MAC • Pro Longwear Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.8(882 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 cw192 on 10/11/2014 6:00:00 PM more reviews by cw192

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I used to swear by this foundation as it was the first one I had come across that didn't literally fall off my face due to my oiliness. It has superb staying power when applied on top of a primer and set with a powder (I use skinfinish natural). After around a month of daily use it started to feel heavy and cakey on my face and I decided to look for something with the same staying power but less heavy and since then I have swapped back to my old HG Revlon colorstay which is very comparable to this foundation. Overall a good foundation for an oily skin but can at times feel too much for daily wear.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LuvForMakeup on 10/2/2014 2:08:00 AM more reviews by LuvForMakeup

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

After getting tired of using the same Mac Matchmaster foundation, I decided to switch to something new. Trying out the Pro Longwear Foundation. First time put it on my face with my Sigma Flat Top Kabuki brush, a lot of patches. The foundation dry very fast. The next day, I applied it on again, I am so happy that it went well. I realized that I did not apply it properly. I set it with my Mac MSF in Medium Dark, even better. The con is, the foundation does not cover my acne spots well, so you have to use a concealer. Overall, I am satisfied :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 annaa7 on 9/30/2014 10:15:00 AM more reviews by annaa7

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have an oily/dry skin combo. After I started with acne medication my chin, cheeks and "outer" forehead got flaky and dry. I exfoliate and use embryolisse lait-creme the night before I use this, and my face looks good. It's a buildable coverage, but I use the matching concealer as well, and I absolutely love this. Worth the money!

It stays on for hours, even while I'm sweating. It's great for oily skin, definitly try this out! Love the classic glass-packaging with a pump as well. Just overall a great, great product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Gholt91 on 9/29/2014 8:12:00 AM more reviews by Gholt91

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I love this foundation, I have very oily skin but I love a dewy finish which I think is so so hard to achieve! I think a lot of people rely on there foundation to do all of the work when it comes to controlling oil on there face but it is essential you are preparing your skin properly before applying your foundation. The colour match for me is perfect & it applies to my skin really well, you can taylor make the coverage depending on what brush is used to apply, I either use my RT buffing brush for a lighter coverage or my RT angled foundation brush for maximum! Once applied leave for a few minutes to let it really settle into your skin. I then apply my MAC Blot Powder in t zone & will top up throughout the day!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MichPaon on 9/24/2014 8:41:00 PM more reviews by MichPaon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the best foundation I have ever worn! It stays on my face all day and makes my skin look flawless, while matching my skin tone perfectly! I do tend to get shiny skin but this foundation has a very nice matte finish to it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 JKra on 9/23/2014 12:07:00 PM more reviews by JKra

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I only had a sample of this. At the MAC counter I was deciding between this and Matchmaster so the SA put this on half of my face and Matchmaster on the other half. It looked really pretty at first but a few hours later, the Pro Longwear side had weirdly "separated" on my face. You could only see from close up but it was...hard to describe but not smooth. Perhaps my skin is a little too dry for it? It wasn't peeling, just...separating. The Matchmaster side remained smooth and clean. Obviously, I went back and purchased the Matchmaster, which I love. It probably has to do with skin type. This was with no primer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Lauraf127 on 9/16/2014 9:49:00 AM more reviews by Lauraf127

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation is good for people with clear skin that needs some coverage. It is not good to put over any blemishes as it just enhances them with dry patches. The foundation does last a long time and it doesn't have any paint smell like mac studio fix. However, this foundation made me breakout really bad in random areas that I wouldn't normally. I also don't really like the look of this foundation on my face - basically it looks like you have a full face of foundation instead of naturally flawless skin. I am going to go back to my all time favourite mac studio tech foundation - it runs out so fast but it is the best!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xxKerplunk80xx on 9/13/2014 4:44:00 PM more reviews by xxKerplunk80xx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This foundation is everything I have been looking for! I needed something that wasn't going to slide off my face in work and no other liquid foundation seemed to be doing the job, the others seemed to slide or just fade. This one is quick drying (to stay in place) so you gotta be on your toes while applying it. Blends perfectly and will not budge, longest it has stayed for me is 14 hours, i top it up with transclusent powder to avoid a shiny forehead. I love it and would definitely recommend it xx

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tquirk on 9/3/2014 12:52:00 AM more reviews by tquirk

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this product today! The girls as MAC did my makeup for me and i ended up buying pro long wear! I got the colour NW22 as i tan in winter and my skin goes quite dark in summer! The foundation doesnt feel thick when i wear it, and it covers up all my pores. It stays on all day/night and it takes a bit to get it off your face because it really is long wearing!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sabripereira on 9/2/2014 1:26:00 PM more reviews by sabripereira

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I absolute love my MAC foundations. My skin is acne prone and very sensitive, so if I put on the wrong product it is certain I will break out. And MAC never disappoints, it actually makes my skin look better when I wear it (it must suck out some excess oil or something, I swear it's like a skin treatment for me).

For a long time I used the studio fix as my day to day foundation and the studio sculpt when I needed more coverage. I ended up buying the prolongwear because they had run out of the studio fix. Since I was at the airport and I wanted to get it cheaper at duty free, I decided to give it a try. Not disappointed.

The biggest plus on this foundation is that when they say it's long wear they really mean it. The only problem with that is that you have to clean it really well at night and make sure it's all gone. The foundation stays put all day and holds the rest of your make up in place. I don't use primers (because they always make me break out) so this is a big plus.

The coverage is amazing, I usually wear just half a pump to cover my whole face. The only con is that I find the texture of it a bit too thick. If i want the foundation to look more sheer i put a bit of water on the tip of the brush and shake the excess off, works wonders. I find it to be a very versatile foundation and it blends really well.

Overall I'm really happy with my foundation. Works perfectly with my prolongwear concealer and mineralize skinfinish natural (my all time favourite product).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Liquid products