E.L.F. • Beauty Book - Smoky Eye Edition • Palettes

rated 4.0(10 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.90%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mollieismehehe on 2/11/2013 1:10:00 PM more reviews by Mollieismehehe

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

E.L.F. never disappoints. Includes a wide range of shadow colors from plum to sky blue. The pigmentation is good. Most of the shades are easy to work with and look very pretty on the eye. My favorites are the metallics on the bottom row. The only thing i hate about this is the packaging. It is thin but it's big! It takes up a lot of space so you're not gonna wanna take it anywhere. That's really the only downfall.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sonrisa663 on 3/28/2011 10:37:00 PM more reviews by sonrisa663

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Great color collection....great pigmentation...little to no fall out...great, great product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Christinaann5 on 11/6/2010 11:05:00 PM more reviews by Christinaann5

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I cannot explain how much im obsessed with the elf eye encyclopedias, so much i have 2 of each. The smokey eye edition is great 4 both daytime and nite smoked out looks. With the reg edition, u get 12 gorgeous shadows, 2 cream shadows- a cream white and i think a biege (i depotted my creams to cd case 4 convience) a mini black eye pencil, a double ended applicator- one side sponge tip and other end mini bristle brush which i luv 4 applying precise crease or outer v work, and a mirror, all packaged in a magnetic case which holds shadows securley n safely. Its so cute n slim, can store just like a book. But for $5, u get so many great shadows. There is duplication of 3 of the $1 quads top row- drama 2nd row- nouvou neutrals 3rd row- butternut. BUT SO MUCH BETTER! The quality and pigmentation is 10x better at least. And u get a good amount of each shadow that u wont run out any time soon. So if ur wanting those palettes- get the encyclopedias. I luv elf! I will continue to stock up. They did have back 2 school edition minus cream shadows and liner with sponge tip applicator for $3 which i got too. Im more neutral eye girl and the neutral one is Amazing too- any of the encyclopedias, u CANT go wrong. So many urban decay dupes its unreal. ELF u never fail me, cruelty free affordable, amazing makeup. TRY THESE ASAP!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gorbe on 11/6/2010 7:41:00 PM more reviews by gorbe

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Thanks to the reviewer below who pointed out that four of the shades in here are right out of the "butternut" quad. I have/love the butternut quad, but did not notice this. Anyway, this is a nice "book", definitely more usable, for me, than the "eye brights" one. The colors are pigmented well, and have a blendable consistency. They are bit chalky though, some more than others, meaning there will be some fallout on your brush/possibly eye if you aren't careful. I know I'm never going to run out of this, but if I lost this or something, I'd probably repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kellydoeshair on 11/6/2010 2:17:00 PM more reviews by kellydoeshair

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I love this beautybook
it is my go to travel palette
however
if you have the brightening eye quads in butternut, drama and nouveau neutrals then you already have all 12 of these colors EXACTLY
it is def handy the packaging and I've gone through 2 of the butternut quads but they are the same shadows

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 foxieq on 10/26/2010 10:56:00 PM more reviews by foxieq

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I got this for $3 on Target.com for a one-day sale. I had seen these in my local Target and the concept of having eye shadows in a "book" was intriguing, but I could never bring myself to buy a book. I'll probably be going back for the other beauty books because they'll look very cute lined up on my bureau!


So as people have said, there are twelve shades. There are five that are in a greyscale for a cool smokey eye, and seven shades that would work for a warmer smokey or can be used as everyday shades. I own the e.l.f. Studio single black shade and I haven't had great experience with it but this one is actually quite pigmented in comparison. I particularly like the medium brown shades and the butternut color. I didn't think it would look great but actually gives a nice glow to tan skin! The only colors that don't do much for me are the two lighter gray shades, but those shades have never really worked for me anyway.


Overall, the palette is good for your money. The eyeliner is not recommended if you have watery eyes and it's so short you'll use it up quickly anyway. The shadows are quite powdery so be on the more conservative side when you apply and try to build on. The lasting power is okay but I've noticed some fading so you should definitely used a primer. ALSO, all of the shades seem to have shimmer. Good for day, but I know many people who won't go near that for day!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Themonsunxxx on 8/24/2010 4:40:00 PM more reviews by Themonsunxxx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

I was so excited when I saw these beauty books at my Target. I have plenty of neutrals and the brights seemed strange to me so I picked up this one. There's a lot of pros and cons to this beauty book. The price is amazing. Five dollars for twelve dollars is an amazing deal. Even if you don't like every shadow its not a huge waste of money and there has to be at least one you like. The packaging is adorable in its shape of a book. Now with a big con. A lot of shadows in this book are just sparkle. Some of them have great pigmentation and are amazing for a smoky eye, but a good deal of them are just a glittery mess. So some of these shadows work, some don't. I'll break it down for you.

First shadow in book(Matte white)- Good matte highlight, is soft and blends well

Second(Glittery grey)-This is probably my favorite shadow in the bunch. Even though it has glitter, it still has great pigmentation, slight fallout and is ideal for a sparkly smoky eye.

Third(Matte Black)- This is a ridiculously pigmented matte black. It's perfect for liner, in the crease, anything. It's one of the best shadows in this palette,

Fourth(Shimmery Silver)- A decent silver with shimmer.

Fifth(Sparkly Sky Blue)- Awful pigmentation, just a pastel shadow with sparkle

Sixth(Matte Green)- Interesting, pigmented smooth green. Not too sure how to use it yet though.

Seventh(Sparkly Tan)- One of the better sparkly shadows. It has a bit more pigmentation.

Eighth(Rusty Red Sparkly color)- The worst shadow in this palette. No pigmentation, just sparkle.

Ninth(Decent Yellow Sparkly)- Yellow soft sparkly shadow, decently
pigmented.

Tenth(Tangerine sparkly)- I found this a very strange color to be a smoky eye palette because it's orange, but its all sparkles once again.

Eleventh(Satin Taupe Dupe)- This color is almost a dead on dupe for MAC's Satin Taupe. It's texture is even smoother than it. It beautiful, shimmery and ideal for a smoky eye. Anyone who's interested in Satin Taupe must try this!


Twelfth(Coppery Brown)- A nice, shimmery brown color. Good for everyday and for a smoky eye. Good quality.

I'd say I would repurchase this again because there's amazing colors in here, but I just warn you of the sparkles! I posted swatches of the color to show you their true pigmentation. Be careful and happy shopping :)

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kelleegross on 8/19/2010 9:42:00 PM more reviews by kelleegross

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This elf palette is so nice. It's 12 shadows for $5 and all of them are pigmented. With a good primer, the shadows last all day. They also blend well with other brands. It comes in a notepad package and when opening it, it gives you a diagram on how to achieve a smoky eye.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Orangedot on 8/19/2010 4:25:00 PM more reviews by Orangedot

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Target has these for $5, and they are a pretty good investment. There are a few colors in the palette that aren't as pigmented as the rest, but overall, for $5, this is a great deal.
It comes with a small eye brightening black liner, and a sponge tip applicator, as well as a mirror.
The only thing that bothers me with them is that when you use them, you end up with loose powder on the top of the shadow, and there will be some fall out as you apply. Simple fixes for fall out on your cheek, and I still love this palette.

I wanted to review the neutral eye palette as well, but can't find a spot to do so, but if you are in target, I suggest picking them both up... I love the neutral eye beauty book more then the smokey eye! There are some pretty purple tones, browns, etc.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* curlycuesue on 8/18/2010 11:14:00 PM more reviews by curlycuesue

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

PROS:
- price (only $5 at Target!)
- diversity of colors (12 eyeshadows ranging from sparkly white to pale mint green to shimmery taupe to glittery black)
- shadows are very intense and highly pigmented
- comes w/ double-ended sponge applicator & pencil eyeliner in Black
- packaging is smart & chic (literally opens/closes like a book, w/ mirror and application instructions inside)
- shadows are smooth, buttery, and apply like a dream

CON:
- shadows are very powdery so just a tiny dab w/ my brush creates lots of loose shadow particles

Overall, I'm extremely happy I bought this palette. It's difficult to find neutral, polished shadows that work for me, and when I find colors that work, I stick with them & never change. Lately however, I've been wanting to branch out and experiment, and this palette is utterly perfect for my needs. It's soooo cheap and comes w/ such a wide range of colors, I can experiment to my heart's content. Out of the 12 colors, 3 don't necessarily work well w/ my skintone; but still, to have 9 useful shadows in 1 palette for only $5 is amazing!! =D

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More E.L.F. products

More Palettes products