Urban Decay De-Slick Oil Control Makeup Setting Spray

3.4

299 reviews

56% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals
Urban Decay is a Cruelty-Free Subsidiary.

INGREDIENTS

Aqua (Water), SD-Alcohol 39-C(alcohol denat), Polyhydroxystearic Acid, Isononyl Isononanoate, Ethylhexyl Isononanoate, Sodium Cocamidopropyl PG-Dimonium Chloride Phosphate, PVP, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Methyl Diisopropyl Propionamide, Methyl Methacrylate Cross Polymer, Dimethicone PEG-7 Phosphate, Gluconolactone, Sodium Benzoate, PPG-3 Benzyl Ether Myristate, Glycereth-5 Lactate, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Fragrance.


on 8/30/2015 5:29:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is the first setting spray that I've ever tried and I'm sad to say it was really disappointing. While it did make my foundation last a little longer than usual, I dried out my face SO MUCH. By the end of the day, my foundation was flaking off. I would only recommend this if you have very very oily skin, otherwise it will just dry you out.



on 8/23/2015 8:58:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

After trying many products to stop foundation meltdown / breakup on my very oily skin I have to say this is one of the worst for me personally.

This spray made my face more oily and also brought out the oils quicker than normal! Not great for something that is meant to be a product made for oily skin.

I tried multiple different applications; before makeup, after makeup, both before and after, minimal sprays, lots of sprays, leaving to air dry, blotting with tissue and still with the same oily results...

I think this product is drying and therefore the skin thinks 'needs to produce more oil', whatever it is I want to avoid similar products like the plague.

This is not a cheap product so with such horrible results for me I was dissapointed and this has now been poured down the drain.

I found that e.l.f.'s makeup mist and set is better and at such a low price as well, failing that on the odd occasion where I really need makeup to last I use good old hairspray even though not recommended to use on the face often!


on 8/20/2015 5:34:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

My skin is suuuper oily and this spray helped me set my foundation and control oil for hours.. At the time I didn't use any powder.. just foundation and then this spray, so it held up pretty well in that case. With setting powder this product would probably help even more. I'm considering purchasing it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/12/2015 8:52:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

So I have tried UD All Nighter Spray and fell in love with that and when I went to Sephora to pick it up, shelf was empty :( One of the girls told me for my oily skin I should use this version as it would benefit me more and does the same thing as ANS, so I bought this. At first I didn't notice a difference in keeping my oily skin controlled (it's summer and humid so that's when I look like I'm sweating all the time..) so I tired a different approach with this spray. After I moisturize my face, I'll spray this all over (my new technique for this) wait until it dries, put my makeup on etc spray again let it dry and done. Using it this way works WAYYY better!! After a 11 hr shift I noticed a little pit of oil coming at my forehead but nothing else!!! It's going to use a lot of product yes but I found this was the only way it would work for me and my skin is extremely oily no matter what primer, moisturizer etc I have on. If I am going out for the night, I'll use this before my makeup then after my makeup I'll use the ANS and holy crap.. perfect combo :D I didn't always have to run to the rest room to blot my damn face and my makeup looked perfect!

Try my technique out if this didn't work for you, guarantee it will now.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I honestly wanted to love this setting spray because the first time I heard about it, it seemed like the perfect setting spray for my incredibly oil-slick of a face and the extreme humidity of the Philippines. Because I was so excited (and a bit hesitant) to get this product on my hands, I even had to beg my friend who was all the way from France to get this for me. Boy, my excitement was spoiled when I finally got to use it.

First of all, once you spray it on your face (I do shake the bottle before use), it looks like you literally sprayed your face with oil (very ironic for a product that is supposed to keep oil at bay). Even after waiting 10 minutes to let the spray set on my face, my face was incredibly oily I even have to blot my face after finishing my makeup with this. I notice when I use this setting spray I would have to blot and retouch every hour.

It did slightly help with the staying power of my makeup, because after ~7 hours of use my blush, bronzer and highlighter was still there in spite of my face getting oily. This setting spray did not ruin the makeup underneath; it kind of made it stay in place for a fair amount of time. The oiliness of my face still wins at the end of the day.

I prefer the All-Nighter setting spray any day of the week. I regret spending money on this (I am a broke college student) and definitely will not repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/30/2015 2:45:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

So, I have been saving up for the deslick setting spray since I have an oily face and I have seen a lot of good reviews about this and finally I have bought one! I use this spray after putting on my primer and after I'm done with my make up. Using this spray is really light on my face and the make-up really stays all day! I don't feel oily at all, though whenever I looked at the mirror I still have this oily face on my T-zone, but still, its manageable! I just add a few powder in it. I'm saving up for these holy grail again if I ran out already! Worth buying for me! :)


on 7/26/2015 12:15:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Having very oily I had high hopes for this unfortunately it failed.
It did not help in any way and I really did not care for the way it made my makeup look or how it felt on my skin.
I purchased two separate times hoping it would work.
In the end it was a fail. For the price I am very disappointed.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This works great to Control oily skin...for a bit...I think that it could have a bit more staying power...if they could combine UD All Nighter AND UD De-slick...whoa..that would be cool!...
It does help my makeup stay on longer and it keeps my oil from breaking through so quickly and breaking down the makeup on my face...still...I think it does cost a bit and an extremely good dupe is L'Oréal Infallible makeup extender setting spray. I think that they work the same and extend makeup for the same amount of period... I have been comparing both of these sprays and watching how they perform daily and I think in the future, I will probably have both on hand and rotate use. Lol--I might even mix a small amount and see what happens in the small sample spray bottle that I first received from Sephora when I purchased some stuff.
All in all--excellent setting spray but do see if you can try L'Oréal first and compare results on your own as well :-)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/17/2015 8:40:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Controls most of the oil but still leaves me shiny. Dry, but shiny like it doesnt blur the light. 4 stars for making my makeup stay on even through a nap with my face rubbing the pillow, face still looked good. The shine can be blurred with face powder


on 7/12/2015 7:58:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I just ran out and I'm dying to get my hands on another bottle! I did some heavy research before purchasing this product, as I thought there was absolutely no cure for how shiny my skin gets. I am extremely oily and it doesn't help that I live in the disgustingly humid Central Florida. Although I do work inside, my makeup is normally melting off (due to all the oil my face produces) before my shift ends. Not cute. I use this in conjunction with mac refined zone treatment which mattifys my t zone and mac matchmaster foundation, which is a pretty matte foundation. So using the trio of mac refined zone treatment, matchmaster AND deslick, it keeps my oil at bay! I wanted to see if I could go without the spray and I definitely can't. Go buy yourself the trial size wherever you shop (ulta/sephora,etc) and try it out!!! :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Popular Primer/ Correctors


Video Reviews & Tutorials

How to get rid of OILY skin. by Anna Boroshok



Top Rated Urban Decay Products

image

Toasted

143 reviews
image

Vice 2

44 reviews
image

Sin

331 reviews
image

Half Baked

197 reviews
Back to Top