T. LeClerc • Loose Powder in Banane • Loose Powders

rated 4.2(103 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.74%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* staci01 on 1/14/2013 7:17:00 AM more reviews by staci01

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Other    

The first time I learned about this powder was in the early 90's in the pages of Vogue. As a teen just learning about makeup the idea of very expensive French powder didn't click. I'd see or read about it here and there over the years and as I knew I wanted a tin I didn't seek it out for some reason. Fast forward to last week I discovered, by accident, where I could purchase this in Seattle and I was so happy a little part of me cried. Read some MUA reviews and then very quickly bought a tin the next day. For $50 , and after years of powders that don't work for my moody acne and clog prone skin, I was overjoyed that my skin gets along with this powder! Doesn't clog pores and melts into moisturized skin evenly almost immediately. The yellow tint doesn't make my skin look washed out and it tones down the pink on my cheeks and chin enough that my skin looks even toned and problem free. I make sure to set this with a spritz of Epsom salt water, or toner, and blot with a paper towel. The ingredients in this are : talc, rice powder, fragrance. Very basic. Twenty five grams of powder seems like not a lot of product for the amount they charge but it's worth it as so little is needed if you use a fluffy brush. The packaging is also very simple and gorgeous. Looks very nice on the vanity or bathroom counter and, if I read correctly, the design hasn't changed since the 1800's. My only complaint is that though there is a plastic lid on the inside of the tin, when removing the lid some of the powder poofs into the air. There is a little cardboard sifter that sits on top of the powder , that you press down onto the powder and swipe a brush over, but this moves around a bit and squishes the powder up the sides of the tin which lends to the poofing out (aka wasting money) when taking the lid off. It can't be helped as the sifter ring doesn't fit tightly to the edge of the tin. Still though I'm thrilled to finally own one of these (!!!) and also very pleased that the ingredient list is so simple and I don't get breakouts from it. Will always have this stuff on hand. I finally found my perfect face powder! YAY! ; )

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dictatorprincess on 11/18/2012 7:25:00 AM more reviews by dictatorprincess

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This used to be my go-to loose powder until about 2006 when I found LM loose powder.
I'm super pale (nc15 or lighter) and this powder was a good color match as far as darkness, and the yellow helped cover up some cheek redness. T Leclerc is easier for me to get over here in Switzerland (price is cheaper than US prices whereas LM here is double) so my general MO was to have a couple of LM powders in my stash and this as a backup, and as I got low on the LM I would use the T Leclerc. My system worked fine for years, with the exception of one bad Chanel incident. Like the LM, the "old" T Leclerc was sheer, absorbed oil, and due to my skin tone pretty much disappeared on my face and blended in with my complexion. But my latest jar bought this year has a notable formula change. It is chalkier than I remember, which is fine because I can buff it out, but worst of all it oxidizes. What used to be a lovely skin tone match on me now turns brown-orange. I haven't gotten paler or less red.

If you can get an "older" banane in a swap it is worth a try, but don't break the bank without trying one of the sample vials. I'm so sad to have to find a new backup HG. Will still mark yes on rebuy- it could work for someone NC 20 or 30 who doesn't have to worry about oxidization.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 intheclouds on 8/21/2012 5:54:00 PM more reviews by intheclouds

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Have not tried this but just wanted to let you guys know I stumbled across an ingredient list and there is a fragrance in this powder. May be a deal breaker for some of you.

Ingredients

Talc, Oryza Satira Starch (rice starch), Fragrance



http://www.vermontcountrystore.com/store/jump/productDetail/Health_&_Beauty/Health_&_Beauty/T._LeClerc_Loose_Powder/62072

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 joeyemma on 12/14/2011 4:17:00 PM more reviews by joeyemma

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I managed to buy a BNIB of this from eBay for £14 delivered. I've been using it for over a year and still am not half way through the tub. I apply a loose dusting with my Elf Studio powder brush and find that it works perfectly to set my foundation and minimise any oiliness. I like how it gives a soft finish but without being totally matte and dry looking like some other powders.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mariannepilgaard on 8/26/2011 2:21:00 PM more reviews by mariannepilgaard

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this when the rave was on how fantastic Banane was and what a healthy glow it gives. Well, I guess that depends on your skin tone and the foundation you use because for me this tends to make me look sallow rather than healthy - except for during summertime when I have a deep tan. The packaging is cute rather than functional. I would not repurchase this particular colour as I have found that Chair Rosée is a great match and does the trick for me.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* definesinister on 4/17/2011 9:23:00 PM more reviews by definesinister

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This will last for many years. At first, I would use this to set the powder compact foundation with a fluffy brush. But I notice that using a brush to apply does not set the makeup as well as a flocked sponge or powder puff. I would have to blot twice during the day if I use a brush. Based on one of the reviewers below, I would tap the jar on a flat surface before opening the lid and put the sifter on top of the powder and press down firmly and dab some powder with a powder puff/flocked sponge and tap off excess with your other hand. With the powder puff, I would do a patting motion working the powder really well into the skin. After patting the powder in, it will look really yellow but use a fluffy brush to blend just a little. After trying the second method, my skin looked somewhat dewy yet my makeup was not sliding off compared to using a brush to apply. It's got zinc oxide, which is found in physical sunscreens. It's also got talc in it , so it explains why it looks a bit ashy when patting the powder in with a puff, but it goes away after a while. This powder is marvelous! Especially if you are looking for more color correcting. I would only recommend using it to set any type of foundation (liquid, cream, powder). I'm actually thinking about getting Chair Ocree as I've heard its great for people around my skin tone and lighter (NC30-35). Only downside is, it's hard to get in the States and expensive. But the quality is great and when you think about it, this powder can last you up to three to four years at least (though the jar says it can last up to three years tops). So its better to just stick with one product that is expensive rather than purchasing different products that cost half the price. Thank god for the French! :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sunnyisland on 8/5/2010 12:31:00 AM more reviews by sunnyisland

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Superb yellow toned powder that really flattered my skin by blending so well with its yellow undertones. I didn't really need to apply a foundation beforehand as it worked so well for me. Decent oil control ability as well although not overly good. It's also good that it doesn't cake and doesn't clog my pores. Unfortunately, this doesn't come with an applicator at all, hence I had to get my own brush and spongue. Overall, I really like it and will buy this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sparklehead on 1/3/2010 4:05:00 AM more reviews by sparklehead

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

LOVE LOVE LOVE!!! I use this for everything! Great for setting makeup, highlighting, evening out redness or even toning down blush if I was too heavy handed. The yellow tone is very understated and seems to work with multiple skin tones (in my non-professional opinion formed mostly after attacking friends with makeup). It has a VERY subtle shimmer to it, so I've heard others say they sometimes use it on thier chest on nights out. If you're only looking for a matte powder, this isn't for you but if you don't mind a little shimmer I think this has the perfect amount. I sometimes use it all over my face for a dewy glow, or I will layer it on my cheekbones as a highlighter.

The only drawback is the packaging. It's actually very cute, but there is no way to travel with it and I've had to decant some in order to bring it with me. The top can fall right off and the sifter moves around too must to be of much use. If they would just make it so at least the top screwed on and off it would be much better. I would have taken a lippie off for this, but I would have given it 10 lippies if I could so I didn't.

On the other hand, the size of the container is very generous and a little goes a long way. After three years, I'm only halfway through my tin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gracey1021 on 1/20/2009 8:54:00 PM more reviews by gracey1021

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i have been using this product for more than 3 years now. i really like the color on my skin. in terms of price, t lecler is sold locally for Php1,500 (about $30)... reasonable enough for a great loose powder.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hermitjunction on 12/24/2008 12:40:00 PM more reviews by hermitjunction

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

This is the only powder i have found to be yellow enough to even out my pale-ish pink skintone. I use it over my Giorgio Armani face fabric #8 foundation and it works like a dream...

I will be using banane for life! I wish i could have discovered this earlier.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More T. LeClerc products

More Loose Powders products