Deborah Lippmann • Across the Universe • Polishes

rated 4.2(29 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 shirininx on 12/2/2013 10:19:00 AM more reviews by shirininx

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I cannot believe I didn't find out about this sooner! This is the prettiest polish I've owned (tho this might soon be changed since I got a package of DL glitters on the way). Usually I stay away from blue polishes because they tend to make my hands look 'dirty'. God knows why... But not this little darling. It kind of looks like a jewel up peacock feather from far, and is the only glitter polish that is flattering under all kinds of light. Love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mrbn83 on 8/27/2013 4:46:00 PM more reviews by mrbn83

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

beautybrands.com has Deborah Lippmann polishes all on sale for 50% right now!!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jen5276 on 8/18/2013 8:44:00 PM more reviews by jen5276

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Just awful. This was my first DL nail polish and what a waste of money! It just doesn't dry! I had it on my nails for over two hours and it was still gooey. And it dried all lumpy. I am so disappointed and will never buy another nail polish of hers again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 stefani100780 on 3/23/2013 9:47:00 AM more reviews by stefani100780

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I had first seen this color online and knew immediately that I had to own it. I didn't want to buy it online for fear of the color not being what the photos looked like, but when they started selling Deborah Lippmann polishes at Ulta, I knew I had to check them out. Of course I was weary about the $19 price tag, but I figured, I've spent way more on way less, so what the hell. After buying it, I couldn't wait to try it. The polish is very thin and it took at least 3 layers to get the result I was looking for. The color itself is beautiful. It's a shimmery royal blue with small teal and green circular flecks. The polish has lasted a full work week (with the help of Seche Vite top and base coats). Although the price of it is a little pricey, I absolutely love the color and can't wait to buy more.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sprite26 on 1/17/2013 11:48:00 PM more reviews by sprite26

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I know I'm in the minority when I say this was one of the ugliest polishes I've ever worn in my life. But it really was. Across the Universe is a sheer dark teal with lots and lots of big glitter. The idea is to layer it on for "depth". That's what makes it so special, allegedly. After 3 carefully applied coats, it just looked like chunks of glitter drowning in murk. Glitter is supposed to be pretty! Not submerged under a coat of gross, ugly blue-green jelly. I really hated this one.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Beauty4Ashes on 12/9/2012 11:40:00 PM more reviews by Beauty4Ashes

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This was my first DL glitter polish purchase and I couldn't be more pleased. Across the Universe is a lovely deep midnight blue gel base with teal, green and blue glitter pieces suspended throughout. Such a unique shade. It applies easily and smoothly. It's opaque in 3 coats. If you're looking for a unique shade with a quality formula this is it. I love how fun, yet wearable it is. DL really makes the best quality glitter polishes on the market. I'm a cream, no frills kind of girl, but I have no qualms about rocking this polish at all. Love it! Very highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jaimee on 11/22/2012 10:51:00 AM more reviews by Jaimee

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a really fun nail polish. Since I work in a conservative environment, I use this on my toes or when I am on vacation. It is a bit of a challenge to get smooth because of the large glitter pieces, but it is worth the effort. I am a big fan of Deborah Lippmann polishes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pretty_please on 11/1/2012 9:08:00 PM more reviews by pretty_please

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

One of the prettiest polishes ever! I think the formula is great, very thin so the final result is never a thick goopy mess. I also was very impressed at how easy it was to remove compared to other glitters, I guess that's why I don't mind the pricetag on glittery Lippmanns. Also have to note it's a bit sheer, 3 coats for me are usually good. I'd rebuy and recommend the color!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 butterscotchsunday on 10/6/2012 10:10:00 AM more reviews by butterscotchsunday

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I love the look of this nail polish, I think it is one of the most beautiful polishes I own, but I always dread putting it on because it takes forever to get off. Especially if you paint on enough layers to make it semi-opaque. I've tried using it on top of darker opaque shades, but it just doesn't look as good as when you layer it on it's own.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ceen on 7/22/2012 8:15:00 AM more reviews by ceen

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

You need patience, dedication and many coats (!) to work successfully with this product given its (i) glitter content and (ii) sheerness of pigment.

Having said that, if you can get over these hurdles the end result will be a unique colour and appearance. Works well as one coat applied over other strongly pigmented polishes.

Finally, be prepared for problems with glitter migration and obstinacy, when it comes to attempts at product removal!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Deborah Lippmann products

More Polishes products