Boscia • Luminizing Black Mask • Masks

rated 3.5(137 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 jesswein on 1/26/2015 12:39:00 PM more reviews by jesswein

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Luckily, I got a deluxe sample of this through my Sephora Beauty Insider Awards and didn't purchase it, but I wasn't really happy with this mask.

Boscia describes it as: "A groundbreaking, mineral-rich mask that peels off to deliver powerful detoxifying, purifying, and brightening effects."

My redness and breakouts had no noticeable changes, and my skin was definitely not brightened nor was it illuminated. I noticed some exfoliating effects, but this could have been achieved by my normal exfoliator.

The peel-off technology was satisfying for about 30 seconds, until there was black gunk everywhere. I got bored and opted to wash it off, which was both time-consuming and messy.

Look for the REN Glycolic Renewal Mask instead of this one, delivers amazing results for a similar price point.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 yenvyme80 on 1/26/2015 12:15:00 PM more reviews by yenvyme80

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Black, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Nothing luminizing about this! Was a tad painful pulling off. Did indeed remove all my little facial fuzz and some dead skin. For some strange reason my face got extremely oily after the dryness faded. I will stick with supermud :-/

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Lisimar on 1/24/2015 10:27:00 PM more reviews by Lisimar

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I liked this mask, but it was nothing special. I enjoyed the "peel-off" aspect, but I was really hoping for more of a deep-pore extraction like a pore strip would do. I have been looking for a mask that would peel off like a pore strip but in liquid form so I could get coverage around my nose and on my chin. It was fun to put on because it is very black in color and thick, but it just didn't get everything as clean as I wanted. I would definitely avoid putting this where you might have "peach fuzz" hairs... It would definitely hurt those areas of the mask was put directly over. If you accidentally get this mask on a part of your face where it really hurts to peel off, the mask comes off easily with make up remover or a cleanser. All in all, it's an okay product, but it just wasn't strong enough for what I was looking for it to do.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 inezhor on 1/6/2015 1:18:00 AM more reviews by inezhor

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I find this mask pretty average.

Pros: - I have sensitive skin but it doesn't make me breakout (yay)
- My face feels a little smoother after removing the mask.
- The peeling thing is fun because I find some satisfaction in peeling off the mask



Cons: - not much difference after the second use.
- Kind of expensive for a small bottle of mask that doesn't work much (for me). It's around USD$38 / SGD$50
- DO NOT apply it anywhere near the orbital bone omg. During my first try, I was a little careless and applied it slightly above my orbital bone and also too near my eyes at the nose bridge area and it stung like hell and made my eyes tear badly. I had to close my eyes till the mask dried up and I peeled it off with my eyes still closed (lol i know). However, during my second try, I was way more careful (and wearing my lenses so I can see clearer -I am around 700 degrees in each eye) and it didn't sting my eyes at all.

Overall, ok mask for me. Sitting on the fence for this one. Have tried better though haha. I hope this mask works better for you than it did for me!




    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Dentalhygienist84 on 1/5/2015 11:31:00 PM more reviews by Dentalhygienist84

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I liked this mask a lot. After I removed it my skin looked even toned. It exfoliates well. It is a little difficult to apply, my trick is that I apply it on thick with small strokes. I like to rotate my face creams and masks, once I finished this I didn't purchase another one right away but I will again soon. It is slightly pricey also :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Jhe9488 on 1/2/2015 10:32:00 PM more reviews by Jhe9488

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This mask does an absolutely amazing job of smoothing my skin and getting rid of black heads on my nose. It peels off really well in one piece if you put on a nice thick layer and let it completely dry. I don't really notice much of a luminizing effect (which I do with the bright white mask). My biggest gripe with it is that it takes so long to dry (~30min) and it hurts like a f***** to peel off, more so than any of the other Boscia peel off masks and I've tried them all. This is a T-zone only mask for me as I just can't handle how much it hurts on my cheeks, but would totally repurchase because of how well it works on those blackheads.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 luusk1125 on 12/14/2014 1:51:00 PM more reviews by luusk1125

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is a black colored peel off mask that brightens the skin and get rid of dry flaky skin, thus makeing removing blackheads easier with an extractor tool or Q-tip. The downside is after I use this my skin becomes oilier pores are more enlarged and get clogged easier. Then I start to breakout.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 prettylilgurl on 12/12/2014 7:34:00 PM more reviews by prettylilgurl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

This mask is amazing! In the beginning I was not a fan of it. The reason why I disliked it was because I was not applying the product correctly. I gave it more tries and actually like this mask compared to the charcoal mask by origins. This black mask works just like a pore strip! You can actually see the white heads picked up on the mask.
Application tips:
* Apply the mask evenly to the area of concerns (ex: nose) or entire face.
*Around the edges of the area where you will be masking apply a THICK layer to make the peeling process easier.
*Let the mask fully dry before attempting to remove it.
The charcoal makes the face more luminous right after!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lovemylife on 11/22/2014 3:45:00 PM more reviews by lovemylife

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

I was a little tentative about trying this mask after reading some reviews. But turns out it's awesome. I applied a not-too-thick-but-not-thin layer with a foundation brush, and let it dry completely, which took 35-40 min the first time (dried in about 30 min the second time, maybe because the room was dry). It does tighten as it dries, and peels off in one big piece. It's like a giant Biore pore strip for the face. If you can get it, there's a full sized product combined with konjac sponge and Black cleanser for just a few dollars more than the cost of the mask alone. Totally worth it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 knmichel90 on 11/18/2014 2:58:00 AM more reviews by knmichel90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is a really great mask for before a night out or event. It does an amazing job of clearing out the "gunk" and making skin smooth and even- makeup goes on so much nicer afterwards! If you have acne, it won't clear it up, but it doesn't make it worse, either. It does hurt a bit peeling it off (or maybe I'm just a baby) but worth it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Boscia products

More Masks products