Yves Saint Laurent • Belle d'Opium • Fragrances

rated 3.1(36 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.38%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 Laceymacpherson on 1/15/2014 9:10:00 AM more reviews by Laceymacpherson

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I wanted to love this. However it turned to a grape juice,pachouli nightmare

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 FelisCatus on 1/7/2014 8:45:00 AM more reviews by FelisCatus

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

I've bought it today and I really enjoy it.It's my favourite from ysl ; original opium smells like cheap air refreshener,cinema is way too vanilla and sweet,manifesto is horrible... I recommend trying it on your skin and not on those little papers that you get in the drugstore,because it smells a million times better.After an hour on the skin the scent is very similar to "Givenchy - Play". Packaging is beautiful as well.It's a bit expensive,but it's worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Shanplum on 7/8/2013 12:59:00 AM more reviews by Shanplum

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Nothing at all like Opium very sweet and artificially vanilla though there is none mentioned in the notes, perhaps it is a chemically jasmine/gardenia note which is apparent on my skin which gives the vanilla smell. Some compare this to Estee Lauder Sensuous noir but they are in no way similar apart from the dark purple bottles. This smells slightly sweaty and is overly sweet. Yuck

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nathaliez on 10/6/2012 12:45:00 PM more reviews by nathaliez

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is like the little sister of the original Opium, for me still too oriental, so it isn't a favorite of mine
But in terms of straight oriental scents this is nicely made!! I like Vapeurs way better
It is fresher, on me Belle is too heady, too oriental
But it is definitely a more wearable version of the original, that I find suffocating!!!
Nice incense note mixing nicely with the floral notes, not overly done.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 RoseMosco on 9/30/2012 3:06:00 PM more reviews by RoseMosco

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

My sister was kind enough to give me this fragrance after finding it did not work for her. I use it on occasion, sometimes combination with the legendary no.5. The smell is quite spicy and very lovely. reading other reviews I see many users have picked up on fruity notes but on my spin it is predominantly spice, floral then a slight fruit. I enjoy the warmth of the fragrance and find it suitable in the fall or winter weather and for evening use in the spring/summer. I would definitely purchase this fragrance again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tessture on 8/19/2012 11:37:00 AM more reviews by tessture

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Reminds me very much of the original, but is lighter and much easier to wear. A very pretty, light oriental, if such a thing exists. I'm not a huge oriental personality, but this is quite nice.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xdollpartsx on 6/8/2012 10:35:00 AM more reviews by xdollpartsx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I love this perfume with a passion! I actually had this forced on me buy an insistant shop assistant lady and wow, I am glad she was so forceful! This is a bottle I have always avoided simply because the bottle looks far too expensive and maybe appeared a little...pretentious in my eyes. I expected it to be overrated. This is a 'don't judge a book by it's cover' lesson! I believe I was gabbing away about what kind of perfumes I usually like to the lady, trying to pry her away from pulling out the grand looking royal blue bottle to spray and the moment she sprayed onto the tester stick, I shut up. I was quite overwhelmed, the jasmine and peach infused with sandalwood is pure magic! There is a spicey punch to it too which makes it so unusual. I walked around the store with this for maybe 10 minutes looking through other perfumes and I could not stop smelling this. I asked for a sample on my wrist and I swear, I could still smell this the next morning after showering. the dry down stays well rounded on me, the perfect blend of floral and wood with the faint hint of spice and a gorgous musk to pull the notes together.

Belle D'opium is lavish yet well preserved, a confident fragrance with longevity. The bottle looks so regal on the dressing table, it really goes with the scent. A garunteed get noticed fragrance with an air of mystery and sexiness in a class of it's own. Worth the money in my opinion however this is usually cheaper online than in superstores!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 sealegg on 4/25/2012 7:09:00 PM more reviews by sealegg

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly   Eyes: Brown    

I like how perfume smells different on everyone, and I respect that everyone has their own opinion. I got a sample from a swap, and at first I was taken aback by it, just by sniffing the bottle.... it didn't smell good by itself, so I thought "Hey, it might be better on my skin." I was only half right. It smelt SO good after the first spritz and thirty minutes went by and it started smelling generic on my skin. I can't really describe the scent, it is in fact indescribable to me. However if the top notes stayed on my skin I would have bought this perfume in a heart beat.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 iodine on 2/25/2012 12:22:00 AM more reviews by iodine

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Well, I remember loving the package on Opium, but not the juice. I sprayed this sample on and thought--where do I know that from? It's not That generic, but, but..... It's taken me several hours and a couple of sprays, but I finally got it! Flowerbomb! That's what it smells like. Not bad, just not better. Or worse. Just the same, to me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 darkmist on 1/16/2012 2:29:00 PM more reviews by darkmist

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I loved the warm spicy amber scent! A very pretty and soft Autumn/Winter scent. Sure it's no where near as complex or deep as the original Opium but this was meant to be the lighter and more casual cousin and I think the Belle d'Opium did a great job. It fades after 4-5 hours but I am quite happy with this perfume.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Yves Saint Laurent products

More Fragrances products