MAC • Smoky Heir Superslick Liquid Liner • Eyeliner

rated 4.1(8 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 JustH on 7/13/2012 3:40:00 PM more reviews by JustH

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I am an eyeliner novice. I rarely wear makeup. But when I do, its MAC. I also have this in Desires & Devices (olive).

The applicator is easy to use (novice, remember), and it dries quickly. Precise at the tip, so can give a really good wing, but held flatter against the lid and it gives you a bolder line. Easy to get a good clean line (no wobbles for me). It has brilliant durability and does not move all day. No flaking. But comes off with an oily moisturiser or makeup remover.

Smoky Heir is a lovely purple shimmer. A little wild for ta day at the office. Unless I'm feeling cheeky.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 CuriousCreature on 11/13/2011 8:07:00 AM more reviews by CuriousCreature

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Grey   Eyes: Brown    

The net net is this, love the product hate the applicator brush. Come on Mac, you're supposed to know these things. I'm pretty good with a brush but the narrow cone thing on the end is ridiculous. I end up shaking, pulling out the applicator, then using a narrow artist brush to apply the product. Beautiful color when the application stops being annoying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jaymief on 8/26/2011 3:48:00 AM more reviews by jaymief

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I love these liners! The color is a beautiful not too bright purple with shimmers. The brush or sponge tip makes application easy and there are no problems with the drying time. Once it's applied and dried their is no smudging this baby off! It stays on from morning to night. I love these!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lucretiabrgia on 4/23/2011 4:14:00 AM more reviews by lucretiabrgia

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I like the violet colour for my green eyes, and often use MAC permaplum pencil as well as MAC Marcroviolet gel liner. In comparison with the liners above, I found this liner to be more shiny, overpowering and less suitable for a conservative office. The applicator is not that easy to use as the line it makes is too strong and thick. Much easier to apply this product with an eyeliner brush. Taking it off is a little weird, it flakes/peels off rather than dissolving. So, all of the above comnsidered, I will not buy this again and will continue using the other MAC liners.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Chester99 on 10/3/2010 10:10:00 AM more reviews by Chester99

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Smoky Heir is a nice true purple with some silver shimmer. A true gem in my liner collection since it makes my green eyes pop.
It's true that it takes a while to dry but it's not worse than MAC's Liquidlast liners. Actually, this feature makes it quite easy to use them as a sticky base for applying an eye shadow color on top. I like to pair similar colored eye shadows with Smoky Heir, i.e. the dark purple pigment from Stacked 1! (Spring Color Forecast) - way better than applying them wet imho.
Another thing I love: It's water-resistant. My eyes water easily and this stays right where I applied it. No smudging, no budging, no wearing off. Makes taking it off in the evening with oil-based remover a bit tougher but then, not worse than MAC's Liquidlast Liners (again).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Crump360 on 9/23/2010 10:12:00 AM more reviews by Crump360

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

superslick eyeliners are quite nice. They have a felt tip making it easy to apply (especially for a cat eye) and provides a lot of control. Smoky Noir is true purple color with purple and pink shimmers. It shows up true to form purple on my tan skin and is very flattering to my brown eyes. It also had great lasting power. This liner will last all day but it might not look exactly as when first applied at the end of the day. I am still impressed with the lasting power and it is pretty easy to remover since is peels off the skin. The most unique thing about these liquid liners are the colors. My only complaint is that is takes a while for this liquid eyeliner to dry (45-60 second, maybe more). If you want a great felt tip liner, L'Oreal Paris Carbon Black Liquid Eyeliner also has a felt tip, great staying power and dries much faster.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lalu on 9/19/2010 5:38:00 AM more reviews by lalu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Its a gorgeous color but it didnt show up on my medium toned skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LadyAmaryllis on 9/7/2010 5:12:00 AM more reviews by LadyAmaryllis

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

Color: Smoky Heir is a deep, subtly shimmery purple and is one of the new Superslick liners released with the Fall 2010 Fabulous Felines collection. I believe it is one of the "Palace Pedigreed" products. It has been described as "burgundy plum with violet, plum, and purple micro-shimmer" but it appears most definitely purple on me; I see few (if any) of the red tones I associate with burgundy and plum. It leans more blue than red to my eyes but it is darkness seems to negate its coolness enough to complement my warm AAB, NC30 skin nicely. Normally purple eyeliner clashes with my skintone (sigh) but thankfully, this works! As long as I wear mascara, it is dark enough for me to wear in place of black without feeling like my eyeliner's not dark enough, which often occurs since I have very dark eyes and black hair/brows/lashes. So if you've been dying to try colored liner but have always felt like you needed more definition, this is just the ticket!

Packaging: The Superslick Liners are housed in shimmery, slim plastic tubes that accurately reflect the color of the product inside. The whole tube is about the size of a slim felt-tip pen style liners everyone is coming out with these days, but it is an inkwell-style pot a la Lancome Artliner, and not a pen. Like Artliner, tte wand portion of the tube is long enough for you to get a comfortable grip on it and achieve good control over the applicator tip.

Applicator: The SA at the MAC store told me that it is a "teflon fiber tip," but to me it feels like any other flexible felt tip applicator. Think of L'oreal Lineur Intense and Lancome Artliner's felt tip--this is very similar to those. It is not a brush but a thin, flexible, pointed felt stylus type appilcator. I was glad that it was nice and bendy because I have had bad experiences with felt tip applicators in the past--Revlon's Colorstay was basically a rigid foam stick that caught and skipped over my eyelid, leaving a jagged messy line unless I really pulled my lid taut (horrible for your skin, unless you want wrinkly eyelids). The applicator picks up an adequate amount of product but I do advise wiping it against the mouth of the tube to avoid piling too much on.

Formula, wear, consistency: The liner itself is quite thin but it is very pigmented and opaque in one stroke (I go over it twice lightly to achieve maximum depth of color but you could definitely get away with just one). It is a very wet formula so be careful not to blink for a bit if your lash lines tend to touch the skin of your eyelids--this liner will transfer, and once it is dry it is not going ANYWHERE.

Which brings me to its wear. This stuff is wonderfully tenacious. No smudging, fading, running, etc. once it dries, it is there until you take it off. I dare say it is more tenacious than fluidlines and BB gel liners, but it is not as ridiculously indelible as the liquidlast liners of yesteryear. It tends to peel and ball up on your lids as you rub to remove it, but it will come off if you are patient and use a good m/u remover.

Overall, I highly recommend snapping up a couple of these before they sell out at the MAC counters. I would definitely go back for the black and shimmer black if they weren't so pricey ($17.50!! ugh) and I weren't already swimming in black eyeliners of every fathomable incarnation! I hope they make these permanent, I could really get used to these. Faster than gel and more precise than pencil, terrific wear, gorgeous color.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More MAC products

More Eyeliner products