Sally Hansen • No Chip • Top/Base Coats

rated 2.3(115 reviews)

Average Rating.2.3
Would buy this product again.32%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 Br15hty on 1/4/2015 3:15:00 AM more reviews by Br15hty

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

This is about $5 on Amazon so I decided to give it a shot. Well, here's what it does:
You put it on and you love it because it's so shiny and makes your nails look fake- in a good way!
But within an hour you'll start to see tiny bubbles. And they get bigger and more will surface.
It takes quite long to dry but I'm totally fine with that. For a couple hours, I won't do much with my hands so I can't really comment on smudging.
The worst thing that happens is on the day after. You'll see chips and scratches and your manicure will start falling off on the third- if not second- day!
So this top coat is terrible and I plan on trying the Seche Vite one and maybe the Deborah Lippmann one too.
And yes, I did wear a base coat and waited a long time to let each of the three layers of OPI's Samoan Sand to dry before applying this top coat.
However, I must say that this does not smudge my nail art. But that must be due to the fact that I barely touch my nails with the brush when applying it. And I apply a medium-ish layer of top coat. I've used it countless times and it's always the same- bubbles, scratches and chips.
Bottom line is, I really, really dislike this topcoat and would not recommend it to anyone. I'd go as far as to say that you're better off not wearing top coat at all if this is the one you're planing to wear.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Bolesie75 on 12/8/2014 6:15:00 PM more reviews by Bolesie75

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Every time I do a manicure and use this topcoat, the polish chips within a day. Not only that, but I get a noticeable shrinkage along my cuticles and a weird crackling across my nails.

Bottom line: skip this topcoat.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 vitaminas2u on 12/4/2014 4:11:00 PM more reviews by vitaminas2u

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

it chipped faster than nail polish, do not recommend buying it

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 kaseytang on 11/22/2014 11:46:00 AM more reviews by kaseytang

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

DON'T GET THIS TOP COAT!!!!!!! EVER! It doesn't work and it chips your polish instead of sealing it. This product doesn't worth the $$. Hate it and never getting it again. I used it twice and it didn't give out any effects at all. I'm using it as a base now (still got loads to waste). ://

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 PrettyBrownEyes2 on 10/25/2014 12:19:00 AM more reviews by PrettyBrownEyes2

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is awful! I am prone to chipped polish immediately with this product. It should be called Get Chip. This is ridiculous. Their Mega Shine top coat is much better.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 cedward on 10/4/2014 11:56:00 AM more reviews by cedward

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Chipped badly within less than 12 hours. Huge chips started forming from the center of my nails. I'm glad this was a gift and not a purchase. Terrible product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 aperfectsonnet on 10/3/2014 5:35:00 PM more reviews by aperfectsonnet

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Went right into the trash. Made my nail polish dry out and crack, and chipped by the second day. Spent the extra on the Salon Manicure top coat, which I should have done from the start.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 olivialovejoy on 9/28/2014 10:33:00 PM more reviews by olivialovejoy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is just ridiculous. One hour after painting, my nails are chipped and cracked. Looks 2-3 days old. No chip? Yeah right. Worst thing ever. I prefer Sally Hansen's Double Duty - at least gives you a few good days. Do not waste your money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 limelipgloss on 9/22/2014 9:27:00 PM more reviews by limelipgloss

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this without checking reviews first, used it the same day, enjoyed the shine and fact that it did dry quickly, but hours later noticed the weird cracks and "shattered" effect. I checked reviews here and sure enough, same thing seems to happen to everyone!

Sucky but I'm glad I'm not having a unique bad experience with this stuff! I want to return it, it is horrible!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Twisty18 on 8/11/2014 2:30:00 AM more reviews by Twisty18

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I wanted to love this. I mean, Pinterest told me I would. All I had to do was sandwich it with my nail color of choice and Sally Hansen Hard As Wraps Powerful Acrylic Gel. Tried the whole Pinterest tip and the finished product was great. The problems occurred after the top coat had time to completely and truly dry. Like others mentioned the top coat starts to shatter and chips, giving your nails that "days old" nails look. NOT pretty. I even tried the top coat by itself on multiple nail colors with identical outcomes. Hard As Wraps Powerful Acrylic Gel works better on its own. Don't waste your money...look elsewhere, and when you find a good top coat do share with me. :D

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Sally Hansen products

More Top/Base Coats products