Butter London • Marrow • Polishes

rated 4.1(12 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 oflifeandlacquer on 1/6/2013 1:03:00 AM more reviews by oflifeandlacquer

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is such a strange polish! I donít know if I just really love it of Iím just trying to figure out what it is about it that is confusing me. I think I sound a little nuts right now, right? With all the purple polishes in my life, I think this one is rather unique in my stash. I normally donít have anything to complain about when it comes to the Butter London formula, but this one was not what I was expecting. It is so pigmented that I figured it wouldnít take more than 2 coats, but I had to apply a third thick coat because I had some bald spots even though I waited for each coat to dry.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 d1d1 on 6/23/2012 2:35:00 PM more reviews by d1d1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I've been infatuated with the mixture brown/black/navy blue lately, so no surprise I have Butter London's Marrow.

I only own 2 bottles by this brand due to the price tag (CND $17.00) and also most colors are not too anusual: "Marrow" and "All Hail The Queen" are, in my opinion , really modern and creative shades. : )

The package is lovely, the wand's short (1") and the brush is really narrow, I guess that might be a good feature for precision when painting your nails. : ) But for me brushes are brushes: I have no problem applying nail polishes with long, wide, narrow or short ones.

I've noticed already that "Marrow" isn't the long lasting nail polish:2 days later and I see the mild wear on the nail tips (I had added base&top coats, and nails were clean of natural grease). However, I don't find it an annoyance as I really love this color and I paint my nail twice a week anyways.

Most people thought the color was super classy so words like "sweetheart", "lovely", "kind" and "smart", were used spontaneously more than usual. Go figure hah. : )

Anyways, I love this color, formula, application, drying time. I probably would buy another bottle when this one is empty.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 cmyklamb on 3/28/2012 5:44:00 PM more reviews by cmyklamb

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Although I am in love with the Butter London line, this particular polish just does not work for me. Maybe I got a bad batch, or maybe it's unique to this specific color, but the formula is thick and goopy, so unlike all of the other Butter London polishes I've tried. It is streaky and applies unevenly. The color is lovely in the bottle, but looks unflattering on my nails for whatever reason. Very disappointing, but I still love Butter London for their amazing top and base coat.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Julia941 on 3/3/2012 3:38:00 AM more reviews by Julia941

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I love this colour. It's a kind of greyish purple, darker than it looks in the bottle and the shimmer really isn't visible except in direct sunlight. I love the formula, it goes on very smoothly with opacity in two coats. Beautiful. I've already purchased a backup and would purchase again if needed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 bunnyangel on 2/1/2012 11:26:00 PM more reviews by bunnyangel

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I found this shade was much flatter upon application than how it appears in the bottle. The shimmer, though subtle in the bottle, is nonexistent once applied. I think a color this deep needs something to give it depth or shine.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mardi6546 on 10/23/2011 2:04:00 AM more reviews by mardi6546

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

The colour is beautiful. The finish once it is on is great. very opaque with 2 coats.
My only complaint is the tiny thin little brush means it is hard to put on without streaking it, so when I put 2 coats on to even it out it looks as though my nails have ridges.
But all in all it is a beautiful colour and long lasting (I get bored with the colour before it wears off)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ellieface23 on 6/21/2011 1:08:00 AM more reviews by ellieface23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love the Butter London brand, and I love the color purple so I figured I would try this polish out (plus it has recieved rave reviews on here.) Once I got in on my nails, I was highly disappointed with the way it looked my nails. This consistency is wonderful and what you expect from the brand, but the color looks gross with my skin tone and is not flattering. This is one of the only polishes of their's that I haven't really been too keen on. However, I can see that it would probably look great on other skin tones--just not mine :(.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dancerbabe04 on 2/26/2011 4:22:00 AM more reviews by dancerbabe04

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I was expecting more shimmer in this color but it comes off more plain than expected. I enjoyed the color only after being on my nails for a few days. I love all my other butter LONDON polishes so i would buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sabrunka on 12/6/2010 10:47:00 AM more reviews by sabrunka

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

We use and sell this polish brand at the spa I work at, and I really love it!! I bought Marrow for myself and omg, amazing.. Such a deep sexy purple, and like mentioned before, the very micro shimmer only shows up in the sun or bright light, but that's okay. It goes on perfectly with two coats, it isn't too thick or thin, and goes amazingly well with my Seche Vite base and top coat! Definitely get this colour if you can!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TheAscension on 12/2/2010 4:12:00 AM more reviews by TheAscension

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

butter London's Marrow is a medium reddish purple . I'm something of a nail polish junkie and I haven't come across anything quite like it. It's a deep, rich color, and the trace amounts of silver shimmer make it slightly dusty. It's dark and a little bit vampy, perfect for fall and winter.

butter London's formula is a -dream-. It applied smoothly in 2 coats. It's fantastically durable. I throw pottery about twice a week, which just destroys a manicure, due to the abrasiveness of the clay and the moisture. Usually when I get out of the studio, the polish is chipped, it's peeled off a few nails entirely, and the remaining polish is all scuffed and dulled. I use seche vite as a top coat, and they still come out the worse for wear. Today I had this color on, same 2 coats of color and 1 of seche vite as usual, and all that was amiss was a little bit of dullness a fresh topcoat could cure and a bit of tip wear. Crazy good. Other than that, I can't attest to longevity because I change up my polish every 2 days or so, but I'm assuming it will hold up quite well to less extreme conditions.

The only drawback is the price. $14 is more expensive than I'd like, but for the quality and the originality of the colors it's... reasonable.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Butter London products

More Polishes products