Stila • across the usa • Palettes

rated 3.6(12 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* iuhooch625 on 10/30/2011 10:16:00 PM more reviews by iuhooch625

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

The eye shadows in this palette are unimpressive, but the hibiscus convertible color is spectacular. It's a medum toned bubblegum pink that looks lovely on my cheeks and has good staying power. I blend it on my cheeks with my fingers and it gives a glowy non shimmery flush. It's nice on lips too, but I need to wear a balm underneath as I find it to be a bit drying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* slippingbeauty on 2/20/2011 1:33:00 AM more reviews by slippingbeauty

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is my favorite out of all of the Stila travel palettes I own. The colors are a lot more chic and sophisticated. I love the CC in Hibiscus, it's such a gorgeous shade. The shadows are nicely pigmented given the price, and overall I think it's a good deal.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BrittaBot on 12/21/2010 2:16:00 PM more reviews by BrittaBot

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

This LE palette has four purple/pink shades, and one CC in a medium, neutral rose. The packaging is adorable, compact, and handy, since it snaps shut magnetically and has a good-sized mirror within. I especially like the babydoll pink eyeshadow, because it's shimmery, but not inappropriate for work.

The shadows are more firmly pressed and powdery than what I'm used to with Stila shadows, but for me, the color payoff is fine, and honestly, since this is a travel palette, the colors may have been intended to not be theatrical, as a person traveling to work or on vacation may not want to use only a palette with clubbing-ready colors.

But I have really fair, pinkish skin, and always use eyelid primer, so these colors may look more obvious on me than they do on others, and the formula is admittedly different from other Stila shadows.

I wouldn't buy this again simply because I have so much makeup, I can't consider this a repurchase-worthy staple, but it's a great deal for the price, IMO.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kelkelkel on 11/13/2010 5:18:00 PM more reviews by kelkelkel

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Made in China!

It is a very good deal, we can't deny that. However, Stila has sold out and a lot of their cheaper palettes are being made in China now. I tend to be wary of made in china products that I use on my skin. I bought the travel palette online and was extremely disappointed to find out it was made in China. That is probably why the eyeshadows are very powdery and unpigmented. The convertible colour is very pretty and looks natural on cheeks - at the beginning. It's been a few months since I bought it and now the convertible colour has hardened/dried out. It's very difficult to blend and I have to smear a lot on my hand and warm it up first (wasting a lot of product).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 beibeilei on 11/13/2010 5:01:00 PM more reviews by beibeilei

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Why so many negative reviews? I love this palette! Southern belle is my favorite e/s color in this palette. The best part is the convertible color - Hibiscus. Beautiful pink cheek and lip color!! It has a really good staying power too. I find myself reaching for this palette a lot for hibiscus.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* anastacy on 11/8/2010 3:39:00 PM more reviews by anastacy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This palette is the weakest of the 4 travel palettes released thus far. $10 being the main attraction for this palette, the quality of these e/s is bad business for Stila, especially the impression made on new customers. Kitten is one of the first Stila e/s I had and when I first swatched it, I knew my makeup purchasing pattern was about to change forever. I slowly started to drift from drugstore to high end because of my amazement of the quality. This palette portrays Stila e/s to be of drugstore quality which it really isnt. NYX and Milani singles and HIP duo e/s are of a far better standard than the e/s in this palette. The colours are sheer, powdery and satiny/shimmery.

I give this 2 stars because of the covertable blush. I'm a little put off by the smell. It smells like my granny's cosmetics long ago. The blush is also a little sticky, which I'm on the fence about. But the color payoff on this saves this palette. I'm considered to be of medium/deep cmplexion and this blush shows up on my skin with one dab. I dab it real lightly with a stippling brush and then top it off with a powdered blush. I use it when a have really long days (16 hrs) because it lasts a really long time. The colour looks as though it may not show up on dark skin but it does. The colour is really pretty and versitile. The covertable colour in this palette is the most natural and user friendly of all the 4 palettes. Though, I would probably never use it on my lips, it is more likely to finish before any of the e/s in this palette.

Thank God Stila got back to their senses with the other palettes because if they had used the same quality of e/s from this palette in the Paris palette, trust me it would have been all over. Nobody would really care about these palettes, limited edtion or not.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 hautePJones on 10/12/2010 10:50:00 AM more reviews by hautePJones

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love the concept and affordability of this set, but the color payoff of the shadows was far below what I've come to expect from Stila. To even get the E/S color to show up I had to pack it on and for darker skin this combo just isn't all that flattering. The Hibiscus color barely shows up on my cheeks but on the lips I used it as a base and layered a rosy pink gloss over it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cosmokid on 10/3/2010 3:15:00 AM more reviews by cosmokid

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

At the bargain price of $10, any complaints seek a little unfair with this palette, but Stila sets such a high standard with its eyeshadows and convertible colors, it's hard not to compare.

Granted, the quality of the eyeshadows isn't as good as Stila's regular line, but the darker shade (City Chick) in particular is stunning, both as a liner and crease color. I'm not a fan of the pink shade, Valley Girl, but you can put together a gorgeous look without this colour.

The convertible color, Hibisucus, is a gorgeous soft pink shade. Stila are referring to the CCs in these palettes as being a blush/lip balm, and the difference in texture to the regular CCs match that description as they are sheerer and don't have as much pigmentation, or the staying power.

If you've got a medium to dark complexion you may find the colours don't show up too well on you, but for us fair skinned girls, the overall look is beautiful and really wearable.

I'm not a fan of the 'back story' of these palettes - it's a bit gimmicky and 'junior' for my liking, but it's possible with this low price point that Stila is trying to get into younger markets.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Pam1 on 9/26/2010 1:09:00 PM more reviews by Pam1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

The Road to Radiance is more of a day palette with neutral shadows and an eyeliner color and a more neutral convertible color. The e/s colors are: Snow Bunny (shimmery champagne/taupe, shimmery valley girl (pinkish taupe), southern belle (shimmery medium pink), and city chick (a beautiful very pigmented dimensional purplish taupe-bronze...the best of the palette). The CC is Hibiscus. This palette is worth it for the city chic shadow and Hibiscus alone! Hibiscus applies as a beautiful pink with a plumish undertone. This is a great natural palette for everyday for work or school. Shadows apply pretty sheer but are build-able. City Chick is very pigmented but blends beautifully. Great palette! I have been wearing this for work/school very frequently!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kellyadams on 9/13/2010 10:12:00 AM more reviews by kellyadams

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Curly   Eyes: Green    

If nothing else, these stila travel palettes are a STEAL at $10, so no reason NOT to pick one up!

My favorite part of the palette is the convertible color for lips and cheeks in Hibiscus - I hope Stila will make a full-size version of this b/c it is the PERFECT neutral/cool pink for my redheaded PPP coloring! I'm a fan of the e/s as well... yeah, some of them are a little lightly pigmented, but that actually works well for me since I always have to use a light hand anyway on my fair skin. The lavender/pink combo is very pretty me, I would definitely buy this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Stila products

More Palettes products