Boscia Luminizing Black Mask

3.4

147 reviews

51% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients: Water, Polyvinyl Alcohol, Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel) Water, Glycereth-26, Glycerin, Pentylene Glycol, Montmorillonite, Acrylates Copolymer, Polysorbate 20, Acrylates/Palmeth-25 Acrylate Copolymer, Lonicera Caprifolium (Honeysuckle) Flower Extract, Lonicera Japonica (Honeysuckle) Flower Extract, Ascorbyl Glucoside, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Leaf Extract, Epilobium Angustifolium Flower/Leaf/Stem Extract, Pinus Pinaster Bark/Bud Extract, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Oil, Eucalyptus Citriodora Oil, Xanthan Gum, Iron Oxides (C.I. 77499).


on 5/30/2015 8:48:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

What a hot mess. This is exactly the same thing as the cobalt blue brush on mask made by Max Factor in the seventies, and memorialized in the beauty party scene of the movie Goodfellas. You spread it on, and once it dries, you peel it off like plastic wrap. Except it never fully dries in some places, and it does not peel evenly or completely. You are left with black patches that have to be scrubbed off, and God help you if you get it on your eyebrows or in the fine hair in front of your ears. It also gets under your nails and stains a bit so it would be wise to wear gloves. My skin felt a bit tighter but nothing more. I have mature skin but I have been oily most of my life.



on 3/30/2015 9:32:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Green

it's a weird black color which is fun but it doesn't do much besides dry the living hell out of my skin.


on 3/28/2015 1:11:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is my first written review. Have always been an avid reader but no product ever seemed to impress me to the point of penning down a review. Fortunately, I received a sample of this and tried it, which changes everything! Admittedly, I'm not a huge dabbler of facial masks. This is probably the third one I've ever tried. I'm thoroughly impressed! The mask is very thick, to the point of being slightly difficult to slap on in a hurry. When dried, it's quite the challenge to peel off especially if you didn't get an even and opaque layer on as suggested. I tried it for the first time this morning. When I first took it off, I noticed that my pores did appear smaller. Was rushing out of the house so I didn't take the time to notice the changes in my skin. Came home, popped into the shower and was blown away. My skin feels softer than I've ever felt it!! And the few spots I had on my forehead were almost completely gone. I'm in love! Definitely purchasing the full size.


on 3/23/2015 9:05:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Nothing particularly spectacular about this mask. No noticeable changes to my skin after using it, aside from new found dryness (either in terms of luminosity or in a reduction of blackheads). I've used it on and off for a few months, and have finally given up on it. It is always somewhat satisfying to peel off masks, although this one wasn't that great aside from this. It does takes a while to dry, which isn't an issue for me.


on 3/15/2015 4:51:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I got a sample of this a while ago and it isn't amazing but it isn't bad either. I am not a fan of peel masks so I already don't like it that much. But when I did use it, I noticed that it did lift some of my blackheads out and my skin felt pretty clean to me. I'm not going to go buy a full size of it though just because peel off masks like this one can cause some irritation on my skin.
I do think that this is a good mask though if you enjoy peel off masks and if you have a lot of blackheads. When I pulled it off, my pores looked smaller and there were less blackheads. I didn't breakout after using it either so that was nice as well. I feel like if you don't want to use pore strips or you can't find any you like this could be a good alternative to that. To me they seemed to do the same thing but the peel mask can get into every little spot better than a peel strip.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love masks of every kind. My favorites are peeling masks. I have to use them once to twice a week.

Anyway, Boscia's luminizing black mask is my favorite from them. I think, yes it does hurt, but pain is gain right? It doesn't irritate my skin even though it hurts. No redness is left behind from it and it seems to brighten my skin. I can see all the blackheads (and some hairs - yes it's pretty strong) it removed. I feel that I've truly done some "deep cleaning" with this mask. However, with all clay-like masks, this is pretty trying, so you should moisturize afterwards. I have repurchased the mini one at least 6-7 times already. In my experience with this mask, YOU NEED TO APPLY IT VERY GENEROUSLY FOR IT TO BE EFFECTIVE.

I do think it is a bit pricey - so I wait until Sephora's Black Friday and get all the mini ones. My tip is after you finish using it, cut the top, and you can use the mask 2-3 more times. Amazing stuff.


on 3/4/2015 2:38:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Black

I'm conflicted about this mask. For reference, I have extremely dry, sensitive skin due to illness so I was excited to try this because of it's claims of luminosity. I have relatively perfect skin (no blemishes, discoloration, pores, etc...) so I like to use masks to make sure it stays that way. Plus they're fun, you know? Now because I have such dry, sensitive skin I didn't apply this everywhere. I applied it in areas most likely to get congested like the center of the forehead, chin, nose, and center of the face. Now when I took it off, I didn't have a problem with my peach fuzz getting waxed off (phew!), maybe because I did the mask in pieces. However, it came off in patches and was a motherhugger to get off. Anyways, the aftereffect was my skin feeling very smooth. I didn't feel like it really detoxified and got no luminosity. Some of my dry patches were enhanced, although that may have been from rubbing to try to get it off. Overall, if you have minor problems with skin texture, I think you may like this. Otherwise, I think this is overpriced for what it is and there are way better masks out there.


on 2/8/2015 11:47:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

The mask was really hard to rinse, get off. Really hard. It says that it is clay and I have used other clay masks and because this one was different, I was a little confused. The ingredients say it has something called polyvinyl alcohol. That is found in hairspray. It left my face pretty dry. I usually like Boscia, but I did not much like this mask.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This stuff hurts!!!!! Did remove all my little facial fuzz and some dead skin. did not make any obvious changes to my skin. Took such a long time to peel off. Did I mention it hurts ?


on 2/2/2015 7:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I wanted to try this mask because I use the black gel moisturizer and I LOVE it. But this mask was not easy to peel off. I spent 15 minutes in front of the mirror just trying to pick pieces of it off. However it did make my skin feel very smooth and detoxified. Luckily I didn't buy the mask and only tried the sample. I won't be purchasing this mask.


Popular Masks


Mint Julep Masque
Mint Julep Masque
4224 Reviews
Aspirin Mask
Aspirin Mask
2239 Reviews
Back to Top