Laura Mercier • Bonne Mine • Palettes

rated 4.6(9 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 thammer101 on 12/3/2013 10:28:00 AM more reviews by thammer101

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Really love the product. The packaging and price are just OK BUT FYI, 100% of all profits go to ovarian cancer fund so the price obviously reflects that and this is an awesome gesture for LM to do this for us fems. This product is perfect for mature skin as it is cream based and does not produce a mask like (Kabuki) surface. It is blendable and endless in terms of options and combinations. I am from SoCal and spent most of my time trying to achieve that sunkissed glow and therefore ruined my skin in terms of huge freckles (OK sun damage spots) and therefore I must wear some type of prep to disguise them but otherwise this product will give a clean polished look even without makeup underneath for younger or undamaged skin. I use my fingers to apply and it stays put where you want it but blends beautifully as well. I will be replacing it when it is gone. It lasted for hours indoors and was not difficult to remove. It did not cause any irritation to my skin. The pigmentation is excellent. The golden hues are really gorgeous. The pinks are just right and can be blended to your custom preference. I can see this translate effortlessly from the palest blonde to maybe a medium brunette.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sehartley on 1/11/2013 3:57:00 PM more reviews by sehartley

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love everything about this palette except the packaging.its very sturdy cardboard with pull out instruction cards included.i wish it was in the typical dark brown plastic Laura mercier palette.
Colour wise i can see it suiting everyone except the very pale. The colours are very blendable, not greasy ony dry skin and they have great staying power. A great palette for holiday as its not easily broken, you use your fingers to apply product (so no brushes needed) and the colours can be blended to create many looks.
This would be a great palette for 2013 as the glowy healthy natural makeup look is very fashionable.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* darkharbour on 5/29/2012 9:32:00 AM more reviews by darkharbour

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

One of the best investments for a summer face. All I need to add is mascara, concealer and a clear gloss. This palette contains only cream products, so it is not best for oily skin. Also, if you are PPP or even LLL this may be too dark for you. MMM's on will love it. The largest cake is a cream bronzer that is warm but neutral, and which has no shimmer. There are two cream blushes -- a coral/peach and a berry shade. These can double as lip tints under gloss. There are two highlighters. Neither is terribly light. One is a shimmery taupe and the other is a shimmery bronze. These can double as eye color, and the bronze can double as cheek color. Plus, there are fan-out instructions cards you can pull out of the side of the compact. The creams apply sheerly and evenly. They are not greasy. Lasting time is typical for a HE cream product. But oh so convenient to pack. The colors are buildable and you could go from day to evening easily, with the berry cheek color and more shimmer at night.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sunkissed88 on 1/14/2012 11:57:00 PM more reviews by sunkissed88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I am so glad I got my hands on this at Sephora since it is LE. When I saw this product, I was almost entranced by the cream colors. I really enjoy the bronzer, which is the best bronzer I've found to date. I havent tried cream bronzers before but I definitely think this works better on me than Hoola, Laguna, etc.

The 2 cream blushes arent the most unique colors or anything I can't live without, but I still love mixing them up and using them daily for a natural blush/dewy finish.

I adore the darker highlight color, bc i like to use it for cheek bronzer or for eyeshadow. It is the creamiest formula in the palette and my favorite! I also really enjoy the lighter highlight, but for some reason it appears a bit too pink on my skin (nc30) when I try to use it for my cheekbones. I love it to highlight nose, brow bone, inner corner, etc with it.

Overall, I just love this palette! I'm always coming up with new ways to use the colors and products. I tried the cheeks on my lips though and they were so drying I won't do that again. But this palette just makes me look like myself but better! The cream formula is so nice, airy, sheen but very good buildable colors. I would buy this again definitely!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sonya79 on 7/4/2011 1:32:00 PM more reviews by sonya79

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Neutral   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

It has been a while since I last reviewed a makeup product. I have been experimenting with loads of makeup items and always in search of makeup items that I can achieve the 'no makeup makeup look' in under 5 minutes. I think I have found it in this palette ;) the proof, is when I found myself having to stay overnight at a friends and I had nothing with me but the Laura Mercier Bonne mine palette and in a flash, I had a face that looked radiant and polished in under 5 minutes.

For reference, I am an NC42 in Mac and my skin type is normal to oily. I have black hair and eyes and the complete opposite of the promo face on the palette. This palette is not available in the UK anymore as it was a limited edition in October 2010, and thanks to a wonderful Ebayer ( I love her) who kindly purchased the palette for me from Sephora USA ( where it is still available). She shipped it to me pronto - thank you KassieMC , you are wonderful!!

How do I use the palette?

My skincare routine is simple, cleanse in the morning, Simple Vitaminised face cleanser with my Konjac sponge ( with pink clay). This is the best way to cleanse by the way, takes everything off and gently exfoliates including the eye area. Important for the no makeup look, is nice skin. I moisturize using the Oilatum Face Repair Cream ( use very little, rub the palms and press into the skin) including eye area just to rehydrate. Then for my base, I use the Invisible Zinc SPF 30 + tinted in Medium ( pressing into the skin rather than rubbing gives me a better coverage and hides all my major flaws like acne scarring including ice pick scars). Same thing, a dollop, rub the palms and press into the skin, gives an nice smooth even base, including the neck.

Next,I spot conceal with RMS beauty un-cover up in shade 44 ( any blemishes including the under eye area and the lids- this concealor is elegant and pliable and good for the skin around the eyes- I rather use this than the Touche Eclat which I found very dehydrating despite using and eye cream ). I spot powder using Hakansson The Powder (it is yellow but translates well on the skin) just to set the concealor and alos my nose where it gets a little oily midday.

Then with my palette, I use the bronzer to lightly contour the cheek bones, a little on the chin, the nose, forehead and then the eye lids. The Bronzer is pigmented, light touch is needed even on my tan skin.It gives a very believable glow. I get comments on how healthy and fresh I look when i do this. Blending done with fingers, really. I use the pink/coral blush as blusher ( there is a handy flippy guide that comes with the palette which shows you where to place the products, so goof proof!) . The other creme blusher is a red brick type shade which is pigmented, a I gently apply this shade on days where I am looking a little pasty and I just want put some blood back in to my skin.

There are 2 highlighters, which double up as eye shadows- one is a typical francophile pinky pearly iridescent one without sparkles, and the other a bronze shimmer which I prefer for evenings really. All 5 colors can be used on eyes, lips and face.

For the lips, I apply Beaute cosmetics lip stain in Fluoron very lightly to even out my dark pigmented lips and finish with Smashbox Melon Drama lipgloss.

If I want to up the ante, I would tightline my eyes just the upper inner eyelid with Bobbi Brown Blackened Brown Caviar eye shadow ( I find this stays put foerever without smudging or fall out) and for mascara, I like the Revlon Black mascara for growing lashes ( it actually does work). Brush the brows and apply some Talika Lipocils ( I use the eyelash one for the brows) to keep it lush and thick.

The Pros of the palette:
1. Easy, handy, portable and lovely texture and pigmentation to the colors
2. Multi -functional for that polished look for any age.
3. I see this working on all skin tones ( I have used it on my friend who is Afro Carribean who is quite dark with reddish undertones to her skin and it worked like a dream)
4. The lasting power is fabulous despite being a cream product, I think it is due to to the Kaolin content in the cremes, my face stays on until I take it off in the evening and that is a good 12 hours.
5. no break outs or milia on the skin.

The Cons:

1. Limited edition, so I pray Laura Mercier will continue to make it and make it a permanent in her line and bring out variations to the Bonne Mine compact.
2. Expensive especially if you have to get it from overseas.
3. If u have oily lids, need a primer or top it off with a shadow as it can crease like a bad makeup dream! ( mine does, but I sweep with finger to even it out)
4. on the lips , the colors are drying due to the kaolin so will need a balm or a gloss to keep lips hydrated.

All in all, the best investment in a makeup product which does what it says on the box, the Elusive French Bonne Mine ( or Good Skin) look is achievable. Using light touch and if you have no brushes, all the better as the fingers do a stellar job with these textures.

Hope you found this review helpful ;)

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 anvu80 on 3/10/2011 6:46:00 PM more reviews by anvu80

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I carry this product with me daily as an emergency touch-up. I literally have bronzer, blush and highlighter right at my fingertips! All the colors look dark in the pallette, but when blended in with your fingers they sheer out to pretty shades that I would imagine suitable for most skin tones. It comes with a good sized mirror as well. I can imagine myself wearing this more in the summer and when I'm traveling as that's when I tend to wear more cream products.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 somhow on 1/26/2011 11:36:00 PM more reviews by somhow

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I ADORE this palette!!!! I read several reviews before purchasing as I was worried about the colors being too dark for me because I have very fair skin. But they are actual very sheer, but build-able. The key is to use your fingers for application and BLEND, BLEND, BLEND. A little product goes a long way. I use the bronzer vail for all over color. The lightest cheek vail on the apples of my cheeks. The darker cheek vail as a lip stain, with some gloss over top, The darker glow vail as a creme eyeshadow and the lighter glow vail as my highlighter. It has saved me on many days when I am rushed for time! It is an all in one for me! I think this would be even better for me in the summer when I have a little color (which isnt much :) ). I am so glad I purchased this! Bravo Laura!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BayRidge on 1/16/2011 10:42:00 PM more reviews by BayRidge

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

The only reason I said I won't buy this again is because I can't see myself going through this very quickly - just because you need so little to really pull off the look! Or at least if its winter time, and you're an NC15 as I am. I can't see myself using this in the summer as I think my face will be too oily, but with a good TM and setting powder, this palette is lovely in the winter. The trick is to find the right combination for your skin tone, so a bit of experimentation is in the works. I'm not a Laura Mercier fanatic, but this palette is worth looking into as its really easy to use, and really does create a "bonne mine." Isn't that something that we all aspire to? She has captured it magically. Well done Laura!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 misselly on 8/24/2010 9:06:00 PM more reviews by misselly

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this palette! When this palette first came out at Sephora I must admit it did not excite me.....I just thought it was just another bronzer type product. I went to a Sephora Laura Mercier event and the National Makeup Artist proceeded to tell me that Laura Mercier first designed this for Sarah Jessica Parker in mind and apparently Gwenyth Paltrow loves it too. The artist proceeded to apply the Bronzer Veil with her fingers (she said I could also use the creme brush for application) and gave me a healthy glow. She then blended the Cheek Veil colors together and applied that for blush. I think the key here is to use the two cheek colors together and blend instead of using them separately. The Glow Veil colors also can be blended together to use as a highlighter for the top of the cheek. I did not find the bronzer to leave a "dirty or muddy" look to my face.....just a realistic sunkissed glow. If you blend the two Cheek Veils together you should avoid any orangey color and just create a healthy glow...just use more of the plummy Cheek Veil if needed. The artist also topped this with a hint of the Violet Orchid Second Cheek color and from the Flawless Lip Set exclusive to Sephora the Chestnut Lip Pencil was used to fill in my lip and the Sugar Violet Lip Stain topped with the Pink Diamond gloss was added. Gorgeous!! I am so pleased with this look and have been using these colors since my makeover. For reference I am a LM TM Nude and Warm Ivory. My mother also is using this palette and she is a LM Vanilla Beige. Just remember blending these colors is key to creating your own personal glow and you will no doubt fall in love with this palette also!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Laura Mercier products

More Palettes products