Ren ClearCalm Anti-Blemish Clay Cleanser

3.7

43 reviews

62% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Anthemis Nobilis (Chamomile) Flower Water, Kaolin, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Cetearyl Alcohol, Sesamum Indicum (Sesame) Seed Oil, Cetearyl Glucoside, Glycerin, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Salix Nigra (Willow) Bark Extract, Benzyl Alcohol, Oryzanol, Salvia Officinalis (Sage) Oil, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Leptospermum Scoparium Oil, Anthemis Nobilis (Chamomile) Flower Oil, Linalool, Limonene, Zinc Gluconate, Bisabolol, Calendula Officinalis Flower Extract, Dehydroacetic Acid, Crataegus Oxyacantha Stem Extract, Glucose, Xanthan Gum, Lactic Acid, Tocopherol. 2/12/11


on 2/24/2015 1:22:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

When I first started using this product I thought it was okay, not the best I could have done for my skin. I then bought a second tube for this because i needed one right away and didn't know what else to get. I have mild hormonal acne. I find that this cleanser does nothing for my skin. Almost a year of using this, and I see no change in my skin. I will be purchasing another cleanser from Lush probably for sure. This product also leaves my skin feeling very dry and flaky.
As for the packaging, I do not like it at all. When you can't pump out anymore, I still see a lot of product left. I would love it if they could change the packaging and have you be able to open it, and get out all the product that's left.
Overall, I did not like this product and will 100% not be repurchasing this.



on 2/7/2015 5:39:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have been using this cleanser for a year now. I picked it up during a time my skin was too oily (broke out from an Estee Lauder face powder I used) and this product was a saviour, it balanced it up straight away. It is ideal for my combination skin as it clears off all traces of make without drying it out. In fact after I use this my skin feels very refreshed, smooth and soft and has an amazing glow. It is not the cheapest cleanser out there but the results are well worth the price tag.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/18/2014 9:54:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I'm just not sure about this product, I didn't initially love it or hate it but I wouldn't recommend anyone to rush out and by it.
I was expecting more because I had seen a lot of good reviews but when I used it I didn't see much of a difference. I think that I need to keep using it and over time my skin will be nice and clear but Iv definitely used products that I have seen much quicker results with. My HG's are Elemis Pro Radiance Cream Cleanser and Liz Earle Cleanse and polish, I know that they are totally different to this product because they are both creamy cleansers but they do seem to deliver better results in clearing up blemishes and they also leave the skin more fresh and bright. An other thing with this cleanser is that I don't feel like its very good at removing make-up or that it is even made for this purpose, so I haven't been using it much, what I think I will do is use it with an other cleanser first and then this after as a double cleanse and see. I will write back again with an update!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/2/2014 9:38:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Ok, so I feel slightly disingenuous giving a five lippie review to a product that doesn't perform its advertised job very well. If you wear makeup, this is not a great (or even good) cleanser. I'd only recommend using this as a cleanser if you're not wearing makeup (I use it in the morning).

Where this product really shines is when used as a treatment or mask. It really calms down acne inflammation and general redness. After just five minutes, my skin looks noticeably more even, clean, calm, and if any cysts are present, they actually feel slightly less painful. These results improve the longer I leave it on (sometimes up to 30 minutes, or longer as a spot treatment). It's extremely gentle and has never caused the dryness or tightness that I often experience from other clay based masks. Nothing else visibly calms my skin down so quickly (including the widely praised aspirin mask). I have repurchased this three times now and although it has not cured my adult acne (which is hormonal anyway) it has been very helpful in making things more manageable.

Bottom line: I really feel that REN's product development team did this product a disservice by choosing to market it as a cleanser. They should really make it just slightly thicker and rebrand it as a mask so customers are not so disappointed when they spend $30 on a cleanser that doesn't take off their makeup.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got this cleanser about 3 months ago and have just finished it. I really wanted to like it as it didn't strip my skin dry but I think I will pass on the next bottle. The packaging is a bit lousy in a way that there is some more of it left in the bottle but you just can't pump it out no matter what and I just couldn't open up the bottle....so that's a big waste of money. I felt that it initially was ok and although there was some oily residue left on the face which could be removed with lots of warm water, it gradually started to break out my skin with cystic spots after using it for about 1-2 months. I think Ren needs to tweak the ingredients for this cleanser to make it work.


on 3/7/2014 9:47:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This thick cleanser felt very creamy but that's the only good thing I have to say about it. I have never used a cleanser like this before as I normally prefer a foaming cleanser. My skin is very dry on my cheeks and undereye area but very oily and prone to breakouts on my chin and nose. I don't like the way that this cleanser has to be massaged into the skin for a couple of minutes, I much prefer a quicker process.

My skin did not feel stripped afterwards but it also didn't feel completely clean as there was some sort of film left on my skin. I do wear long-lasting foundation and this cleanser did not remove it. After cleansing and rinsing, when I dry my face on a towel I ended up with it covered in residual makeup so I can tell that it doesn't clean my face properly. I have had a couple of minor breakouts in the week that I have been using this, probably caused my the cleanser not removing 100% of my makeup.

I only have a sample size of this which I will use up, but I definitely will not purchase a full size.


on 1/18/2014 3:44:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Okay, this is a second product I saw off of Caroline Hirons' blog, the first was the Clinique Take the Day Off Cleansing Balm and it was horrible. I love the sound of this product, the idea of this product, but something in the ingredients is highly irritating to my skin. After my skincare disaster with the cleansing balm I decided to try this, still looking for something that wouldn't strip my skin, which is combination and at the time was dehydrated. I love Ren as a company and their more natural ingredients, however, again, this just didn't work. I broke out into many cystic pimples along my eyebrow and chin area, which wasn't too fun since the previous cleanser I tested did the same thing. This cleared out my blackheads, but then caused massive irritations and dehydration. It definitely isn't the clay, but I am almost positive it's the oils in this cleanser. It has lavender oil which can be irritating, as can many of its ingredients actually, and my skin is sensitive when it comes to essential oils and plant extracts. It's also dehydrating, to me anyway, rather than hydrating and balancing. Just be heads up if you know you're sensitive to these kinds of ingredients. It also caused itching on my face. Again, I like the idea but not the product. The packaging is smart, the smell isn't so great but is workable, it's just the product and what it caused that isn't worth buying unless you ask for a sample first from Sephora.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/11/2014 2:59:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I really like this cleanser. I have oily combination skin, but it's quite dehydrated and I have large pores so anything too harsh makes my skin a dull mess.
This cleanser is gently and leaves skin super soft and bright, and the clay does a nice job cleaning away all the guck from my skin without stripping it (use it in the morning and in the evening after my Clinique Take The Day Off balm to double cleanse). I don't find it drying, but I wouldn't advise using spot treatment creams after using this because it might be too much for dryer skins.
Overall, very good cleanser, not too expensive for £18. Lasts ages. I'm running out and can't wait to go buy a new tub

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/21/2013 11:39:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I just ran out if this cleanser, and I was kind of sad about it. I didn't repurchase it, but I'll explain later.

Starting off I love the packagain and design. Easy to pump out the amount you want.
The smell is special. Some people might hate it (my sister does), but it doesn't bother me. Remember that it's fregrance free!

It has a creamy consistensy, but that doesn't mean it doesn't cleanses.
When I first tried it, my skin cleared up so good! It lasted me 2 month, but the last month/weeks my skin started to break out again. Maybe my skin was getting used to it?

That's why I didn't repurchased it, but I'm sure I will buy again, cause it did wonders! I would say, try it if you have acne or just a few blemishes.

ps. good for sensitive skin. (my skin is extremely sensitive and I had no reaction)


on 12/5/2013 8:58:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I bought into the youtube/blog hype over this cleanser. I used it about once a day following my cleansing oil for the past two months and I can say that it is completely overrated. Now don't get me wrong, it's not horrible. It didn't break me out nor cause any irritation. but it didn't really improve the overall appearance or texture of my skin. I can't even comment on how well it cleansed the skin as my cleansing oil did the bulk of the work. On the plus side, it smelled nice, rinsed okay, and left my skin neither tight nor oily. It also is cruelty-free, paraben-free, and easily accessible (I purchased mine from Sephora). However, nothing really "wowed" me about it, which considering the price is a bit of a let down. It also usually takes me about 4 months to go through a facial cleanser and this one only lasted me two months, and I was only using this half-time (I prefer a foaming cleanser in the shower). It's certainly not the worst cleanser that I've ever used, but I won't repurchase this one.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top