Boscia • Luminizing Black Mask • Masks

rated 3.4(117 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.49%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 charmaineloves on 3/8/2014 6:26:00 PM more reviews by charmaineloves

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

So this product is an okay product, I would use it, but I will never pay 34 bucks if I can get something better for $1.50. I was always a fan of the daiso charcoal mask, cheap and sweet, if you know how to use this product (apply a thick layer and wait for it to dry COMPLETELY, then peel it off from the bottom), you're gonna love it. The same hong applies to the boscia black mask. I guess it's the expensive price that made me expect more from the boscia mask, but it turns out that it's exactly the same and it's actually not as effective as the daiso one. It extracts some of my whiteheads but the daiso one extracts more. So after one use, I immediately returned it at sephora. Just try the daiso one, you'll like it better.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mariella99 on 2/9/2014 8:31:00 AM more reviews by mariella99

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I have avoided peel off masks for YEARS. I used a few back in the 70's or 80's, maybe, and found they were very irritating to my skin. So it was with some wariness that I decided to try the generous sample tube I got in a Sephora points perk. I only applied this on my nose (and even that had me worried as I have a broken capillary there and didn't want to aggravate it). I put this on after cleaning my face at the end of the day and lay down in bed to read for the half hour this calls for. Of course, the inevitable happened and I fell asleep for 2 or 3 hours and woke in the middle of the night quite concerned that I wouldn't be able to peel this off, would have to soak it off and, most of all, that I'd done some damage to my skin! Glad to say that this peeled off just fine and with absolutely no irritation. The pores on my nose definitely looked smaller and "cleaner" (I realize this is entirely a temporary change). I don't know that I'd ever try this on my entire face but I was pleased with the results.

When I put this on, it made me think of patent leather shoes! A bit alarming but still quite a nice mask. I would probably purchase this if I were in the market for a deep cleaning type mask - maybe for use in summer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 JulesLondon on 2/2/2014 9:35:00 PM more reviews by JulesLondon

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

First things first: this stuff comes out of the tube looking like liquid black vinyl. Once it is on your face, you will look like Papa Lazarou. Fortunately, it smells fine and doesn't sting or burn as it dries. Warning: do not get this ANYWHERE near your eyebrows or hairline, and make sure no stray hairs get stuck in the mask, because once it's dry, you'll have a tough time getting it off. And yes, it does hurt a bit when you peel it off, so go slowly.

I was very impressed by what it did on my nose - all the dark little pin-pricks of oil in my pores there were GONE! No other product has done that. As for the rest of my face, I don't think it really did anything. I got a little sample of this for free, and I'll probably use what's left of it on my nose only. I don't think it justifies the massive price tag, so I won't purchase it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 macadelic on 12/27/2013 12:18:00 PM more reviews by macadelic

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

It makes me break out - which is understandable since it's supposed to be bringing everything to the surface, but I find even after the break out has passed, I still have the same amount of clogged pores.
However, it does work beautifully on my forehead. Not sure why...but I don't really get breakouts on my forehead, just those little tiny underground bumps, and this does the job of getting rid of them.
For me, I did not find this painful.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MLee13 on 12/23/2013 10:52:00 AM more reviews by MLee13

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Amazing mask! I read a lot of concerns about how painful it is to peel off, but remember, beauty is pain. It's not really that bad, waxing is painful, and also getting our eyebrows threaded and we still go back every two weeks. You don't need to use this mask every day, once a week should do the trick. I tried it the first time as a sample, and it was enough for my whole face. I saw residue on the mask once I peeled it off and I knew it was for me to have!
I have very oily skin, and my pores clog around my cheeks, nose, and chin so once I felt my face breathe for the first time, I knew I had to keep buying it. I live in Michigan and drove to NYC one year just to get a couple to tubes because they were sold out everywhere else including online. I highly recommend it and you will not regret buying it!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 scrowley2328 on 12/22/2013 8:25:00 PM more reviews by scrowley2328

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I like this mask. I do not LOVE it. The first time I used this I put it all over my face and kept it on for 30 min like the directions said. After about 5 minutes my eyes starting burning and when I took it off I felt all my peach fuzz being pulled. Also the hair on my hair line was being ripped out by it. It does unclog my pores on my nose. I think this directions should say "only for the nose area" because I think it doesn't do anything anywhere else.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 RoxyHoliday on 12/6/2013 8:50:00 PM more reviews by RoxyHoliday

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I swear by this stuff. I use it as a spot mask; just on my nose. That's where my clogged pores are. I can always see and feel a difference.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lilyeffigy on 12/2/2013 5:00:00 AM more reviews by lilyeffigy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

climate warning: I have recently moved from Chicago to Colorado. It's super dry here. I did not have to leave the mask on for 25 minutes. I have combination skin (VERY) oily, acne prone t-zone and dry cheeks. It took all of 2 minutes (maybe less) for it to dry on my cheeks, and possibly 5 minutes on my t-zone. If you live in a dry climate, this is a speed mask. I digress.

So, to address prior concerns:

peach fuzz: Boscia should really do a better job with their directions. I do not think this is for all skin types, and I do not think it should be put all over your face. Put this on areas that are not sensitive, and put this on areas of your face that aren't too dry. I learned the hard way that it is absolutely unpleasant to peel this off of sensitive areas of your face.

stinging the eyes: oh, yes. this happens. see the above statement, and never put this anywhere near your eyes, or the skin under them.

do: put this on oily areas, areas with enlarged pores, or anywhere on your face where you have problems unrelated to sensitivity or serious dryness. This mask removed a lot of dullness. It didn't clear up acne, but it didn't make it worse. It made my face look "better", but I feel like I had a painful learning curve. Not cool, Boscia.

In summary, this is a decent mask, but with better directions (and skin type indication) this could be a great mask. I wonder why Boscia doesn't try to do a better job of streamlining its skincare.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* EmbalmerBabe on 11/23/2013 2:11:00 PM more reviews by EmbalmerBabe

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I tried a sample of this a long time ago, a regular
sized sample is not enough, as you need a lot of this product
to get the correct even layer for it to peel off properly.
I picked up a tube of it on a whim at the Sephora VIB sale.
It is a small tube for the price and you do need A LOT of
product for one application, I also used it on my neck.
It dried in about 30 min. It caused no stinging,burning, or irritation
to my eyes or skin. The problem is this is PAINFUL to peel
off, the box says peel gently from the outside in, avoid the eye
area. It hurt to peel this off, I did not see any black heads stuck
to the mask anywhere, only a large amount of the tiny peach fuzz hairs from my face...ouch. It cannot be good to rip these tiny
translucent hairs from the face. They may grow back darker or
thicker possibly. My face did feel smooth and appeared slightly
"luminized" after. The painful removal process makes this a return
item for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 CarrieGonzalez on 10/28/2013 2:56:00 PM more reviews by CarrieGonzalez

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I think this got rid of my blackheads on my nose but I am not sure if it was really because of the effectiveness of the mask or the rid of how I had to rubbed off the mask after it dried out. It was very difficult for me to peel the mask off and I wouldn't buy this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Boscia products

More Masks products