Yves Saint Laurent Belle d'Opium

3.2

39 reviews

43% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 7/13/2015 7:03:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love, love, love it! It smells sweet and oriental, a bit spicy, but definitely lovely and sexy at the same time. Very similar to Flowerbomb with a hint of incense, not as sweet as FB. I have many fragrances, but I find myself reaching for this one more than any other. On me it's long lasting without layering, 8+ hrs. It's sad that it's getting harder to find it in the stores.



on 8/23/2014 10:40:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is like a modern version of Opium. It's not as heavy as the original. I quite like it. If you like incense and oriental notes in a scent, you'll like this one. I think YSL did a great job on the combination of notes here. It certainly does not smell cheap but rather quite expensive, sort of along the line of Tom Ford fragrances.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/19/2014 10:59:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

A girl should always have two or more perfumes on her vanity to suit different occasions and moods, and Belle d'Opium is my choice for daily wear. I'm never one for floral scents, especially the overpowering Jasmine ones which you can find in so many perfumes these days *cough~boring*. Now, everyone has a different olfactory reaction to a scent—I get that—so I'm just going to say that Belle d'Opium is hands down a perfume that smells and makes me feel sexy, mysterious and alluring. I'm glad it does not smell too heavy and overly oriental (or floral) so much that it feels as if I'm wearing my grandma out.

I just can't get enough of that spicy concoction of sandalwood, Casablanca lily, gardenia, white pepper and—though ironically—jasmine (which thankfully does not overpower my senses like other perfumes that have this ingredient in them), amongst others. The only drawback is that by the time you get to that last spritz, there's still quite alot left in the bottle—oh, what a tease. I've kept most of my used bottles, and if i can find a way to pry the tops open successfully, I'm sure I'll have enough for at least one good bottle. On the plus side, I've received many compliments from women and men, gay and straight, compared to the other perfumes I wear. Well, until I find another scent that can capture my attention as well as this has, it will continue to be a winner.

Oh I suppose, never ever trust perfume reviews because, like I mentioned, every one of us responds differently to scents. It's one thing to read a review and all its flowery critiques, and another to try it for yourself and see how you feel about it, from the time the vapours hit your senses down to the very last explosion of notes. If it rocks your boat, right? Well, this certainly rocks mine, and all the other people who have told me how fantastic I smell.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I wanted to love this. However it turned to a grape juice,pachouli nightmare


on 1/7/2014 8:45:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I've bought it today and I really enjoy it.It's my favourite from ysl ; original opium smells like cheap air refreshener,cinema is way too vanilla and sweet,manifesto is horrible... I recommend trying it on your skin and not on those little papers that you get in the drugstore,because it smells a million times better.After an hour on the skin the scent is very similar to "Givenchy - Play". Packaging is beautiful as well.It's a bit expensive,but it's worth it.


on 7/8/2013 12:59:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Nothing at all like Opium very sweet and artificially vanilla though there is none mentioned in the notes, perhaps it is a chemically jasmine/gardenia note which is apparent on my skin which gives the vanilla smell. Some compare this to Estee Lauder Sensuous noir but they are in no way similar apart from the dark purple bottles. This smells slightly sweaty and is overly sweet. Yuck

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/6/2012 12:45:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is like the little sister of the original Opium, for me still too oriental, so it isn't a favorite of mine
But in terms of straight oriental scents this is nicely made!! I like Vapeurs way better
It is fresher, on me Belle is too heady, too oriental
But it is definitely a more wearable version of the original, that I find suffocating!!!
Nice incense note mixing nicely with the floral notes, not overly done.


on 9/30/2012 3:06:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

My sister was kind enough to give me this fragrance after finding it did not work for her. I use it on occasion, sometimes combination with the legendary no.5. The smell is quite spicy and very lovely. reading other reviews I see many users have picked up on fruity notes but on my spin it is predominantly spice, floral then a slight fruit. I enjoy the warmth of the fragrance and find it suitable in the fall or winter weather and for evening use in the spring/summer. I would definitely purchase this fragrance again.


on 8/19/2012 11:37:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Reminds me very much of the original, but is lighter and much easier to wear. A very pretty, light oriental, if such a thing exists. I'm not a huge oriental personality, but this is quite nice.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/8/2012 10:35:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Kinky, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I love this perfume with a passion! I actually had this forced on me buy an insistant shop assistant lady and wow, I am glad she was so forceful! This is a bottle I have always avoided simply because the bottle looks far too expensive and maybe appeared a little...pretentious in my eyes. I expected it to be overrated. This is a 'don't judge a book by it's cover' lesson! I believe I was gabbing away about what kind of perfumes I usually like to the lady, trying to pry her away from pulling out the grand looking royal blue bottle to spray and the moment she sprayed onto the tester stick, I shut up. I was quite overwhelmed, the jasmine and peach infused with sandalwood is pure magic! There is a spicey punch to it too which makes it so unusual. I walked around the store with this for maybe 10 minutes looking through other perfumes and I could not stop smelling this. I asked for a sample on my wrist and I swear, I could still smell this the next morning after showering. the dry down stays well rounded on me, the perfect blend of floral and wood with the faint hint of spice and a gorgous musk to pull the notes together.

Belle D'opium is lavish yet well preserved, a confident fragrance with longevity. The bottle looks so regal on the dressing table, it really goes with the scent. A garunteed get noticed fragrance with an air of mystery and sexiness in a class of it's own. Worth the money in my opinion however this is usually cheaper online than in superstores!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Angel
Angel
1829 Reviews
Coco Mademoiselle
Coco Mademoiselle
1374 Reviews
Chance
Chance
960 Reviews
Pink Sugar
Pink Sugar
1886 Reviews


Top Rated Yves Saint Laurent Products

Back to Top