MAC • Burmese Beauty Quad • Eye Shadow

rated 4.5(14 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* amyers2 on 11/2/2011 10:15:00 PM more reviews by amyers2

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

What it is: MAC quad featuring Prized (a fair flesh toned shade), Burmese Beauty (duo chrome shade dirty teal on top and reddish brown underneath), Skintone 2 (true gold), Showstopper (dirty, dark brown).
- - -
Pros - each of these shades is easy to work with in terms of blendability, application, pigmentation, and staying true to color. Packaging is no nonsense and sturdy.
- - -
Cons - Although I like this palette and the shades are stunning I think that for the most part they are easy to be duped.
- - -
Over all - As mentioned the shadows are gorgeous and fairly easy to work with but none of these shades are particularly unique. Initially I picked this one up because how pretty Burmese Beauty is and I hadn't come across a shade like it before. Then I got home and realized Label Whore from Too Faced (which I had in a palette) is actually a more pigmented, truer version of Burmese Beauty. I still like the palette and it's still a good value but I would not re purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 amessss on 1/6/2011 12:14:00 PM more reviews by amessss

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I love this quad!! I have used it pretty much everyday since I bought it, which was in late October. The colors are super blendable and great for everyday looks

Prized: This is very close to my skintone, but does give a slight sheen when applied.

Skintone 2: This is the best gold shadow ever! It's a beautiful neutral gold, which is great, considering on my skintone yellow and bronze golds look awkward on me, and anything to green washes me out.

Burmese Beauty: This is my favorite eyeshadow of all time! I love that you can use it lightly for a warm brown color, or use it heavier to show off that gorgeous teal duochrome.

Showstopper: This is a really nice dark brown, that almost look plummy, which looks great with the gold color.

My favorite way to use this quad is use Burmese Beauty all over the lid, blend out the BB color with a soft brown in the crease, Skintone 2 in the inner corner and into the crease, Showstopper in the outer corner, and Prized on the highlight.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nolly9 on 10/12/2010 5:17:00 PM more reviews by nolly9

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i'm pretty new to mac eyeshadows and just eyeshadows in general. the colors in this are beautiful! i'm loving the gold color and burmese beauty, sooo gorgeous. the other 2 are just nice staples to have in your eyeshadow collection. really happy with my purchase :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lil_kismet on 10/10/2010 10:09:00 PM more reviews by lil_kismet

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I'm lovin' this palette for fall! All the shadows go gorgeously together. Prized makes for a great base colour and/or browbone highlight -- it has a very light sheen to it and somewhat similar to Shroom. Burmese Beauty is a warm toned brown with an interesting green sheen to it, although the texture of this shadow isn't the greatest. Skintone 2 is a perfect shade of frosty light gold. And Showstopper is a matte cool brown tone. What I love about this palette is that the colours are excellent for daytime wear (as the shadows are quite muted in pigmentation) but can easily be built upon for a sultry night time look. It's been my go-to palette since the day I purchased it! I highly recommend it especially for you neutral lovers.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Saraelyse on 9/26/2010 8:24:00 PM more reviews by Saraelyse

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

i usually would rather buy MACs quads than their single eye shadows, because you get 4 shadows for about the price of two. I feel that as long as i like 2 of the shadows, i can buy it and not regret it. It turns out that i actually really like all of the shadows in this quad because they are very wearable and semi-sheer. they are good for everyday looks but can also be built up to look quite intense. this is one of the only mac quads i have that i will use often, and use all of the colors.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rubytitania on 9/26/2010 5:28:00 PM more reviews by rubytitania

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Much more interesting that it looks at first glance - this is a lovely quad with many different options for looks. I have a couple of reasons for giving it 4 rather than 5:

- I think most of the colours are quite dupe-able, nothing really that unique.

- It's not the absolute easiest quad to work with. None of the shades are *bad* but it just takes a bit of time to get your look the way you want it.

However - if you put the time in to place and blend the shadows carefully then you can get some absolutely stunning results. I've had so many compliments whilst wearing this - people always comment on how well it brings out my green eyes. I'm very cool-toned with red hair and this quad suits me nicely --it's not too warm. I'll never use this up but if I did then I guess I'd probably buy it again.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* candystripelegs on 9/19/2010 3:32:00 PM more reviews by candystripelegs

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have not been a huge MAC fan for various reasons. One day I was walking through Macy's, stopping by each counter to look at new fall collections when I saw this quad. What really caught my eye was the GORGEOUS shade in the upper right hand corner called Burmese Beauty. It's a very pretty, shimmery brown-greenish grey duochrome, the picture doesn't do it justice and I can't accurately describe it. Very pigmented, perfect for less harsh smoky eye look.


The other colors include:


Prized (top left) a soft nude beige with a small amount shimmer. Perfect on my NC 20 ish skintone as a highlight!!



Skintone 2 (bottom left) I think this a gold shade basically anyone could wear. It's not too yellow or too warm/cool and it's not frosty either. Hopefully I can find another gold like this becuase it's very flattering on my eyes/skintone.



Showstopper (bottom right) a cool toned matte brown. Nothing exciting about it, I think a slightly warmer toned brown would have worked better with this quad. Nonetheless, it was easy to work with and had good color payoff.



I found that all shades blended nicely with no exessive fallout and lasted at least 6 hours without primer. This little quad changed my mind about MAC, and for $36 I think it's a great buy!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 StilaKat on 9/11/2010 7:21:00 AM more reviews by StilaKat

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm not at all surprised this quad is so popular - the colours are gorgeous and go really well together. Initially I was a bit sceptical about Skintone 2, but it makes my eyes look really 'wide awake'. I also like the Club dupe Burmese Beauty which I wear on the socket line. Showstopper makes a good eyeliner, and Prized looks great on the browbone. Of the two Feline quads I own (I've also got Palace Pedigreed), Burmese Beauty is my favourite. I might even buy a backup.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* careypiper on 9/10/2010 11:08:00 PM more reviews by careypiper

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

My first color story quad! I love wearing gold on my lid, so this quad was a no brainer for me. Skintone 2 is a lighter & froster gold then I normally wear, but it instantly brightens my eyes. Showstopper is a color I would normally wear in the crease and blend out out to a matte highlighter so Prized can take the frostyness to OTT for a day look (maybe tone it down with using WnW Brulee instead). Then the real gem of the foursome Burmese Beauty is the outer-v just pulls everything together with a nice brown green.


For Reference I'm a NW/NC 25 or Light-Medium with Neutral/Beige Undertone.


UPDATE (01/01/2011) MAC e/s don't work well with my skin's chemistry, so sadly I had to swap it away. I did however like that all four colors worked wonderful together, but are all dupeable. My favorite shade in the quad would be Burmese Beauty and Club is very close. Not worth a LE price increase since it now discontinued.


    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Karenloveseyeshadow on 9/10/2010 6:54:00 PM more reviews by Karenloveseyeshadow

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This quad is a wee gem. The colours are absolutely dupable (apart from maybe Skintone 2, which I find very unique and one of the best golden eye shadows ever made) but it is so very handy to have them all collected in a single quad. The different shades compliment each other very nicely so it's easy to combine them for different looks. The quality of the eye shadows is great, as is usually the case with MAC shadows. Would buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products