NARS • Daphne • Eye Shadow

rated 4.3(15 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 n3worl34ns on 2/1/2012 11:04:00 PM more reviews by n3worl34ns

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This color is so unique and bold, I love it! At first I did not use it because I didn't realize it takes time and multiple layers and blending to get a even look. But once you do its sooo good! It is not the most velvety but it is definatly not chalky. Worth the splurge and I will most likely repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xandreaaa on 1/9/2012 5:55:00 AM more reviews by xandreaaa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

love the colour payoff and the staying power of this eyeshadow. very ideal for dramatic looks but can be blended out to make a purple smoky look. however i have noticed that it is slightly chalky and does not blend as well as some shadows should but once you blend it out 2-3 times more its perfectly fine. and i love that it has no shimmer! NARS has so many shimmery things (coughOrgasmblushcough). will probably not buy again cause ill never run out of it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jekki012 on 5/4/2011 2:54:00 PM more reviews by jekki012

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is probably the first time I have ever been disappointed by NARS. I had been pining for this shadow for a while, and since I am so partial to NARS, I kept hoping that it would get better... but it didn't. Unlike all the other NARS eyeshadows I own, this has no shimmer (not a negative, just an observation) and is quite chalky, making it difficult to apply evenly. Even with primer, the color payoff is not true to what you see in the pan (it is a vibrant, almost electric purple in the pan but it comes off as an almost dark grey-purple on your eyelid). To get marginally close to what you see in the pan, you really do have to use a good amount, and even then, it isn't even close and you'll probably be frustrated by then because you'll have spent 5x the time you would normally spend to blend it. The only good things I have to say are that I love the trademark NARS packaging as always and it will last a long time, so the price is justified. Also, since its a dark shadow that isn't on the cool side, it looks great when I use it to smoke out my eyeliner; it's nice and dark with just a hint of purple. Overall, I'm sad to say that this is the only NARS product I've ever tried and will not be repurchasing.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 amie246 on 2/26/2011 9:56:00 AM more reviews by amie246

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I love NARS packaging and when it was released in the collection (can't remember which one) I bought it immediatley. It is a very matte eyeshadow and the colour is super cool and pigmented. My only problem with this product is that it can be applied subtly but when I want a more vibrant look it takes a lot of product to make the colour really stand out. I don't think I will ever reach the end of the product but if i ever do I probably won't repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Beauty4Ashes on 2/15/2011 9:49:00 PM more reviews by Beauty4Ashes

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I received this in a kit. Daphne is a pretty color in the pan, but I'm not too impressed when I apply it on my eyes. The color payoff is not as opaque as I'd like it to be. However, you can build the color on your lids by patting it on with a shader brush. Although the quality is less than I'd expect from NARS, I'll continue to wear. It's a fun addition to my makeup collection.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 annamaria710 on 1/29/2011 7:35:00 PM more reviews by annamaria710

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have had my eyes on this shadow for a while now, finally picked it up at sephora today. It is such a pretty electric purple, I used it with my urban decay naked palate ( sin and hustle ) <3 it!
Edit... brought it back to sephora today. Chalky and very difficult to work with. Love the color but for a bars product i expect it to be smooth and easier to work with :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tmbuck on 1/27/2011 9:57:00 AM more reviews by tmbuck

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

Gorgeous color! I was drawn to it the first time I saw it, even though bright eyeshadows scare me. I currently use this is an eyeliner and it looks fantastic.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kimbuyah on 11/26/2010 11:00:00 PM more reviews by kimbuyah

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Curly   Eyes: Blue    

Wow! Brilliant purple color and looks just as lovely applied as it does in the pan. Soft and silky and lasts a long time and is great as a crease color,smudge color or lid color. I'm loving it so far and have just only started playing with it. Expensive but one of my new favorite purples!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Shocking44 on 11/8/2010 9:40:00 AM more reviews by Shocking44

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

As soon as I saw this - I HAD, *HAD* to have it.
I had to fork out a rather large amount of money for it ($48AUD) but...well...I'm glad I did. I love purple and had been looking for the perfect purple. And for now, this is it. its vibrant, but dark. Its. just. amazing. Its pigmented, and lovely to put on, especially for a matte!!
I use it with a base of course, because this colour deserves to be shown as it really is. I espeically love using a black matte in the crease with this just to add that sultry look to it.
So, lets get down to the point:

* I recommend this to anyone who loves purple.
* Its amazing.
* Just go and buy it
* Did I mention it was amazing??

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kitsy on 9/23/2010 5:57:00 PM more reviews by kitsy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

The color of this shadow is super bright and lovely!! Almost like a dark neon purple, and I have never seen another es color like it. I would repurchase it just for that reason alone. As far as quality though I have to say I am REALLY dissapointed. This is my 1st and only NARS shadow and I was expecting it to be very velvety and smooth. I applied it dry with a brush over UDPP and it was terrible- blotchy and uneven. I actually had to go back over it with an Urban Decay es to even it out. I will try it again tomorrow without UDPP and maybe over lightly powdered lids to see if that makes application smoother- great color though!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Eye Shadow products