadow and while they are known for them, I tended to avoid them because of price and because my other UD experiences have been less than stellar. But I heard the pigmentation of this was up to par with what they are known for (because the shadowbox has been said to have sub-par quality and I found that to be true).

So that said, I love love love this color. So pretty. As a lover of all things coral-y I found this to be peachy, orangey and shimmery without being obnoxious, gunky with glitter or odd colored. It's just perfect and complimentary for pretty much any skin tone. My big gripe with it though is the price per size. These little babies are $18 for 1.5g where most of my drugstore shadows are around 2.5-3.5g. I haven't hit pan because I just got it, but I can tell it's shallow. That's extremely expensive for that amount, and as much as I love it, I don't know if I can pay the full price when I run out (I got one hell of a deal, so...) but by color alone I would.

I also don't love how they come out of the case. I know it's for depotting and making your own palette but I find mine slips out really easily with a tap of my finger in the wrong spot and I'm afraid it will come out when I'm using it and it will fall and my dreams will shatter. I just wish it was a little more tight for those of us who want to keep the original casing.

Those are my gripes. But I still love this color so much.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shannon804 on 6/16/2014 5:49:00 PM more reviews by shannon804

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I thought I'd never need another UD neutral-ish shadow after I bought the Naked palette a few years ago, but Freelove proved me wrong. It's a beautiful peachy-gold on me, which is great for an all-over wash of color, as part of a summery shadow look, or as a blush. I tried to find a less pricey version, but nothing came close enough on me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Starlajean12 on 11/20/2013 1:50:00 PM more reviews by Starlajean12

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Grey    

Such a fun color. It really is beautiful! I like to use x on the lid, baked in my upper crease and this in my deep crease. It's a versatile color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KittyCarr on 3/10/2013 11:04:00 PM more reviews by KittyCarr

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

So pretty! I love all urban decay eyeshadows, they apply so beautifully and so easily. But not only is the quality fantastic the colour of free love is just GORGEOUS

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ariel2229 on 1/7/2013 9:05:00 AM more reviews by ariel2229

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this to,go over my rubenesque paint pot from Mac. When I was in the store it looked pretty close to rubenesque.but when I got home and put then side by side the freelove is more pinky. But they pair beautifully together

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sunkissed101 on 1/3/2013 1:16:00 AM more reviews by Sunkissed101

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Oh.
My.
Goshness.
This is the prettiest shadow I've ever seen EVER! The color reminds me VERY VERY much of NARS Orgasm, and so I can use it both as a blush and an eyeshadow for a much cheaper price than the original.
The UD eyeshadows are known for being very buttery, soft, and velvety to the touch. They blend well and are easy to apply, easy to mix, and easy to blend, and come in a range of GORGEOUSLY OUTRAGEOUS shades. This is a color that will work well for any skin tone, and works great for brightening up the eye. Def my fave shade out of all of the other shadows, simply because of the beautiful peachy-pink shimmer color. It's truly unique.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Merey on 12/12/2012 10:01:00 PM more reviews by Merey

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Freelove is a pretty UD shadow and can be used as such. I often blend it over a darker, maybe cooler, crease color. It warms up darker looks.

But not enough people use this shadow for what it truly is worth purchasing for - a BEAUTIFUL blush.

Peachy with a subtle golden shimmer, this is the most perfect blush for me. I am Dutch, with fair fair skin. I get rosy when I'm hot, cold, flustered, tired, sad, happy, smiling, frowning or sitting still. This peachy color cancels out the purplish color of my natural blushing complexion and gives my face a model-esque finish. I use so little shadow at one time with my blush brush that it lasts forever! Worth every penny.

I recently picked up two little coin-shaped containers of Freelove so that I will not be without this beautiful blush color for years to come.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 suzthemuse on 10/4/2011 12:56:00 AM more reviews by suzthemuse

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This e/s was recommended for me by the makeup artist working at sephora. I bought it and tried it a few times. I have fair skin blue eyes and dark brown hair. Ultimately I felt that it was nice but didn't really wow me. I guess I'm more partial to cool browns and taupes.

Anyway, a couple nights ago I was having a party at my house and met a girl with strawberry blonde/red hair, fair skin, and green eyes. We started talking about makeup and she was saying how she has such a gard time finding eyeshadow that works for her. I immediately thought of free love for her. We tried it on her asd a simple wash and it looked AMAZING on her! Really amazing, perfect with her hair color, skin tone, and made her green eyes pop. Of course at that point I had to give it to her :)

I'm giving this e/s 5 lippies because although it wasn't quite right for me, on the right person it's gorgeous.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Iphy on 8/26/2011 9:39:00 AM more reviews by Iphy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Freelove is a really beautiful coral/orange with very fine gold shimmer, to me. I do not detect any pink in this, but ULTA's open sample was more pink. I think there may be more depth to the color the deeper you get in the pan, if that makes sense. The top layer seems slightly like a matte orange, but as I use it, I see more shimmer and dimension.

As with the UD shadows I have used (Last Call, Single White Female, and a vibrant purple I cannot recall the name of), this shadow is fairly smooth, easy to blend, and pigmented. The color lasts a very long time, and there is little fallout.

I have packed Freelove over NYX milk pencil on my lid, and it's extremely orange. I use UD Darkhorse and Naked from the Naked Palette on the outer corner to tone it down and blend it out. It's beautiful, and I also line my lower lash line with it. I plan to try this without a base and just wash it over my lid for a lighter, sheer effect.

It seems this product is best suited for green eyes/pale skin or very dark skin, but I'm sure anyone could make it work.
UPDATE 9/6/11: This makes THE most fabulous blush. I have Benefit's Coralista, and it has nothing on this. Beautiful.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Julia941 on 3/28/2011 10:59:00 PM more reviews by Julia941

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This was my first Urban Decay shadow and I am very happy with it. It feels very creamy and it is easy to apply. The beautiful peachy/coral with a little bit of gold shimmer is very flattering to green eyes. I like to use BB Bone or Ivory (matte) all over then use this as a wash on my lids with a brown or black liner. It is perfect in the summer.
Edit: I've tried many other coral/peachy-pink colours from MAC, Smashbox, Jane Iredale, etc. and this one is the best, hands down.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Urban Decay products

More Eye Shadow products