Yves Saint Laurent Opium

3.8

279 reviews

62% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 12/3/2014 1:19:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a very good perfume. The only thing I dont like is that its weak for me. This review is for the edt. I don't understand people trashing it in other reviews, its very well made, subtle, coherent scent. The spices are very suave and it smells like good expensive incense.
I wish I had the vintage fragrance, but this review is about the new formulation. If it was a lot stronger it would be much nicer.
It's very original, comforting and elegant perfume.
It doesnt hurt that the bottle is beautiful either.



on 11/26/2014 11:46:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This smells like a bad Bijan Cologne that my uncle used to wear back in the day (let’s hope that his taste have changed since then). When it comes to the fragrances that I wear, I prefer something light and this is definitely not it. I will not purchase.


on 11/1/2014 3:59:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

definitely buy again I want the bigger bottle everyone knows iv got this perfume on when I put it on lasts all day love it love it love it


on 10/27/2014 3:56:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love the packaging. While I am not a fan of strng heady perfumes for some reason I like this fragrance. It envelopes you in such a beautiful way. I find yo must have a light touch with this fragrance or it might be overbearing to those around you.


on 10/11/2014 11:49:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Opium by Yves Saint Laurent is not a sweet, rich contemporary oriental a la Serge Lutens. It opens with a heavy dose of aldehydes, sweet florals—ylang ylang and jasmine—and a touch of citrus. The sweet floral/aldehyde combination, also found in Chanel No. 5, is just enough to add a “perfume-y” touch. Next, myrrh, resins, and spices add warmth that balances the cold opening. I love how earthy patchouli is offset by soapy florals; Opium smells very “70s”, but I think that one or two sprays after a shower could produce an elegant and freshly scrubbed effect. Four or five sprays could be a little bingo hall. Also, men really need to try Opium.

Retro, unisex, perfume-y, elegant

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/10/2014 10:29:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Silver, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is my mums holy grail perfume, it's just like, her scent. I think this perfume is soooo gorgeous and it smells classy. Gorgeous warm scent. I like to use it when I go out :-) the packaging is really nice too! I do like a pretty perfume bottle. I want to purchase black opium, purely because the packaging is so pretty - I'm terrible!! But really, if you like long lasting perfume that will get lots of people saying you smell good you need to invest in this! It's just an absolute timeless classic.


on 6/12/2014 8:35:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

love this fragrance, really strong deep and sensual sent that really lasts! find myself coming back to this time and time again. love

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/9/2014 3:32:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Loved the original from the 80's, haven't smelled the newer versions. I will check them out. Even though most of the 80's perfumes were heavy, they remind me of such a good period of my life :)

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 1/25/2014 7:05:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Funny how something can smell soooo wonderful on someone else and not on you...that would be Opium for me.I have stopped 3 women who are wearing this because it smells so good..finally sprayed some last time at Saks...within one hour a migraine. Too bad too because it is lovely...I'll stick with Dior Addict.


on 1/11/2014 1:56:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have never tried the legendary vintage version of YSL's Opium, but my love for the current version makes me curious. This designer classic is a sophisticated oriental that lingers around the wearer. One of my top fragrances if all time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
1351 Reviews
Light Blue
1406 Reviews
Pink Sugar
1875 Reviews
Chloe (EDP)
335 Reviews
Back to Top