Ren • ClearCalm Anti-Blemish Clay Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 3.8(40 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 xanna on 4/2/2014 9:38:00 PM more reviews by xanna

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Ok, so I feel slightly disingenuous giving a five lippie review to a product that doesn't perform its advertised job very well. If you wear makeup, this is not a great (or even good) cleanser. I'd only recommend using this as a cleanser if you're not wearing makeup (I use it in the morning).

Where this product really shines is when used as a treatment or mask. It really calms down acne inflammation and general redness. After just five minutes, my skin looks noticeably more even, clean, calm, and if any cysts are present, they actually feel slightly less painful. These results improve the longer I leave it on (sometimes up to 30 minutes, or longer as a spot treatment). It's extremely gentle and has never caused the dryness or tightness that I often experience from other clay based masks. Nothing else visibly calms my skin down so quickly (including the widely praised aspirin mask). I have repurchased this three times now and although it has not cured my adult acne (which is hormonal anyway) it has been very helpful in making things more manageable.

Bottom line: I really feel that REN's product development team did this product a disservice by choosing to market it as a cleanser. They should really make it just slightly thicker and rebrand it as a mask so customers are not so disappointed when they spend $30 on a cleanser that doesn't take off their makeup.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Clarabella3982 on 3/18/2014 12:02:00 PM more reviews by Clarabella3982

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I got this cleanser about 3 months ago and have just finished it. I really wanted to like it as it didn't strip my skin dry but I think I will pass on the next bottle. The packaging is a bit lousy in a way that there is some more of it left in the bottle but you just can't pump it out no matter what and I just couldn't open up the bottle....so that's a big waste of money. I felt that it initially was ok and although there was some oily residue left on the face which could be removed with lots of warm water, it gradually started to break out my skin with cystic spots after using it for about 1-2 months. I think Ren needs to tweak the ingredients for this cleanser to make it work.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alison_k on 3/7/2014 9:47:00 AM more reviews by alison_k

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This thick cleanser felt very creamy but that's the only good thing I have to say about it. I have never used a cleanser like this before as I normally prefer a foaming cleanser. My skin is very dry on my cheeks and undereye area but very oily and prone to breakouts on my chin and nose. I don't like the way that this cleanser has to be massaged into the skin for a couple of minutes, I much prefer a quicker process.

My skin did not feel stripped afterwards but it also didn't feel completely clean as there was some sort of film left on my skin. I do wear long-lasting foundation and this cleanser did not remove it. After cleansing and rinsing, when I dry my face on a towel I ended up with it covered in residual makeup so I can tell that it doesn't clean my face properly. I have had a couple of minor breakouts in the week that I have been using this, probably caused my the cleanser not removing 100% of my makeup.

I only have a sample size of this which I will use up, but I definitely will not purchase a full size.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Annalogy on 1/18/2014 3:44:00 AM more reviews by Annalogy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Okay, this is a second product I saw off of Caroline Hirons' blog, the first was the Clinique Take the Day Off Cleansing Balm and it was horrible. I love the sound of this product, the idea of this product, but something in the ingredients is highly irritating to my skin. After my skincare disaster with the cleansing balm I decided to try this, still looking for something that wouldn't strip my skin, which is combination and at the time was dehydrated. I love Ren as a company and their more natural ingredients, however, again, this just didn't work. I broke out into many cystic pimples along my eyebrow and chin area, which wasn't too fun since the previous cleanser I tested did the same thing. This cleared out my blackheads, but then caused massive irritations and dehydration. It definitely isn't the clay, but I am almost positive it's the oils in this cleanser. It has lavender oil which can be irritating, as can many of its ingredients actually, and my skin is sensitive when it comes to essential oils and plant extracts. It's also dehydrating, to me anyway, rather than hydrating and balancing. Just be heads up if you know you're sensitive to these kinds of ingredients. It also caused itching on my face. Again, I like the idea but not the product. The packaging is smart, the smell isn't so great but is workable, it's just the product and what it caused that isn't worth buying unless you ask for a sample first from Sephora.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Poli93 on 1/11/2014 2:59:00 AM more reviews by Poli93

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I really like this cleanser. I have oily combination skin, but it's quite dehydrated and I have large pores so anything too harsh makes my skin a dull mess.
This cleanser is gently and leaves skin super soft and bright, and the clay does a nice job cleaning away all the guck from my skin without stripping it (use it in the morning and in the evening after my Clinique Take The Day Off balm to double cleanse). I don't find it drying, but I wouldn't advise using spot treatment creams after using this because it might be too much for dryer skins.
Overall, very good cleanser, not too expensive for £18. Lasts ages. I'm running out and can't wait to go buy a new tub

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lovelymallie on 12/21/2013 11:39:00 AM more reviews by lovelymallie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I just ran out if this cleanser, and I was kind of sad about it. I didn't repurchase it, but I'll explain later.

Starting off I love the packagain and design. Easy to pump out the amount you want.
The smell is special. Some people might hate it (my sister does), but it doesn't bother me. Remember that it's fregrance free!

It has a creamy consistensy, but that doesn't mean it doesn't cleanses.
When I first tried it, my skin cleared up so good! It lasted me 2 month, but the last month/weeks my skin started to break out again. Maybe my skin was getting used to it?

That's why I didn't repurchased it, but I'm sure I will buy again, cause it did wonders! I would say, try it if you have acne or just a few blemishes.

ps. good for sensitive skin. (my skin is extremely sensitive and I had no reaction)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* EIGNA on 12/5/2013 8:58:00 PM more reviews by EIGNA

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I bought into the youtube/blog hype over this cleanser. I used it about once a day following my cleansing oil for the past two months and I can say that it is completely overrated. Now don't get me wrong, it's not horrible. It didn't break me out nor cause any irritation. but it didn't really improve the overall appearance or texture of my skin. I can't even comment on how well it cleansed the skin as my cleansing oil did the bulk of the work. On the plus side, it smelled nice, rinsed okay, and left my skin neither tight nor oily. It also is cruelty-free, paraben-free, and easily accessible (I purchased mine from Sephora). However, nothing really "wowed" me about it, which considering the price is a bit of a let down. It also usually takes me about 4 months to go through a facial cleanser and this one only lasted me two months, and I was only using this half-time (I prefer a foaming cleanser in the shower). It's certainly not the worst cleanser that I've ever used, but I won't repurchase this one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 margiela on 12/5/2013 7:45:00 AM more reviews by margiela

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I first bought this product a few years ago. It worked like magic, my skin got better and it even helped my then boyfriend. I was on the pills then, so my skin was behaving differently. I had a few spots here and there, but nothing drastic. I got off the pill about 7 months ago and my skin got worse. At the age 24 I have acne and red skin. So I thought of this product again, thinking it will probably do it's magic again. Nope. My skin got so much worse. What were before blemishes and red skin, are now hard bumps that hurt (mostly on my jaw area) my skin looks like it got infected. One morning I woke up and washed my face and almost started to cry because it caused me pain when I touched it. My whole cheek area was swollen, full of pus. I don't know what happend but I positive this product caused it. When I stoped using it, my skin got better. Everytime I used it, I woke up with hard bumps on my face. I angy that I even bought this in the first place cause it was so expensive (28€). Never again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cathykl on 11/2/2013 3:44:00 PM more reviews by cathykl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Whoever thought of this cleanser must not know anything about skin. . seriously. Always check ingredients. For some reason I used this randomly and didn't check that day before opening up the bottle. Maybe it was the lack of coffee and the fact it was so early in the morning.

The 2nd ingredient is kaolin, a type of absorbent clay. Clay doesn't "cleanse" your skin though. Would you put on your clay face mask over your face full of make up and expect it to come off? No. Clay is just great for absorbing oil. You would cleanse your skin first then apply a clay mask to do just that. This cleanser then lists pore-clogging triglycerides 3rd. Then some oils (which I don't mind oil in general). It doesn't even rinse well when used on clean skin with a warm face cloth. When my cousin used this, after 4 weeks she developed a lot of rashes and deep bumpy acne on her face and all away around her neck. I imagine this is from using this cleanser alone which can't properly remove sunscreen. She took it back to Sephora. Needless to say I won't continue using this. I don't want to ruin my skin.

I got a bottle of this from my friend as part of a set of skincare. If I was in the store and had read the ingredients this would not be anywhere near my home. Do yourself a favor and get a proper cleanser that won't irritate your skin to shreds. Especially for the price. The dermatologist I work with also said that Lavender oil should not be used or left on facial skin. This promptly went sailing into the nearest garbage can. Sorry Ren you need to sort your stuff out!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Kenna84 on 10/27/2013 4:13:00 PM more reviews by Kenna84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I wanted to love this product, I used it over a 6 or 7 month period of time and went through 3 bottles. It just didn't do what I needed it to do.

In theory, this would be perfect as a morning cleanser, used in conjunction with a different cleanser at night that removes makeup. I really liked the natural ingredients and the sales associate who helped me select this product made great points about how we need to disinfect the skin so that bacteria isn't present to clog the pores.

It just did not work for me. I did not notice any improvement in the amount of cystic acne I was experiencing, and just slightly, it seemed like my blackheads were becoming a bigger issue.

This cleanser by no means caused my breakouts but it did nothing to reduce them.

This cleanser is very soothing and would be great for someone who has normal/non-oily skin and no breakouts.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Ren products

More Cleansers products