NARS • Pure Matte Lipstick in Tonkin • Lipstick

rated 4.6(25 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.92%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 mrsyogantoro on 4/7/2014 11:45:00 PM more reviews by mrsyogantoro

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Hello, Tonkin! I've been wanting to meet you since a year ago, but you are sold very expensively in Indonesia since we don't have NARS counter. Even for pre-order at the trusted online store, you are priced usd 35, DANG, you are originally sold for 'only' usd 26 at Sephora US. When a friend of mine was doing business trip to US, I asked her to buy me you. Yes, YOU! And I am telling you, I'm satisfied and love you from the very first application. I am sort of nude and beige lippies fans, but because my skin is medium-tan with neutral undetone, nude in my case is more on brownish MLBB color. MUFE Aqua Rouge in Chesnut is my all-time favorite, but this time I would prefer to try out NARS Pure Matte Lipstick because I am curious why are people so raving it.

This is bizzare, as all the MUA reviewers said that it's not cinnamon plum as described by NARS, but it is a PLUM on my lips, seriously. It's brownish plum, still MLBB shade, but successfully cover up the flaws of my lips. It's like MUFE Aqua Rouge Chesnut combined with MUFE Aqua Rouge Brown Beige which is a lot darker and plummier than the Chesnut. It looks dusty warm rose beige in the packaging, but trust me, it looks even better on lips! The color will suit any skintone.

In terms of longevity, the staying power is great, no smudging and leaves your lips looks uneven. It also doesn't transfer to the cup when I am drinking, it's purely matte. Pure matte finish that will likely accentuate the flakiness on lips, but I swear it's not drying like others. I love matte lipstick, and compare to MAC matte lipstick which easily smudge, or Bobbi Brown Creamy matte that feels way too mositurizing on lips, I prefer NARS! 4 lippies given because I don't like its sleek doff packaging that collects dust and my finger stain easily. For its expensive price tag, the lipstick is also too small that I can finish it in 2 months for daily use.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 angelina71 on 11/8/2013 6:12:00 PM more reviews by angelina71

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I'm NARS Gobi/Deauville with red hair and green eyes. I have pure matte in Amsterdam, and I like that formula - it is not that drying for matte and it lasts all day if needed. I was eyeing Tashkent, but very light color makes me look dead, and and ended up with Tonkin. I don't think it is too 90's. It looks very natural on my lips, and lasts all day. Not plum at all, spice yes, but I would describe Tonkin as 'spicy rose'. Not too dark, not too light, not too much of anything. MLBB. Goes well with smoky eye, and I love Tonkin with dewy look, because it does'n stand out too much. Tonkin needs a little bit of lipliner, I tried MAC Spice, but it is too dark and brown. I think NARS fall 2010 was one of the best collections ever. Expensive yes, very expensive at Sephora Stockholm.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 azzyb on 7/1/2013 5:36:00 AM more reviews by azzyb

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

My first NARS Pure Matte purchase was Carthage: since then I have fallen in love with the entire line. Tonkin is one I was unsure of adding to my collection but have been extremely satisfied with. About whether or not I would buy it again - a half used tube was in my suitcase which got lost with my luggage and I ran out and bought another one. Color is a bit darker than Montengo Bay (which is my perfect nude) and stays on for hours. The only truly pure matte lipstick that I've found, without any shine or gloss and satiny sheen. For reference: I am a 4.5 in Bobbi Brown's Liquid Foundation, with a Soft Sand on top.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 minatigerlily on 6/22/2013 12:01:00 PM more reviews by minatigerlily

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I am on my second tube of Tonkin now. It is a goto everyday lipstick for me. When at Sephora I knew I was looking for a matte nude lip color. Although I wouldn't describe this color as nude it is a nice shade on many skin tones (as my friends have tried it). Often with this color I add dimension by lining my lips in a darker color. Many people may not be a fan of this look, but my point is that it can be a versatile lip color depending on how you use it. Its staying power is amazing, and unlike other Pure Matte colors I have tried, this is very moisturizing considering how matte it is. I am always complimentent when I wear this color and have had people comment on how sophisticated this color, which is always nice. This is one color I like to always keep around.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sarahfeeni on 5/31/2013 9:29:00 PM more reviews by sarahfeeni

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

After loving Vesuvio and Amsterdam in the pure matte formula I was excited to try some colors that were more neutral. After reading reviews online for the other colors I settled on Tonkin and Montego Bay.

Sadly, I am not particularly over the moon about either of them. Tonkin pulls really, really brown on me and (like other reviewers have said) I get a real 90's "friends" vibe from this. I applied this lipstick in full natural light in my bedroom so I think I got a pretty accurate color. I do actually see how NARS described this as cinnamon plum as I do get a hint of mauve/plum but I feel it's pretty overpowered by the brown-pink. I do not see peach. Basically I see a more brown, more opaque Dolce Vita which is not necessarily a bad thing but I think for summer I didn't feel very excited about this color. And I much prefer dolce vita to this color.

If I keep this, it will definitely be something I stash away until the leaves start to change color and the sweaters come back out. :)

As for the formula, I do love the pure matte lipsticks. While I wouldn't call them super moisturizing, they definitely do not actively dry out my lips. I do need to put on balm after taking it off at the end of the day though.

I found it looked the best on me (NC-35-40, medium completion with yellow undertones) paired with BB blush in Pink Rose.. It seemed to pull more of the pink and rose from the ls and appear less brown. Definitely a sweet, romantic and naturalish look that will look great in the fall. Paired with Sin the plum colors were pulled out more. I didn't like this look as much.


All in all, a nice lipstick just not an HG or something that really made my heart go pitter patter. I am much more excited about NARS tolede and Tom Ford pink adobe for neutral rose lip colors.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* clamster on 9/15/2012 12:47:00 AM more reviews by clamster

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

For reference I am shade Barcelona in their Sheet Matte and Powder foundation. This color is so flattering, sort of looks like a MLBB. I imagine this shade would work with a lot of skin tones. This formula is amazing! I hate the feeling of anything on my lips but this is so light and breathable yet is very pigmented. I wish there was a larger color collection! Agree with all the other positive reviews and would purchase this again. It's expensive I am glad I gave into buying. A nice formula and Tonkin is a great color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* almighty_curv on 9/13/2012 7:43:00 PM more reviews by almighty_curv

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I have been looking for this lipsticks for years. I am an avid fan of Rimmel 1000 kisses in Wild Clover and have always wanted a lipstick duplicate. I feel this comes pretty close.

The colour is great if your fair but need a 'netural' lip. With dark hair I do need some colour otherwise I look revolting and this is the perfect pink brown mix. I pair this with Nars Penny Lane blush for a quick everyday look.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ctothesecond on 6/18/2012 3:11:00 AM more reviews by ctothesecond

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I absolutely adore this lipstick. I had been lusting after it in Sephora for a few months before my friend bought it for my for a birthday present. I've had it for almost a year, wearing it pretty often, and it's still doing pretty well. It is rather expensive, however, at almost 12 months of use, it comes out to about $2 a month for it. It is a perfect MLBB for myself. I would not call it a "cinnamon plum" as it does on their website, more of a neutral pink-brown. Definitely a must have in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Shourek on 3/25/2012 1:00:00 AM more reviews by Shourek

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

First, you need to know that although I am very picky when it comes to makeup, I absolutely adore this product! I have this lipstick in both Tonkin and Tashkent. I find lip gloss or anything shiny or sheer looks dreadful on me, and I have been on the hunt for a good matte lipstick that doesn't make your lips look dry, thin and unkissable...
Well I think I found it! And trust me, I tried many, many lipsticks including high end brands like Chanel, Armani, Dior,.. and also drugstore brands, and this is the only one that gives me this effect.
The Tonkin color turns into a mix of beige and spicy pink on me, and is slightly darker than my natural lip color (I have rather fair skin, Finland in NARS TM), and Tashkent is the perfect nude color.
I find they really define lips, and although the tube might look small, they last a loooonnngg time, unlike traditional lipsticks.
I will probably repurchase this. Might be an HG for me!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 diabia4 on 3/16/2012 10:08:00 PM more reviews by diabia4

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Love this lipstick.

PROS:
1. Rather hydrating (for a matte). I love a matte finish so much.
2. Excellent, natural color. It really works well with my skin tone. (MLBB).
3. Lasts 3-4 hours, (5 if I don't eat)

Cons:
1. Price.
2. Ingredients (while very good, are still not totally chemical-free, which is a pet peeve of mine)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Lipstick products