Deborah Lippmann • Across the Universe • Polishes

rated 4.2(31 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.74%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tigirlyly on 12/6/2014 8:16:00 PM more reviews by tigirlyly

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Another lovely glitter gem from DL, the girl knows how to make a glitter polish.
1st: deep navy blue and blue and teal glitter: just awesome for fair skin gals that love dark polish
2nd: opaque in 2 coats.
3rd: glitter is evenly dispersed, no need to fish out glitter.

Cons: the price, so I often layer over a navy creme finish to extend the life.
Cons: glitter polish, the removal.

If you like DL, the Across the Universe should be in your nail collex.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 WoodsCommaElle on 11/30/2014 1:39:00 PM more reviews by WoodsCommaElle

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

And here I thought I was well past the days of blue nail polish...but Across the Universe was so beautiful, I just couldn't pass it up! It transforms my nails into mini night skies--the kind you get in the country where you're miles from nowhere and all you can see when you look up is infinite depth studded with stars. I just want to stare at my nails all day long. The effect is so gorgeous I can't really find the proper words to do it justice, so this is one you'll definitely want to try but fair warning: You'll probably get reeled in too! The formula is a bit thinner than some other Deborah Lippmann glitters I own, but this is a good thing because I hate thick, gloopy polish. It goes on fairly easily although you will have to take care to not use too many brush strokes so as not to sweep all the sequins towards the tip of your nails. I'm just getting the hang of working with these chunky glitters and that's the biggest problem I've encountered, but I find that using lighter strokes helps. Also, the dark blue jelly base is fairly pigmented so you could probably achieve opacity with about three coats; however, due to my aversion to thick layers of polish I usually apply a thin coat of dark blue/blue green creme polish first (I like Essie's Mind Your Mittens) so that I can get away with two coats of the glitter. Doing so doesn't give you as much of the sequins-floating-in-a-bowl-of-Jell-O effect as you'd get if you used more coats, but I'll sacrifice that for being able to use less polish since this one is on the pricey side. Totally worth it, in my opinion, but hey, no need to waste it, right? I do change my polish often (about every 4-5 days) but this seems to wear very well during that time frame, and I am NOT careful with my hands--I dig around in my purse, I cook, I wash dishes, etc. but all I usually wind up with is just the usual tip wear. No chips in my experience! As far as getting it off goes...well, it's a glitter. It's not the worst one I've tried to remove (ahem, I'm looking at you, OPI), but it does take some elbow grease. **Please note that I am cheap and I just use the regular drugstore nail polish remover, not the fancy glitter remover or whatever, and this *does* come off with that so you shouldn't have any trouble.** Bottom line: Across the Universe is one of the most breathtaking lacquers in my collection and I have a feeling you will think so too...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shirininx on 12/2/2013 10:19:00 AM more reviews by shirininx

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I cannot believe I didn't find out about this sooner! This is the prettiest polish I've owned (tho this might soon be changed since I got a package of DL glitters on the way). Usually I stay away from blue polishes because they tend to make my hands look 'dirty'. God knows why... But not this little darling. It kind of looks like a jewel up peacock feather from far, and is the only glitter polish that is flattering under all kinds of light. Love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mrbn83 on 8/27/2013 4:46:00 PM more reviews by mrbn83

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

beautybrands.com has Deborah Lippmann polishes all on sale for 50% right now!!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jen5276 on 8/18/2013 8:44:00 PM more reviews by jen5276

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Just awful. This was my first DL nail polish and what a waste of money! It just doesn't dry! I had it on my nails for over two hours and it was still gooey. And it dried all lumpy. I am so disappointed and will never buy another nail polish of hers again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 stefani100780 on 3/23/2013 9:47:00 AM more reviews by stefani100780

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I had first seen this color online and knew immediately that I had to own it. I didn't want to buy it online for fear of the color not being what the photos looked like, but when they started selling Deborah Lippmann polishes at Ulta, I knew I had to check them out. Of course I was weary about the $19 price tag, but I figured, I've spent way more on way less, so what the hell. After buying it, I couldn't wait to try it. The polish is very thin and it took at least 3 layers to get the result I was looking for. The color itself is beautiful. It's a shimmery royal blue with small teal and green circular flecks. The polish has lasted a full work week (with the help of Seche Vite top and base coats). Although the price of it is a little pricey, I absolutely love the color and can't wait to buy more.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sprite26 on 1/17/2013 11:48:00 PM more reviews by sprite26

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I know I'm in the minority when I say this was one of the ugliest polishes I've ever worn in my life. But it really was. Across the Universe is a sheer dark teal with lots and lots of big glitter. The idea is to layer it on for "depth". That's what makes it so special, allegedly. After 3 carefully applied coats, it just looked like chunks of glitter drowning in murk. Glitter is supposed to be pretty! Not submerged under a coat of gross, ugly blue-green jelly. I really hated this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Beauty4Ashes on 12/9/2012 11:40:00 PM more reviews by Beauty4Ashes

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This was my first DL glitter polish purchase and I couldn't be more pleased. Across the Universe is a lovely deep midnight blue gel base with teal, green and blue glitter pieces suspended throughout. Such a unique shade. It applies easily and smoothly. It's opaque in 3 coats. If you're looking for a unique shade with a quality formula this is it. I love how fun, yet wearable it is. DL really makes the best quality glitter polishes on the market. I'm a cream, no frills kind of girl, but I have no qualms about rocking this polish at all. Love it! Very highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jaimee on 11/22/2012 10:51:00 AM more reviews by Jaimee

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a really fun nail polish. Since I work in a conservative environment, I use this on my toes or when I am on vacation. It is a bit of a challenge to get smooth because of the large glitter pieces, but it is worth the effort. I am a big fan of Deborah Lippmann polishes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pretty_please on 11/1/2012 9:08:00 PM more reviews by pretty_please

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

One of the prettiest polishes ever! I think the formula is great, very thin so the final result is never a thick goopy mess. I also was very impressed at how easy it was to remove compared to other glitters, I guess that's why I don't mind the pricetag on glittery Lippmanns. Also have to note it's a bit sheer, 3 coats for me are usually good. I'd rebuy and recommend the color!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Deborah Lippmann products

More Polishes products