MakeupAlley has a FREE Android App!

MAC • Pro Longwear Concealer • Concealers

rated 4.1(885 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 xxkamikazexx on 5/10/2011 10:08:00 PM more reviews by xxkamikazexx

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

**HG ALERT**

So I'm a guy who decided to resort to using makeup in 2008 due to a raging case of breakouts from transient testosterone surges due to weight lifting. The acne is very much under control nowadays, but i've decided to continue using concealer because a few minutes each morning to erase blemishes is a pretty good investment in my book.

I started using this concealer in september 2010 when i was going to MAC to buy another tube of Select Cover Up (which use to be my go-to concealer after trying a plethora of MAC and non-MAC concealers, until this Pro Longwear concealer surpassed it). Being the science major that i am, i decided to devise a comparison test: Use Select Coverup on one side of my face, and Pro Longwear on the other side. At the end of the day, i compared the two, results follow:

Pro Longwear is a bit more liquidy than Select Coverup and other concealers i've tried, it covers your pores and lines on your face but it doesn't crease like i expected a liquid concealer to do. The Pro Longwear side of my face was smoother, more even (and less shiny) than the Select Coverup side. Good staying power too!! Because this concealer is liquidy, it applies on easier, but since it's liquidy it's better to blot your blemishes than to swipe it. Also, because it's thinner and liquidy, it'll dry quicker so you have to work a bit faster than with cream concealers.

THE MOST IMPORTANT THING about a concealer, to me, is that it has to be undetectable (since i'm a masculine guy, i don't want people to know i'm wearing makeup) and this concealer has proven time and time again that it is undetectable. It doesnt crease, it doesnt cake, it doesnt slip, and it looks natural. My skin tone changes between seasons since i spend a lot of time outside, so i buy two shades (NC20 and NC45) I mix the two in different proportions to get the shade i want. I still have the first two bottles that i purchased (in sept2010) so it's been about 9 months and i think i still have enough for 3 more months. I kinda use this all over my face too like a foundation (using a foundation brush) so one tube will last a LONG time (approx 6months), totally worth it. As far as acne goes, it doesn't aggravate my acne, which is also another important factor in choosing a concealer. just make sure you wash this stuff off before you go to bed.

CONS: people have complained about how it smells like paint...i kinda like the smell of paint, so i don't mind, hahha. Although the packaging is sleek and sturdy, it dispenses a lot of product with each pump (you only need half a pump) and you can't really control the amount that gets dispensed no matter how careful or how lightly you press the pump, such a waste!! I'd much prefer they sell this concealer in a tube like they do for Select Coverup. But that is really the only downside to this concealer.

When i run out of this stuff in about 3 months, i'll be purchasing this again. $16.50 for a 0.3oz product may seem a little steep, but this concealer works so well that i wouldn't mind paying that much, plus one tube lasts such a long time anyways.

49 out of 51 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* harsha1980p on 9/3/2010 5:52:00 PM more reviews by harsha1980p

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

YES YES YES - LOVE LOVE LOVE the search is over found the HG I bought this the day it released 2/9/2010 in U.K. used it this morning so excited I had to review it ASAP I had to add the product as it was not yet listed in the database. Im very pleased I get to write a gushing first review for it - the product is perfect.

It's a full coverage liquid concealer, thick and opaque but it feels so light weight and smooth and creamy and easy to blend, its a bit tacky/sticky to the touch in the nicest way which works at keeping it in place allll day long, I have never looked so flawless 8 hours after applying my make up. I find studio finish concealer too dry and cakey and select moisture cover only really good for undereyes as a little wateryand not thick enough to cover blemishes.

Im a MAC C40 I used NC35 for my blemishes and red patches applied with fingers it blended in beautifully and my imperfections were invisiblle!! I also bought it in NW35 for under my eyes. I use my C40 studio fix powder foundation on top applied with a MAC 150 only!! its a perfect combo. The packaging is a little glass vial which is cute but im worried I could smash it if I dropped it on a hard surface.

Marketing talks about it have medical grade ingredients that help with spots and blemishes how great is that - thank you MAC

21 out of 22 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ilurvemakeup on 9/27/2010 4:53:00 PM more reviews by ilurvemakeup

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

PROS:
- Can be worn alone without powder to set.
- Won't budge once it's dry on my normal skin areas.
- Not all shades are available, but there is still a decent amount of shades to pick from for warm to cool tones.
- Not too thick nor watery, the consistency is a perfect blend between a MAC Select Cover-Up and MAC Studio Finish concealers.
- Comes off easily with a good makeup remover.
- You get a good amount for daily use that can last longer than the stamped expiration date of 6 months.

CONS:
- Having owned almost all of MAC's concealers (except for Select Moisturecover) in the same shades for my under eye area, NW25, are all a great match at canceling out my dark circles. Pro Longwear concealer in NW25 when swatched and tested all match the same shading as my other MAC concealers. The big difference between Pro and the rest of the MAC concealers (I own) is that Pro dried darker and oxidized in time. The Pro's pink undertone in my NW25 was also more apparent once the concealer was dry, making it obnoxiously visible that I concealed. When gurus say pink is great at concealing darkness, they forgot to warn us too much pink can be unflattering, especially when the shade oxidizes.
- The "gray" cast is true for me when I had this concealer on my under eyes. No matter how little or more I added to conceal my circles, a gray cast always appeared once the concealer dried and set. The gray cast was so visible that I was able to see it without my glasses or contacts on, and I'm blind as a bat!
- It dries too quickly for my liking, which is more annoying for a concealer than a foundation. Building it up was annoying as well, once a layer was dry, adding another layer over made it look "make-upy" (thick) and visibly unnatural for under eye concealing.
- While 1 layer can look natural on the skin, the concealing and cover up power of that 1 layer is weak. There is still visible flaw, defeating the purpose of calling it a "conceal"er. If you have the patience to work up to more than 1 layer without making it look thickly visible then this might work for you. For me, I like concealers than can manage 1 layer with decent coverage.
- Did not work great for covering discolorations or dark spots. I use all of my MAC concealers in NW shades to counteract my dark spots, but the NW in Pro is so pink and lacks concealing power, that it accentuated my spots more. I do not recommend using NW for spot concealment with this concealer unless your overall skin tone shade is in the NW range, then it will just match your skin and hopefully the pink will blend right in. I have not tried the NC in Pro because they were either too orange or yellow when I swatched them.
- I've applied this concealer using my fingers, sponge, MACs #217, #222, #242, #188 and other concealer, tapered, blending brushes I own. Nothing I used made applying this concealer any easier. It would dry too quickly on parts I started with before I could get to parts I wanted to conceal. The worse brush to use with this was the #217, it just blended "OUT" the concealing aspect. Using my fingers made it hard to blend due to the concealer drying up quickly on my finger tips while still applying. The best and most tolerable for me was a fluffy blending brush like Sonia Kashuk's white handle crease eye brush.
- This can sit on fine lines and accentuate them, it all depends on how much layer you put and how well you've managed to blend it. If you plan on applying a thick layer, work FAST and concentrate on your fine lines before it dries.
- It will not move, but on oilier parts it has managed to creep off. Using the back of your hand as a palette to pump the product out then using a baby wipe to wipe the rest off your hand will still leave you with Pro residue. I found it best to use an actual makeup removing wipe, which I found to be such a waste for just clean-ups since baby wipes are a lot cheaper.
- While the size amount is decent, the annoying pump makes wasting product a nightmare. I pump the product out in a sample jar and use the remaining over pumped out product the next day.
- The glass bottle is more attractive than plastic type concealer bottles, but if you're a klutz like me dropping this and breaking it is a huge con. I have to keep it in the box as a safety precaution from accidental drops once I store it away.
- The paint smell, it's like opening a small bottle of white out. The smell is the strongest when the concealer is wet. Once dry on the skin, the smell subsides.

Overall, this is the worse under eye concealer I have ever tried. I don't even want to try another shade/tone just for my blemishes because of the quick drying action it does. I'm going to stick to my MAC Select Cover-Ups for my under eyes and Studio Sculpt concealer for my blemishes, dark spots etc. This is going back pronto!

20 out of 30 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 conceal90 on 9/10/2010 6:10:00 PM more reviews by conceal90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

OMG!!!! FINALLY :)
After buying products like Bobbi Brown corrector and Concealer, Benefits Erase Paste, YSL Touche Eclat, Mac Select Cover Up and Studio Finish Concealer, Benefit Concealaholic Palette, L'Oreal and Maybelline concealers, Benefit's Stay dont Stray,... I've finally found my HG!
I have dark, hereditary dark circles- getting worse with a 6-hour-sleep. I thought you HAVE to use a pasty, thick consistency to REALLY cover your under eye circles- WRONG GIRLS AND BOYS!
Liquid Concealers are the way to go.
This new Product "Pro Longwear Concealer" is easy to apply (I use my BB Concealer brush). After this, I additionally put a little bit of Select Moisturecover onto my eye area, use The Mac P&P Finishing Powder to let it set. PERFECT, even after an 8 hour school day!
In the last months, even years I've always looked pretty creepy under my eyes, because all the concealers flopped hard, creased, cracked, were cakey, sinked into my fine lines (I'M 17!)
This is amazing- my search is over! Its nearly full coverage (with light in your near, it can't take a shadow away!) and looks great...
Bow to MAC

20 out of 23 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sayers on 9/18/2010 10:45:00 PM more reviews by Sayers

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I do believe I have found a HG concealer. Having been loyal to Maybelline Age Rewind for years but feeling I was paying too much for so little product Pro Longwear gives you your money's worth. A little goes a very long way and it's buildable ( in case you have super under eye circles like me). This looks so natural without accentuating lines. Wears and looks amazing till you wash it off. Only CON: The pump dispenser is so wrong. because you need so little of this product you have to really work at attempting to dispense a tiny bit. SOOOO I have solved that problem by dispensing the product into my Maybelline Age Rewind tube. It took a while but now I can use it off of the wand. Geez MAC...get your packaging right. Still I highly recommend this concealer, it is wonderful

18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hawko on 9/10/2010 5:25:00 PM more reviews by Hawko

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This appeared in the pro store one week earlier than the regular Mac counters. I went to check it out, Cad$20 for 0.3 oz. the product is in a sealed pump container. This is the most pigmented product ever, with the same amount it has more coverage than RCMA, Graftobian & Cinema Secret, it has even more coverage than the Full Coverage !
I picked NC 35 for my end of summer skin (can't say enough gratitude for Mac's colouring scheme).
I mixed 3-4 parts of silicone primer with 1 part of this concealer, it works wonders as a foundation, this formula surpassed Armani's Skin fabric #3 which I also adored.
I went over the melasma undiluted, what's wonderful about the colour is that although its yellow based, it has a healthy warmth to it, as compared to Studio Fix NC range. It also gave the skin a healthy luminous appearance (when diluted as a foundation). The finish is satin-matte, no shimmer.
I can't comment on the lasting power as I never wear it than long nor as an undereye concealer.
I have reservation to give 5 lippies for a product, but this really deserved it.
The package could be better if it is in a squeeze tube with an eye-dropper tip; the pump may gave out more product than needed.

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bagpuss21 on 9/5/2010 1:07:00 PM more reviews by bagpuss21

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I got a sample of the mac pro Longwear Foundation and loved it...its amazing....(cant review it yet, not on database) so I thought i would go and check out the concealer...they dont do samples of the concealer but for 12.50 I thought i would take a chance based on how fab the foundation was....I was right to, its really nice to use. I am a NW20 and got this is the same shade...the concealer appears a little lighter than the foundation which was perfect for me. It covers very well and feel light. Only thing i aint too keen on is the dispenser on the bottle..Its a tiny pump and 1 pump gives you quite a bit of product...I might not actually "need" that amount so found myself wiping the excess onto tissue for the bin..waste.

EDIT ** I am now using a small Mac sample pot to squirt 1 pump of the concealer in...this way i can use what i need and save the rest..:)

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tricyclesinskirts on 1/28/2011 1:36:00 PM more reviews by tricyclesinskirts

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

not since the infamy of UDPP's ineffective doe foot applicator have i encountered a product with such frustrating packaging. i went as far as taking pliers to the neck of the bottle (which is glass,if you're curious) to see if there might be a way to disassemble the pump and just screw the top on and off, but there isn't. however, the main difference between my hatred of UDPP's idiot packaging and that of MAC's pro longwear concealer is that UDPP never performed well enough for me to get past my complaints, and MAC pro longwear does. it's buildable, it doesn't crease (even without laura mercier's brightening powder on top,) and the price is exceedingly reasonable at $16.50 for 0.30 oz. i also found it superior to previous MAC concealers i've purchased, even studio select, a product i've used for many years. regardless of the counter i go to, i'm always immediately matched to NW20, which i find comforting since bare minerals, chanel, and clarins SA's all seemed to struggle to find an exact shade match for my skintone.


i don't wear much foundation, but insomnia coupled with an addiction to makeup has left my bathroom cluttered with an embarrassing number of concealers. from high to the low, my search for an HG runs the gamut: revlon (light,) and l'oreal (fair/light,) sit happily alongside the much more expensive MUFE (115,) benefit (light,) and amazing cosmetics (ivory)...just to name a few brands (i own multiple concealers in most of those lines.) benefit was garbage (creases, shade range is pitiful), MUFE had an awesome shade range but was crazy expensive to fade as quickly as it did (and the HD pen sucked,) and l'oreal was just, meh. before MAC pro longwear, i'd resorted to a combining amazing for coverage, and revlon spa for brightening, with results that were overall mediocre. to be so $$$, amazing could really expand their shade range, and it's too easy to use too much product, causing it to crease. while i think revlon age defying spa is great for brightening, it isn't a true concealer.

in sum, it's a relief to only use one concealer, and i disagree with another reviewer that it set too quickly. i had ample time to blend it (i like a beauty blender or ecotools,) and i can't really imagine why you'd want to wait around for your concealer to set.

considering the amount of money i've put into concealing my dark circles, i can't justify taking a lippy off for product complaints when MAC pro longwear concealer has gone above and beyond my expectations. i just hope they get the message and change the packaging before i need to repurchase it, which i gave a big hell yeah to, cos this stuff is the ish.

UPDATE: i recently visited the MAC counter to get a sample container, and this is a great solution to the dispenser debacle. additionally, the pump has gotten a bit easier to use--i think that if there is less product in the container, it doesn't dispense quite as quickly. i still consider this my HG concealer, and even more shockingly, am using it on both my face and my undereyes, a feat i've never achieved with any other concealer!

FINAL UPDATE: I've noticed a few people complaining of the product settling into "fine lines", ironically, reviewers even younger than me, and I'm only 25? My suggestion is to first get thyself to a moistuirizer with an SPF of at least 15, use it daily! And then please use eye cream under this product, allow it to absorb properly, then proceed with fine line complaints. Next, MAC uses the makeup artist's color wheel for describing "cool" and "warm". So it isn't "wrong" or "backwards". Get your info straight.

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* paneradfisk on 4/15/2013 11:58:00 AM more reviews by paneradfisk

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

UPDATE 2014-04-12:
My skin has improved and I don't use concealer anymore, only my mineral foundation from Meow Cosmetics. If I happen to need a concealer, this would still be it. Still 5/5!

DESCRIPTION/GENERAL:
A lightweight fluid concealer that provides medium to full coverage with a comfortable, natural matte finish. Colour-true formula lasts up to 15 hours. Helps conceal and correct the look of under-eye circles, and discolorations. Comes in a clear glass vial with a matte black pump.


9 ml / 0.30 US fl oz
US$18.0


Oh, and I use this as a foundation instead of concealer, just so we're clear.
~


MY SKIN:
Now I am very pale with slight yellow undertones (BEHOLD, other brands, one must NOT be pink because they are pale!) I am about NC10, but that doesn't exist in MAC foundations, but NW10 does and it seems to work. A little uneven skin with small whiteheads on my cheeks sometimes, and some (just a little) discolouration and a little redness. I have also found a good match in MUFE Mat Velvet+ and Shiseido Radiant Lifting foundation in O00.


SHADES:
I am most certainly grateful for MAC's foundation shade range, though I can never find a match in their foundations, because I'm too pale. NC15 is usually two shades too dark for me, except MAC Studio Sculpt foundation which is just one shade too dark.


Their concealers on the other hand, I can usually find a match in the lightest shades. I have tried all their concealers (read bottom for comparison). This one I couldn't find a match in, because it dries significantly darker than in the bottle (it's already too dark in the bottle). I bought NC15 and mix it with Illamasqua Skin Base in White to get the right shade.


COVERAGE:
Full coverage but could be sheered down to medium.


FINISH:
Matte/natural, definitely not dead-matte.


LONGEVITY:
Lasts well over the promised 15 hours for me! Looks exactly the same when I put it on and when I wash it off. The longest I have worn this is 26 hours (horrible day) and it looked the same. Once I fell asleep with it on (shame on me) and it looked almost the same when I woke up.


PACKAGING:
I don't care about the packaging except I CAN'T GET ALL THE PRODUCT OUT! I have several "empty" bottles with plenty on the bottom that I CAN'T GET OUT! So frustrating.


CONCLUSION:
This is a staple of mine and I use it almost every day when I need to be awake for very long. I love how it evens out my skin texture and tone, doesn't accentuate flakes, bumps or anything, just smooths it out. I love how it lasts all day and covers everything I want it to cover. Great job MAC.
~
MAC CONCEALERS COMPARISON:
- MAC Select Cover-Up - sheer coverage, runny/watery liquid, ashy shades but pale enough for me. Creases, doesn't last. Comes in squeeze tube.
- MAC Studio Finish - full coverage, thick texture, the shades are great - pale enough for me. Looks cakey, lasts but looks awful after a while. Comes in pot.
- MAC Select Moisturecover - sheer to medium coverage, liquid (thicker than Cover-Up), shades I find too pink (both NC and NW), a little too dark for me. Creases incredibly, doesn't last at all. Comes in tube with wand.
- MAC Mineralize Concealer - light to medium coverage, liquid (same as Moisturecover), great shades and pale enough, lasts a little better than the others. Doesn't crease that bad. Comes in a tube with a brush-like wand.
- MAC Studio Sculpt Concealer - incredible full coverage, very thick and dry texture, the palest shades of all. Looks cakey and awful on me, but could be great on others. Came in a pot. (Discontinued)
- MAC Pro Longwear Concealer - full coverage, liquid but thicker than Moisturecover and Mineralize, shades too pink (in my opinion) and FAR too dark! Oxidizes. Lasts forever. Comes in bottle with pump.
~


P.S, I use NARS Loose Powder in Snow or Flesh to set this and Smashbox Photo Finish Primer to prime.

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Hevz555 on 9/12/2010 4:10:00 PM more reviews by Hevz555

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Hands down the best concealer I have ever used!! My undereye problem is bags. This conceals and brightens at the same time and makes them look 10x better. I keep catching myself in the mirror and thinking this is the best I have looked, ever! I use the pro longwear foundation too, flawless combination. I use my fingers to apply and blends easily.

This lasts all day, 10+ hours easily and still looks flawless! HG for sure.

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Concealers products