E.L.F. • Shimmer Eye Liner • Eyeliner

rated 3.3(70 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 martiyates on 11/15/2013 1:58:00 PM more reviews by martiyates

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I was excited to find this in ivory as I was looking for a vegan product to replace the Benefit highlighter I've been using for ages. Unfortunately, this won't do the trick. I just wanted to use it to highlight the inner corners of my eyes. After applying it, I tried to blend slightly to make it not look so obvious, and pretty much all of it just came off. It also seems dry and cakey, not creamy enough to blend well. Even though it was only a dollar, it was a waste for me. Maybe for someone else it would work if they have a different use in mind.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 HappyUnicornSmile on 9/20/2013 10:23:00 PM more reviews by HappyUnicornSmile

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Pros:

1. Lots of color choices.

2. Shimmer. Yayyy!

3. Affordable. I think it's $1

4. Doesn't test on animals and is vegan

5. Packaging. Comes with a sharpener inside the lid. Genius! Saves space, keeps me from losing the sharpener as often, just a pretty neat idea.


Cons:

1. Nothing special. I bought this in white to put on the waterline of my lower lids while I use a different black gel liner on top. This is just okay, it doesn't really do anything, though. It's not super pigmented, but it's pigmented enough to be noticeable. Just not exactly what I was looking for. Plus, my white one is more "metallic" than "shimmery".


Comments:

This just an okay product for me. I'll still use it til it's gone, but I won't repurchase. Perhaps other colors are better?

I know some have reported having issues with the sharpener. For the record, I haven't. It doesn't dull the pencil or do anything weird to the pencil. It just sharpens it. And I like the design.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 missScarlet22 on 9/1/2013 9:58:00 PM more reviews by missScarlet22

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this pencil in Iconic Ivory (the white shade) to use on my water line because it was the only white pencil I could find at the drugstore. Unfortunately, it is too hard for that purpose, and I don't think the sparkles are well-suited to the water line either. I now use it as a highlighter when I'm in a pinch. I just swipe it under my brows, rub it in a bit with my fingers, and repeat the process on my inner eye corners. It is much faster than using a brush to apply powder highlight, and the waxy consistency ensures that there is no fallout (so you can use it over foundation/concealer without fear). It generally stays put all day. Also, the pencil sharpener cap is a neat bonus and actually works surprisingly well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Aethernaut on 7/18/2013 6:46:00 AM more reviews by Aethernaut

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have this in the shade gunmetal - a neutral mid grey with a subtle almost metallic shimmer. I've been wearing it for the past four or five days in very hot and humid conditions, and I am astonished by it's staying power. I get about 8 hours from this product without primer and when wearing primer underneath I find that it stays until I take it off at night. I do have dry skin which may help with longevity but nevertheless it's comparable in performance to my trusty Urban Decay liner, and I got this on offer for 75p!

I am finding it very pleasant and easy to apply - firm enough to make a good clean line while soft enough to not drag along the eyelids. In colder conditions I imagine it probably needs to be warmed up in the hands to help application.

Colour (gunmetal) is very attractive, payoff is great and the shimmer, while definitely there, is subtle enough for older skin to pull off - it's not glittery or harsh. Paired with a taupe or chocolate/bronze shadow it's great for a classic, luxurious looking daytime eye, or just on it's own for a bit of definition.

I would definitely recommend this product in the shade gunmetal. I haven't tried any of the other colours and I know from experience that cheaper eyeliner pencils can vary enormously in texture and quality from one shade to the next. But at these prices, I'd say it's worth trying the others for sure.


1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 EllieDavionte on 6/16/2013 6:03:00 AM more reviews by EllieDavionte

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

Pros: A nice gold colour and applies quite smoothly. I LOVE the fact that a sharpener is the lid for the pencil!

Cons: Almost too gold for a liner? I'll have to try this again and report back!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lcamato on 6/3/2013 8:05:00 PM more reviews by Lcamato

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have this in black. It's the best pencil liner around in my opinion. Goes on creamy and smooth and stays put all day. Love how the sharpener is in the top so it's always handy. I don't see much shimmer in it, but I like the plain black so that doesn't bother me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 peakvolume on 5/30/2013 11:52:00 PM more reviews by peakvolume

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

The shade I tried was "twinkle teal," which for some reason isn't printed on the packaging. The color was rich, which surprised me-I was expecting much lower quality. It wasn't a one and done shade, but I only needed to give the line a quick once-over for good color. It didn't drag/tug/pull/skip on the lash line, either.

However, the color faded after just an hour, but didn't stop. It looked worn down and eventually grayish. By 5 hours, the color was pretty much gone, and it had migrated. Not impressed.

(read the full review on peakvolume.blogspot.com)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 dlittlegarden on 5/20/2013 3:21:00 PM more reviews by dlittlegarden

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is a very low-risk purchase since each eyeliner is priced at $1. I bought the shimmering Icon White to line my waterline and specifically to keep it in my gym bag. When I took the pencil out of the outer packaging, I was pleasantly surprised by the pencil's built-in sharper in the cap and general look. It seemed like great quality! The size is perfect to pack in a makeup bag, too. I did feel, when first applying, that the pencil product is pretty hard, but it does soften with the warmth of your skin. It doesn't smudge easily, so it is pretty tough to use this on your waterline. Still, it's a great product. While I probably won't buy the Icon White pencil again, I'd be interested in the other colors in the lineup for regular eyeliner use.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AllyLesniak on 5/15/2013 3:26:00 AM more reviews by AllyLesniak

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I love this liner more for the sharpener. The pencil itself is god quality and glides on nicely but I'm not a huge fan of metallics and usually just add a tiny bit of this for a pop of colour. Anyway, the sharpener is AMAZING! It's the best I have ever tried. It beautifully sharpens every pencil I own from the low end to luxury brand. I will definitely be buying more of these pencils just for the sharpener.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mskittenmittens on 4/12/2013 11:12:00 PM more reviews by mskittenmittens

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I like E.L.F. products- most are good, as long as you choose wisely (look at reviews beforehand). This product received controversial reviews on MUA and glowing reviews on blogs, so I took the risk, and I'm personally very glad I did. I bought the eyeliner in Plum Passion (was that the name?), and it's a very pretty color, though it doesn't really fit the description of the color "plum" imo. It does not smudge all day; because this is super cheap, I kept wiping under my eyes throughout the day to check, and not a speck of purple! I like the packaging. The built in sharpener is a little annoying to clean, but convenient nonetheless. If you're worried about "freshness" (I could really care less), then dip the tip in rubbing alcohol for a minute or two to keep it clean, I guess. The only real issue I have with this eyeliner is the fading. At the end of the day, the color is lowered to about half the initial intensity, but I have a good primer that can probably fix this issue. And if it doesn't, no big deal- I'm just glad it doesn't SMUDGE! (unless you touch your eyes, otherwise it won't budge- even through water.)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More E.L.F. products

More Eyeliner products