La Roche Posay Effaclar Duo

3.5

268 reviews

65% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Salicylic acid - 0.5% aqua, glycerin, cyclohexasiloxane, hydrogenated polyisobutene, niacinamide, isopropyl lauroyl sarcosinate, ammonium polyacryloyldimethyl taurate, silica, mathyl methacrylate crosspolymer, glyceryl stearate se, piroctone olamine, caprylloyl glycine, myristyl myristate, potassium cetyl phosphate, capryloyl salicylic acid, caprylyl glycol, sodium hydroxide, zinc pca, nylon-12, linoleic acid, pentaerythrityl tetra-di-t-butyl hydroxyhydrocinnamate, parfum.


on 5/19/2015 10:13:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Very nice product, perfect for sensitive skin as it is not harsh like other acne products. But you have to stick with it in order to see results (especially if you expect to see fading acne marks). I use it twice a day but if you have dry skin it might be too drying so try to increase its use incrementally.

I wouldn't recommend using this under your makeup because it makes the foundation ball up.

Also, don't forget this product contains BHA so make sure you use sunscreen when you go out!



on 5/15/2015 10:40:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This product caused me to break out when I didn't have acne, and did nothing for my pores that I wanted to be cleared when using this.
Doesn't moisturize yet leaves the face looking shiny and oily after use. Bad product.


on 5/9/2015 6:12:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This stuff is AWESOME !! I've been struggling with breakouts for the last month caused by a new medication i'm taking, and nothing was working ! I bought this on impulse a week ago and OH MY GOD, my skin has completly cleared and no new breakout has appeared! I use a very small amount of this morning and night as a serum under moisturizer (since i have combo/dry skin) and i feel like it keeps my skin clear and protected under my makeup. I can imagine that it might not do the trick for severe acne, but for my issues, this is perfect !


on 5/7/2015 8:58:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Other, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

when having my bad skin days, I often reach for this product and it really does all the things it is supposed to do


on 3/24/2015 6:00:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I'm struggling with perimenopausal breakouts and thought this would help as its meant to help with reducing spots, clear pores and help with shine breakthrough.

However, I can honestly say it did nothing for me. Using tea tree oil is far more effective


on 3/24/2015 6:07:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The first time I used Effaclar Duo I stopped using it because it not only made my face peely and dry, but bright red too. It stopped the acne, but bright red and peeling isn't better than acne! Now a year later I've picked it up again and am very happy with the results. The key is to use it as a very thin spot treatment in a very specific point, let it dry, than slather on the lotion! Even if you have acne all over like I did the first time, I still wouldn't recommend putting it thinly over your whole face.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/20/2015 4:13:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This stuff is OK.

I do not suffer from acne, or spots as such. But I do have clogged, evident pores and I suffer from old acne scars with very red skin. Very red.

I do not feel like this product has done anything for my skin. I would use it morning and night, then I would just use at night because I found it too drying to go underneath make-up. It did leave horrible dry patches and made my skin look extremely dull and lacklustre.

My pores are not significantly different, nor is the redness in my skin or the acne scars.

I'm not actually sure what this cream is supposed to do. It does smell nice though I do not think it is suitable for those who suffer from dry skin like myself.

I don't think I would buy this again as it made no changes to my skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/13/2015 11:26:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this after reading lots of rave reviews online and was very disappointed. This product does nothing to heal my existing acne and seems to cause more breakouts. I have given this product a number of fair chances praying for it to work with no luck.

Texture & fragrance :
It has liquidy texture that spreads easily and it doesn't really smell.

Packaging :
It comes in a nice tube similar to other la roche posay products.

Overall, I would not repurchase or recommend this.


on 3/12/2015 6:20:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've always had trouble with my skin - I'm never without a few spots. I got a free sample of this to try and tried it but it gave me a rash of tiny little spots wherever I put it. It was good on my acne as it was mild yet effective, but I must have been allergic to one of the ingredients (which is pretty rare for me). The Effaclar foam cleanser had the same effect. I would definitely try to get a sample to try if you are thinking of buying this.


on 3/7/2015 10:31:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I had a sudden bout of acne due to a medication i was taking some time ago and decided to get this after reading the reviews and youtube vlogs. Unfortunately, it did not work for me at all. I used it consistently and did not see any results. I thought it may be due to my medication still being in my system but i tried it again recently for my normal hormonal acne and it caused more bumps to appear instead.


Popular Treatments (Face)


Retin A
534 Reviews
Sudocrem
137 Reviews
4% Hydroquinone
14 Reviews
Nerium AD
73 Reviews
Back to Top