Kahina Giving Beauty • Argan Oil • Treatments

rated 4.6(18 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.88%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* julia178 on 2/8/2014 12:41:00 AM more reviews by julia178

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I like using this Argan oil on my hair. When my ends are dry I take a drop or two into my palms to warm it up and rub it into the lengths of my hair. When used sparingly, I find this to be an excellent conditioner, nourishing but not greasy. It is not cheap but since I use so little a bottle lasts a year for me. Great product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 paf0009 on 12/18/2013 1:09:00 PM more reviews by paf0009

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This review is for the Argan Oil and for the Facial Cleanser.

The argan oil is very light-weight and not very greasy. It is best applied on a damp face and massaged it. I noticed my skin was not oily when I used this is my morning routine. Also, it does not contribute to breakouts. It actually helps acne-prone skin by controlling oil production. I did not see a reduction in blackheads though, but then again Kahina does not market argan oil for that purpose. It did help soothe irritated breakouts as it increased hydration in the skin. The packaging is very chic; dark heavy glass bottle with dropper. It may seem pricey, but I bought mines about a little over a year ago and I still have some left. And the smell is still very much the same when I first received it.

The Facial Cleanser, I am a bit undecided about. First of all, this cleanser is very good for acne-prone skin. It gently cleanses, no stripped feeling after using it and that helps to calm mad breakouts. It does not foam, rather it is a milky cleanser with the texture of a lotion. I did not notice a film on my face after cleansing, but there is no squeaky-clean feeling. It feels like your face is moisturized just right. To the not-so-good: It doesn't remove sunscreen (physical sunscreen, not sure about chemical). When I was using only the cleanser and the argan oil, this routine was great! It really helped my skin through a bad breakout episode. But when I went back to using sunscreen in the am, in the evenings after using the cleanser, I would notice some sunscreen residue on my face. I tried double cleansing with the cleanser, but same result. I tried rubbing an oil on my face and then following up with the Kahina cleanser but still, my face didn't feel clean like before. Finally, I had to admit to myself and it just would not work when I used sunscreen (which I want to use daily). On the days when I do fall off the sunscreen routine, I use whatever is left of my Kahina cleanser (my second bottle) or whenever I run out of other cleansers I go back to this. It does remove light eye-makeup though. Not too sure about other makeup.

Overall, I think it is a good value because I still have my first argan oil bottle and I think it took me about five to seven months to go through my first Kahina cleanser bottle (I was using it morning and night although now I think it is better to only cleanse once per day, in the evenings). Also, I think Kahina donates a portion of their profits to a particular Moroccan women's group for farming and education purposes. Plus, you can reuse the bottles.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 chersbears on 7/8/2013 3:01:00 PM more reviews by chersbears

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i love love love this line. it's the best organic line i have ever used. i would highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 tbastas on 5/30/2013 10:43:00 AM more reviews by tbastas

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This product has got many uses. I only use it on elbows, ankles, etc and it softens the rough spots and lightly hydrates. I do not use it on my face, it clogged my pores on the T-zone (the oily part of my face), my dry parts were smooth and soft, so I would avoid it if I had oily or combo skin. My dermatologists said that oil of any kind does not sound as a good idea for using on the face because it causes clogged pores and makes your face must more sensitive to the sun (think when you are at the beach and putting baby oil on your body to get a tan faster). She does not believe in the oil tracks oil cleansing method and I agree. For me it can not replace a facial or a body moisturiser because it does not seem to hydrate deep enough. Even though it smooths the rough spots you need to put moisturiser on top to actually moisturise deeply to get rid of the dryness otherwise the dry spots will appear again in a few hours. So if you have not got rough spots you can just use a moisturiser and skip this.
Now for hair I have got oily hair so it is useless for me. But still if you use an oil on your hair and then use heat it will just burn your hair. Thats why in salons they use moroccan oil (which is the same as argan oil) as a treatment or after styling to smooth and eliminate frizz never before using heat.
I will not repurchase because the 100ml bottle will last me for ages and I can easily use olive oil that I get buy at the supermarket for much much cheaper.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pulidobl on 4/26/2013 3:47:00 PM more reviews by pulidobl

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the BEST of the argan oils I've tried. Yes, it is expensive, but in this case you get what you pay for. The bottle keeps out sunlight to keep oil from breaking down. The texture is light, sinks in right away and has a slight pleasant nutty smell. It does not break me out (two of the four less expensive agan oils have). I don't know if the story of the goat droppings with the argan nuts is true or not, but this does not smell sour or "goaty". Just like there are different qualities of olive oils guess there is that factor with argan oil. I am buying the 3.3 oz bottle next. There are discounts sometimes for Kahina on the internet. I've tried Kahina's cleanser, facial lotion (both are meh IMO) and toning mist (like but pricey for what you get. The real star of this line is the argan oil!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 brownclown on 1/18/2013 2:55:00 AM more reviews by brownclown

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I do not want this to be the best. It's stupid expensive, but if you have tried a dozen or so variations on the stuff - you will notice a difference immediately. It smells, feels, looks and works... better. Perfect. Sigh.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 marlee1306 on 6/30/2012 12:50:00 PM more reviews by marlee1306

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

To begin, I have oily and acne prone skin. For several months, I had been using Pure & Basics Vitamin E oil to reduce the appearance of acne scars. Although I have great respect for Vitamin E for its healing properties, and I did see changes in my skin, the consistency of this particular product was a little bit too heavy for my liking. As a result, I decided that I wanted to use a product that would give me better results without the greasy feeling. This is when I came across Kahina Giving Beauty's Argan Oil. In my opinion, this product is AMAZING, and I think I'm in love! The design of the bottle is very modern chic and the argan oil has a luxurious feel. The consistency is just perfect, and when you rub it on your face, your face feels like a baby's bottom, but even better. I did not detect a strong scent (I'm not even sure there is one), which I know is good news for many who like unscented products. After using this product in the evenings, the texture of my skin has improved tremendously and my scars have faded. In fact, I stopped breaking out since I began using this product. My skin is finally becoming the texture I have always wanted. Applying a light layer of makeup in the morning has never felt better. I have tried (too) MANY products in the past, but I have never called a product a HG until now.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 oingoboingoqueen on 4/9/2012 10:05:00 PM more reviews by oingoboingoqueen

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Recently, I developed some dry patches on my skin and I decided to try this, it is absolutely amazing! My skin absorbed it without breaking out and my dry patches are gone. It makes skin really soft and it does not have any crazy scent like other argan oils out there. It is expensive, but a little goes a long way.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JK23 on 2/25/2012 11:56:00 AM more reviews by JK23

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Suddenly my face has dried out and I've tried a bunch of stuff and this oil works! I put it on at night only and you only need a few drops. It's only been a few weeks so I'm not sure about my sun spots fading but moisture-wise I'm really happy!

Also, regarding gingerrama's awesome review and great research: I tried to get some of the less expensive argan oils but the companies were charging $10 for shipping in the US. That makes their cost per ounce almost equal to Kahina which I can buy in a store.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Khiandra on 2/17/2012 2:19:00 PM more reviews by Khiandra

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Black    

For starters this is the only pure Argan Oil product that i own, have tried, and use so, i can not compare to any other brand. With that being said, i love this stuff! It is so silky smooth. It's also light yet really moisturizing. I believe the oil is clear???, and i myself do not detect a scent. The packaging is clean, nice, slick and chic on my vanity. It leaves my skin very smooth and comfortable. When i do use it, my face is left looking a bit radiant. Great simple product to rotate through my regime :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Kahina Giving Beauty products

More Treatments products