Sigma • F25 Tapered Face Brush (was SS138) • Makeup Brushes

rated 3.6(11 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.45%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 kristennlaurenx3 on 9/30/2012 11:29:00 PM more reviews by kristennlaurenx3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

When I first purchased the brush it worked well, nothing spectacular but it did the job of applying face powder, bronzer, etc. After about two deep cleanses it began to shed, HORRIBLY! I would end up with what felt like hundreds of stray hairs on my face, not attractive at all! The more I would use it without spot/deep cleaning though the less it would shed. I would then wash it and the same problem would occur. It was a never ending cycle really. I still use the brush when I'm too lazy to wash my other bronzer brushes, but it is not a must have by any means nessacary. This is deifnatley a brush to skip ladies!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lilblue10 on 3/5/2012 10:01:00 PM more reviews by lilblue10

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I haven't found a use for this brush. It's not so good for applying powder,it's too big for blush/contour/highlight. It's good to apply bronzer but generally don't wear bronzer anywhere else then in the hollows of the cheeks.
Other than that this brush is really soft and doesn't shed !

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kathrynb23 on 8/19/2011 1:33:00 AM more reviews by kathrynb23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have always wanted to purchase some of the Sigma infamous Tapered Brushes, everyone seems to have one, all my favourite Youtube guru seems to always talked about Sigma, but kept holding it off because I wasn;t willing to pay the freight cost LOL! Eventually I did end up buying from the Sigma website, I mean the AUD was going soo strong against the USD + 10% off + 1 free brush, I cant help myself!
Anyways I did end up getting 3 brush + 1 free Brush from Sigma. I am quiet amazed With Sigma Brushes and the shipping, took only 1 week for me to receive my brushes in Australia.
This brush in general was incredibly soft and dense, the brush handle and bristle itself feels and looks of high quality. I didn't have any problem with shredding, mine did shred a little initially, but that stopped pretty much after the first use. No problem with bleeding dye.
I did find I have limited use for this brush, besides cheek contouring which is what the pointy tip is good for, I really dont use it for much. I mean it doesn't apply all pver face foundation properly, and a lot of people say its good for blush, but to me, I find any good ole blush brush could do an even better job.
A little disappointed, but alas it a lemming purchase I finally got out of my system!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pinkfrost52 on 8/7/2011 2:26:00 AM more reviews by pinkfrost52

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is called the F25 now that Sigma changed their brush names. I find it's good for applying blush because it expands slightly as you swirl it around the pan and then onto your face. I probably wouldn't choose to use this for contouring because it's a bit too fluffy for that. The tapered "egg-shape" makes it good for setting loose powder around the nose/eyes and also for applying bronzer. Sheds quite badly which is why I wouldn't choose to repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mickeyrdam on 6/11/2011 11:48:00 PM more reviews by mickeyrdam

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have two of these brushes, one from the professional kit, and the other one purchased individually. They are both equally soft and do a good job of applying powder products, such as a finishing powder. (Actually, I would rather use a powder puff or a bigger brush to press the powder into the skin, and then use these soft brushes only to knock of the excess). For this I can recommend this brush and I really like it.

The reason for me to take on point off is that these two brushes are not exactly the same. One is fuller, but more tapered and pointier, while the other one has less bristles and is at the same time less pointy. That means you don't really know what kind of brush (shape) you will get.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lexijojohnson on 3/20/2011 2:55:00 PM more reviews by lexijojohnson

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is a good brush - is now known as the F25. This is a large domed tapered brush that can be used as an all-over powder brush, or is great as a way to get nice, natural-looking bronzing on the face using this with your bronzer. I'm debating getting a second one, one for the face powder, and one for my bronzer. I am really liking how this is working with bronzer. This is a good sculpting brush, too...if you do contouring, with a darker powder, or bronzer or blush. This brush has soft bristles, and feels nice on my face. Not the softest brush ever, but still pretty soft. I would advocate for washing this before using - no doubt! I washed mine and a lot of black/purple dye came out. Also, this is shedding a lot during washing. I wash gently - just using tepid water and baby shampoo (as with all of my other brushes), but a lot of bristles are coming out, which I haven't experienced with their other brushes. However, the brush is still intact and in good form. It dries nicely, and keeps good shape This was $19 plus shipping on Sigma's website. They have just about the FASTEST shipping around! - And reasonable shipping prices.
EDIT: well, I'm sad to say that when you wash this, it keeps losing bristles, and more dye comes out! I even wrote to Sigma and they sent me a replacement brush - I washed it once and it was losing bristles left and right. I wash gently, with baby shampoo and tepid water. Even so, this brush just doesn't survive washings very well. Great customer service by Sigma though!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* renaissancegirl on 2/17/2011 4:48:00 PM more reviews by renaissancegirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I like this brush but it wasn't what I was expecting. First of all, when I washed it, it bled like crazy and that's something I generally do not like. Fortunately, it only shed a couple of hairs. After it dried completely, it was still a nice, "egg" shape but considerably less tapered than when it arrived. It was extremely soft but very floppy - if you are looking for a precision brush, this brush is not it. It still works very well at picking and applying powder products all over the face but if you wanted a tapered brush to specifically target areas of the face, look into the Sigma F35 (tapered highlighter) instead. It, too, lacks density but at least it's small shape allows more precise application.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KBaylie on 9/30/2010 10:46:00 PM more reviews by KBaylie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Sigma really did a great job with this brush. It picks up powder foundation perfectly. I seriously thinking about ditching my other powder brushes because this one performs so well. I wasn't expecting this brush to be this good. I want to order another one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* miafrush on 9/23/2010 1:22:00 AM more reviews by miafrush

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

i like this for application of setting powder because you can get into smaller areas such as aroubnd the nose and under the eyes. great brush and has not shed or bled on me. it can also be used to give some nice sublte shading or highlighting to the face.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lalaland on 8/27/2010 7:42:00 PM more reviews by lalaland

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I don't quite know how to feel about this brush. Don't get me wrong, the quality is very nice (as with most of my sigma brushes imo), but it is somewhat pointless (no pun intended). It has the illusion of a point, but I don't feel it on my face and the product is not precisely applied. It is super soft and feels so nice on the face but I expected it to be denser and like a bigger MAC 165, which I'm hoping the MAC 138 is like. It is a good price for the quality of brush but I wouldn't recommend this for heavy application...ex. bronzer...but might be nice for pigmented blushes or light powder setting. I just don't love it and I kind of regret purchasing it even though it is nice.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Sigma products

More Makeup Brushes products