Farouk CHI • 44 Iron Guard • Hair

rated 3.1(30 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.36%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 LyricNicole1125 on 5/27/2014 7:52:00 PM more reviews by LyricNicole1125

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

This is the only heat protecting spray I'll use when I'm styling dry hair. Most heat protecting sprays leave your hair feeling heavy, and you have to wait a little bit for them to dry. This one is different! You can spray and immediately start straightening or curling your hair. I've repurchased this a bunch of times, and I plan to continue.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 amk1095 on 1/15/2014 2:03:00 PM more reviews by amk1095

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I was highly disappointed with this product, it leaves my hair more dry and brittle than it would be without using any product. It also makes my hair feel very sticky like a strong hole hairspray and the smell is not great either.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* makeupjunkie11786 on 10/31/2013 7:37:00 AM more reviews by makeupjunkie11786

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this at TJ Maxx for 10 bucks and would hate to pay anymore than that for a product Like this. I'm not one for bashing a product just because I didn't personally like it or because it didn't work for my hair type I like to give things a chance before doing so. But here is my verdict for this spray: At first I liked it and loved the smell but the more I used it and read the ingredients the more i started. Shying away from it. My hair is dense but thin so despite using a light enough amount it seemed to weigh my hair down and I recently bleached and put pink panels in my hair and noticed it fading out more every time. I am aware that heat can cause this but I definitely don't crank up the heat setting on my flat iron. I saw that sodium is one of the top ingredients in this spray so I wouldn't doubt that's the reason why it aided in fading my color and why everyone keeps complaining about the stiffness and dryness. Overall, if you have fine or really chemically processed hair I wouldn't recommend this. But if you have hair on the thicker side maybe it wouldn't be so bad..I passed it down to my sister in law who has really thick and long hair and she seems to like it just fine so Its just a matter of your hair type I suppose...Hence the 3 lippies

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 boribabe on 8/9/2013 2:00:00 PM more reviews by boribabe

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I wanted to like this spray but it dried out my hair :(. It's sticky too.

On the flip side, my friend uses it daily to straighten her hair and her hair is beautiful and shiny. It just doesn't work for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* italiana800 on 6/18/2013 10:39:00 PM more reviews by italiana800

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This product is too sticky & leaves my hair with a sticky film/residue. It feels more like a hairspray rather than a heat protectant. This also left my hair dull & feeling crispy. This makes my hair look & feel worse than before using this. I would not buy this again, nor would I reccommend buying this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 xkianax on 6/18/2013 10:15:00 PM more reviews by xkianax

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

This was the first ever heat protectant I bought when I realized I was giving my hair zero protection.

I bought the sample size at ulta first and I'm glad I did. It smells really nice. the packaging is good too, but I found that sometimes pressing it was difficult and it would lock or something.

As for protection, I guess it works. But it gave my hair just a hint of greasy. And the texture of the actual spray is kind of sticky.

I bought a drugstore brand John Frieda after, and I love it! It's alot cheaper too.

Honestly, there's no difference between Chi and drugstore products.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 clarissa90 on 1/7/2013 10:25:00 PM more reviews by clarissa90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I believe this product is overpriced and not as easy to find as many other competitors. This also did not outperform similar products that I have tried, I believe you are just paying for the brand. I will not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kellyyxo on 12/30/2012 3:29:00 AM more reviews by kellyyxo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

i like this product, does not leave any sticky residue that other heat protectants leave behind sometimes. *IMPORTANT* to note that just because you use this product does not mean your hair is invincible from all damage. I have seriously fried my hair from using excess heat on it even though i thoroughly & generously apply this product every time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sassyBrunette on 11/28/2012 11:18:00 AM more reviews by sassyBrunette

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is amazing. I really do not understand the negative reviews? Then again, I don't straighten my hair, ever. I only use a curling wand for loose curls or waves. This works excellently for me. It makes my waves soft after using the iron and I do believe it is protecting me hair well. It doesn't weigh my waves or curls down, it keeps them staying in place all day long. Hair is NOT crunchy or hard at all !! You do not need to spray a lot... And that's why I gave it 4 stars- it only happened once, but when I sprayed too much (4 sprays) on a certain section of my hair, then one piece came of crunchy looking. Here is the way to prevent that even if you use think you sprayed too much(works for me): you brush through the sections you spray to evenly distribute the product in your hair with a BRUSH. I use a boar bristle brush anytime i use this to distribute it throughout my hair then I use my curling wand :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kimberlyann on 11/28/2012 12:52:00 AM more reviews by kimberlyann

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this at Marshalls so I only paid $9.99 for this. I just bought it because I've never tried CHI products.
----------------------------------------
This spray DEFINITELY makes a difference when I'm flat ironing my hair: it helps my hair to straighten easier and STAY straight, it smoothes out my hair, I have noticed a MAJOR decrease in split ends and it smells fantastic!
----------------------------------------
My only complaint would be that if it gets on anything around you--your skin, hot tools, countertops, etc.--it dries sticky and gunky and you wont notice it until later and it's a pain to clean.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Farouk CHI products

More Hair products