Essie • BBF Boy Best Friend • Polishes

rated 4.7(14 reviews)

Average Rating.4.7
Would buy this product again.92%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 mairsbeautytips on 1/25/2014 1:55:00 PM more reviews by mairsbeautytips

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

BBF Best Boy Friend: This is The most gorgeous sheer pinkish/rose undertone polish that has a slight opal essence effect to make it ever so pretty on your nails. Another FAB neutral color for us mature woman. The beauty of this color is this, if you are in a hurry-hurry and must have "something" on your nails - BBF is perfect because it dries quickly and remains build-able for the following day as the color is so sheer. For me, it is too sheer to wear alone, so I use it as a 2nd coat over my Essie Eternal Optimist, a winning combination for daytime - anytime! These pale neutrals are definitely allowing me to transition effortlessly from the deep dark colors (mainly reds) of my youth while enjoying these pretty demure colored polishes. As for the cost, I will pay the Essie price because the colors and staying power are worth it. Hope this helps!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alison_k on 9/5/2013 9:10:00 AM more reviews by alison_k

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this based on MUA reviews, and it's a beautiful polish! Unlike other reviewers I don't see this as a beige pink but more of a semi opaque neutral pink with no beige that I can see. Just a couple of coats is needed for a natural look, but I like to apply at least three coats as my nails are often discolored from wearing darker polishes. Three coats covers everything and leaves my nails glossy but extremely natural looking. Love this color!

I wear SH Insta-Dry over the top for extra wear and shine although this polish is glossy enough on its own. I would definitely buy this again, it's a useful polish to have on hand when you need something to look groomed but not too OTT and colorful.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* A9M8L on 8/21/2013 8:29:00 PM more reviews by A9M8L

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is the one polish I own that I will probably end up going through completely and having to repurchase, for a couple reasons. One its very sheer, so you definitely need at least 3 coats to get it to look nice IMO. And two, its just such a flattering pretty color! Theres a lot of neutral/pink polishes I've heard people recommend, but they a lot of the time seem too pink or too harsh looking almost. This looks perfect no matter the occasion and makes my fingers look so well manicured!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 penknifeemily on 8/18/2013 12:11:00 PM more reviews by penknifeemily

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This. Is. Amazing. As an olive-skinned girl -- olive skin has both warm and cool undertones and I'm a warm olive with cool elements to my skin -- I had been going through the usual "clean French manicure" polish recs, like Bubble Bath and Ballet Slippers, and feeling sad because they all looked too candied and cool on me. BBF is neutral, perhaps veeery slightly on the cool side, and one coat looks so perfect with my skin! Tints my nails beautifully and gives me that Giada de Laurentiis look... you know what I mean.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BirdyNumNum on 10/25/2012 2:04:00 PM more reviews by BirdyNumNum

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I've used this shade through the years and it is always the one neutral pink I come back to. Simply the best. It looks like your nails only better and this is true. A very very natural look, but at the same time, it is not transparent or sheer -- provides some coverage, which is important for me as I occasionally get a bit of psoriasis on my nails, so I cannot do a really sheer polish, but I wish I could as I love the natural look. THis shade somehow provides a very natural look, but still gives me the coverage I need. I hope essie never stops making it. Very good for us business ladies who want to look pulled together but not like we think too much about our nails.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DoraZ on 6/24/2012 3:49:00 PM more reviews by DoraZ

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Just got this and can see myself buying it again when the color finishes. You can apply this in one coat with no streaks and it's beautifully sheer, or layer it for a more translucent look. On the bottle and on me this glossy beige pink color compliments my peachy pink skin tone wonderfully. It looks great on shorter nails like mine too, which is always a plus and the main reason I stick with neutrals or paler colors. Definitely give this one a try!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Joseybird on 10/22/2011 8:37:00 AM more reviews by Joseybird

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Gorgeous, gorgeous nude-tinted pink. The formula is amazing -- glides on like a dream with no streaks. With one coat your nails look soft and glow-y; with two they look like the interior of seashells.

Officially my favorite sheer pink np.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 matt44bek on 9/24/2011 5:42:00 AM more reviews by matt44bek

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Have to agree.. this shade is gorgeous. Love many of Essies neutral nudey pink shades but this one takes the cake. Super shiny, 2 coats gives a very polished 'your nails but better' look. I will definately be buying more of this shade as i can see this bottle being used up very quickly. Get it, you won't be disappointed.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 melissamitchell on 9/3/2011 8:56:00 AM more reviews by melissamitchell

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is such a beautiful color. It's so hard to describe, kind of a pale mauve, but with a tiny hint of petal pink. It reminds me of those effortlessly pretty, no makeup, but still perfectly put together girls. The formula is perfect. It's super shiny and flawless. I now understand the draw to the essie neutrals!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Schadenfrau on 9/23/2010 5:08:00 PM more reviews by Schadenfrau

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Yet another excellent neutral polish from Essie. BBF Best Boyfriend (daggy name, I know) is part of the 2010 Bridal Collection.

I've been wearing this polish all summer, and have actually started to prefer it to most of my polish stand-bys. The color is virtually impossible to describe, but I can tell you that it's not the beige color it appears to be in the bottle. Nor is it the mauve that Essie advertises. It is a half-sheer/half-milky neutral pink with hints of both beige and mauve. Despite this, the polish has none of the shimmer you'd expect in such an elusive tone.

For pale people with no strong warm or cool undertones, this is really a your-nails-but-better color. Good stuff.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products