Yves Saint Laurent • Opium • Fragrances

rated 3.8(275 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gmstrack on 10/11/2014 11:49:00 AM more reviews by gmstrack

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Opium by Yves Saint Laurent is not a sweet, rich contemporary oriental a la Serge Lutens. It opens with a heavy dose of aldehydes, sweet florals—ylang ylang and jasmine—and a touch of citrus. The sweet floral/aldehyde combination, also found in Chanel No. 5, is just enough to add a “perfume-y” touch. Next, myrrh, resins, and spices add warmth that balances the cold opening. I love how earthy patchouli is offset by soapy florals; Opium smells very “70s”, but I think that one or two sprays after a shower could produce an elegant and freshly scrubbed effect. Four or five sprays could be a little bingo hall. Also, men really need to try Opium.

Retro, unisex, perfume-y, elegant

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 maevespeed on 10/10/2014 10:29:00 AM more reviews by maevespeed

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Silver   Eyes: Blue    

This is my mums holy grail perfume, it's just like, her scent. I think this perfume is soooo gorgeous and it smells classy. Gorgeous warm scent. I like to use it when I go out :-) the packaging is really nice too! I do like a pretty perfume bottle. I want to purchase black opium, purely because the packaging is so pretty - I'm terrible!! But really, if you like long lasting perfume that will get lots of people saying you smell good you need to invest in this! It's just an absolute timeless classic.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kbono23 on 6/12/2014 8:35:00 PM more reviews by kbono23

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

love this fragrance, really strong deep and sensual sent that really lasts! find myself coming back to this time and time again. love

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jeane519 on 4/9/2014 3:32:00 PM more reviews by jeane519

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

Loved the original from the 80's, haven't smelled the newer versions. I will check them out. Even though most of the 80's perfumes were heavy, they remind me of such a good period of my life :)

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ninanina on 1/25/2014 7:05:00 AM more reviews by ninanina

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Funny how something can smell soooo wonderful on someone else and not on you...that would be Opium for me.I have stopped 3 women who are wearing this because it smells so good..finally sprayed some last time at Saks...within one hour a migraine. Too bad too because it is lovely...I'll stick with Dior Addict.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ncashen on 1/11/2014 1:56:00 PM more reviews by ncashen

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have never tried the legendary vintage version of YSL's Opium, but my love for the current version makes me curious. This designer classic is a sophisticated oriental that lingers around the wearer. One of my top fragrances if all time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 FelisCatus on 1/7/2014 8:49:00 AM more reviews by FelisCatus

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

Too strong for me.I love sweet and light scents and this is definitely not one of them.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 prettygeeky on 1/5/2014 3:34:00 PM more reviews by prettygeeky

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Dark. Sensual. Serious. So glad that I found this, it suits me perfectly. HG!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* UrbanObsession on 12/6/2013 10:11:00 AM more reviews by UrbanObsession

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This isn't a fragrance for the faint of heart! One spritz of Opium surrounds its wearer with musky woods and sharp orientals that dry down to a sensual cinnamon-amber(the best part). It's intoxicating and invites compliments, I've never had so many people ask me, "what are you wearing?" Or they tell me I smell good! Wears close to the skin and lasts all day! 12 hours later, I can smell it on my scarf :) Because of all the positive feedback and sex appeal I feel while wearing Opium, this has quickly become my signature HG scent.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sillage on 11/5/2013 10:45:00 AM more reviews by sillage

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was never an Opium fan -- mostly because of its absence of prominent vanilla. I love orientals, but mostly just the ones with a noticeable warm vanilla note (like Dior Addict, Dior Hypnotic Poison, Must de Cartier, or Givenchy Organza Indecence, for example).

Opium was all woods & spice, and I thought it was too tough & stern, sort of, not softly sensuous enough. My sister wore Opium a lot when it first launched, and when she'd walk past me with it on, I never really loved it (what I loved on my sister was Jovan Musk for Women spray, the 70's version).

And THEN ... about 10 years ago, or more ... I was walking through the center of the perfume department at Dillard. And a whiff hit me -- and I literally stopped dead in my tracks -- sniffed some more -- and backed up. And stood there sniffing & trying to guess what it was. Mmmmmm!

What hit my nose was soft & warm & musky -- just that -- a soft warm delicious musk -- and I thought it was *awesome*! Then, after I backed up and was standing there sniffing and trying to figure it out myself -- yes, it was soft, warm, & musky -- but it also seemed to have a bit of fruit to it -- it was a little bit delicious, with the fruit note, as well as being warmly musky.

Then I asked the sales associates, "What am I smelling that smells so GOOD?" And this very young 22-ish sales associate said she had just sprayed the tester of Opium EDT (in tall clear oval-shaped bottle with russet cap) all up and down her clothing, and that must be what I was smelling.

Opium EDT? Well, I was shocked. It wasn't uber-spicy or woody -- it just gave off a soft light warm musk, for the most part -- and it worked very nicely on that young girl, even though it hadn't touched her skin, just her clothing. That wonderful whiff gave me a whole new impression of Opium, since I'm a huge fan of warm musky scents.

Opium launched in 1977, and here are the notes, per parfumo.net

Top Notes: Bergamot, Clove, Jasmine, Coriander, Laurel, Mandarin, Pepper, Plum, Citruses
Heart Notes: Orris root, Lily-of-the-valley, Carnation, Patchouli, Peach, Rose, Sandalwood, Cinnamon
Base Notes: Amber, Benzoin, Coconut, Musk, Myrrh, Opoponax, Sandalwood, Tolu balsam, Vanilla, Vetiver, Frankincense, Cedar, Cistus

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Yves Saint Laurent products

More Fragrances products