The Body Shop • Delipscious Sheer Lip Colour • Lipstick

rated 3.7(15 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 demiller on 11/3/2013 9:54:00 AM more reviews by demiller

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I bought no.9. Red dark and sheer. Looks natural . Smells like cocoa. Delicious.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 polishproblem on 9/20/2012 4:16:00 AM more reviews by polishproblem

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Bought this last week and I'm not really impressed. It leaves my lips feeling dry and flakey shortly after putting it on, taste/scent is kind of odd.....it's alright but not my fav. I think I will use this for layering with other lip colors to add a bit of a rose/shimmer (I have it in 04, which is like a dusty rose colour.

A few days after buying it, the silver coating of the tube started to chip and flake off, leaving patches of ugly white plastic. This doesn't effect the use of the product, but I'd much prefer whipping out a less mangy tube when I want to do touch ups in public.

Not the worst lip product, but a decided meh.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pillager13 on 5/3/2012 4:10:00 PM more reviews by pillager13

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

As always, I wish MUA had a "maybe" buy this product again feature. I just bought this product today in 05/Elderberry from my local Norwegian The Body Shop. I usually wear very nude, light brown, or light pink lipsticks, but I was looking for something more dramatic that would still be suitable for daytime use. The SA chose this color for me and at first I was shocked because it looks so dark (deep purple, bordering on black). I didn't even want to try it on, but must say that it looks AMAZING on me (dark brown/black hair, pale/medium skin, green eyes). The color is great, but the taste/smell is weird (kind of a cloying honey smell) and, oddly enough given the natural ingredients, it makes my lips burn slightly. Odd. I'll see what happens tomorrow...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Whiteday on 4/1/2012 8:51:00 PM more reviews by Whiteday

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Love the colour range and some in particular give a very natural look since my lips tend to be pale in the morning (I appear to have some blood flow issues). However, the drawback is that there isn't much of a moisturising effect unless I put something else over it. The result is that I'm always instinctively moistening my lips and the colour doesn't last me very long anyway. Flaking, coloured lips also doesn't look very nice.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 marisolantela on 2/19/2012 11:15:00 AM more reviews by marisolantela

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I wasn't planning to buy anything when I entered the shop, but a really good promotion made me change my mind: this lipstick, which costed previously 12, was now on sale for only 3. Of course, it was a no-brainer.
I bought the shade 06, Sheer Grape, which is a colour I don't wear very often - I must confess, I was a bit afraid that it would make my lips look too dull - but still the one I liked best between the ones on sale.
No regrets - it was a great purchase. As its name implies the color is indeed sheer, full of light and not at all heavy. The only weakness that I found so far in this product is the lasting power: it comes out very easily when you eat or drink. But considering how much I have payed for it, that's not a big issue.
Another tip for potential users: apply a light layer of moisturizing lip balm before putting on the color. It will make it more comfortable to wear it and give it an even more shiny look. It works pretty well to me!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* zernelle on 1/14/2012 9:15:00 PM more reviews by zernelle

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I really like this lip color. I have it in 09 Pomegranate--a sheer plum-red color that looks great on my pale, cool-toned skin, though I think it would work on a wide variety of skin tones. It's moisturizing and comfortable on my lips, and I love that the color is all natural--no artificial dyes. Right now it's on sale for $5 on The Body Shop web site but out of stock, so I hope they aren't discontinuing it.

Ingredients: Sucrose Acetate Isobutyrate, Canola Oil, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Sunflower Seed Oil, Coconut Oil, Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil, Palm Oil, Beeswax, Hydrogenated Microcrystalline Wax, Candelilla Wax, Sambucus Nigra Fruit Juice, Cocoa Seed Butter, Carnauba Wax, Maltodextrin, Polyglyceryl-3 Polyricinoleate, Citric Acid, Ipomoea Batatas Root Extract, Water, Pomegranate Seed Oil, Vaccinium Myrtillus Seed Oil, Flavor, Tocopherol. May Contain: Mica, Iron Oxides, Titanium Dioxide.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 starmie104 on 1/6/2012 4:34:00 PM more reviews by starmie104

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have this product in 07, which is a great, natural shade on my medium olive complexion. I love The Body Shop for their business practices, but I wasn't a fan of this one for the following reasons

- the product wasn't moisturizing
- the sweet smell was fruity and cloying

I got this one sale for $5 after Christmas, so it wasn't much of a loss, but if I'm going to buy a sheer lip color, I would hope it at least would be moisturizing. I might have gotten a bad batch, but I wouldn't recommend this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* binkari on 12/31/2011 4:18:00 PM more reviews by binkari

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this in 01 Lychee, and while the color pulls just a little light on me, it's still one of those shades that should work on most people. Despite being marketed as "sheer," you can definitely build this up to a deeper color, though not to full-coverage.


Texture-wise, I found these a little drying. It dries to a semi-matte finish-- a hint of shine, but definitely not a juicy reflective gloss. It's not a very emollient lip color at all, so I find that I get better results after exfoliating and putting on some lip balm first. It's got a slightly sweet/waxy smell to it, but no real discernible taste unless you're really licking at it.


To be honest, I'm not sure WHAT to classify these things as. They've got a texture and longevity that's definitely more in line with a lipstick, but the pigmentation falls in between lipstick and lip tint. At full-price ($12), I'd rather pay a little extra for a higher-end brand, but thankfully, the Body Shop is an avid provider of deeply-discounted sales. I picked up some of these for my friends and me at 50% off, and at that price, they're an excellent value.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 polly2990 on 9/6/2011 5:55:00 PM more reviews by polly2990

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I got the lychee in 01 and the color is really pretty and should match most skin types. The color is very build-able and can look like you put lipstick on. The balm can be somewhat drying when put on alone but it works great when you put on chapstick or lip balm with no color on before you apply this and it will feel non-drying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 christina001 on 9/5/2011 4:50:00 PM more reviews by christina001

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

I made an appointment at Body Shop for a bridal makeup wanting to try out the Honey Bronze range first and foremost. The makeupartist ended up giving me a really great lip colour which rivalled the one Mac and Bobbi Brown artists had given me. She used a great dark nude lipliner (the best on me so far!) which I now use on its own, too. (My lips are very pigmented rosewood, my skin is light - the colour is called Beech; subculture/Mac is a little light on me, fyi.)
She painted half my lips in 04 Sheer Candy delipscious and half in 07 Sheer Raspberry. Candy is a cooler mauvier pink, raspberry is one of the prettiest pinks ever, warmer. She recommended raspberry for my wedding. (I wore a mix of Blondie Pink/Bobbi Brown and Sheer Raspberry for my wedding, Raspberry on top because it is indeed very "freshening"; it stayed on top but that could be also because of the bobbi brown underneath).

I love wearing both my delipscious now, with or without lip liner. They give a gorgeous look - I am surprised to read online these are called "sheer". I don't find them that sheer to be honest! Two of the nicest pinks I've ever tried and they rival my other favorites Blondie Pink/Bobbi Brown and Hug me or Angel/Mac. They do not stay on super long but to be honest nothing does on me. They have not dried my lips at all so far, so I am surprised to read it here. Also I have not noticed any funky smell or taste (to compare: I hate the Urban decay smell, and cannot stand it).

The makeupartist packed on quite a bit of this on my lip, so I make a few good swipes with not too light a hand. The layer on the lips feels very soothing and nice when I press my lips together. 100% recommended will try more colours now!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More The Body Shop products

More Lipstick products