La Roche Posay Effaclar Duo

3.5

270 reviews

65% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Salicylic acid - 0.5% aqua, glycerin, cyclohexasiloxane, hydrogenated polyisobutene, niacinamide, isopropyl lauroyl sarcosinate, ammonium polyacryloyldimethyl taurate, silica, mathyl methacrylate crosspolymer, glyceryl stearate se, piroctone olamine, caprylloyl glycine, myristyl myristate, potassium cetyl phosphate, capryloyl salicylic acid, caprylyl glycol, sodium hydroxide, zinc pca, nylon-12, linoleic acid, pentaerythrityl tetra-di-t-butyl hydroxyhydrocinnamate, parfum.


on 7/22/2015 6:34:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Black

Does it work? For me, Yes! Let's take the claims one by one.

" It reduces the appearance of blemishes". Well it does take down the redness in my skin, so we can check that.
"Unclogs pores" I exfoliate almost daily, and extract my blackheads every week so I can't give a verdict on that.
" Helps to refine skin texture" A lot of people on the internet said they don't like the texture of the product and that it gets grainy on their skin. That never happened to me. In my opinion, it feels like a very light-weight cream that sinks in the skin immediately. And I use it as a serum, putting moisturiser on top. It doesn't feel dry at all, but don't rely on it as a moisturiser unless you are very oily. It has glycerin in it and some silicone so it can leave your skin smooth after use, but the grainy feel that others have experienced might be that their skin is dry or dehydrated when they put it on. If that happens, I would suggest to go in with a moisturising toner or face spray before applying Effaclar.
"Controls the appearance of shine". It has some silicones in it, so it will do that to a certain extent, but not like a primer would. Also, being so light-weight it will not add to the "grease effect".
"Fights against marks". It has niacinamide, which is most likely the ingredient in it that takes down the redness. Also, niacinamide is used a lot in cosmetics because it helps with pigmentation issues. So we can agree with this claim.
This is my 5th bottle (had the old version too and liked it). I try new products but I repurchase it a lot because it helps my skin during it's tumultuous phases when my hormonal acne pops out to say "Hi!". I don't use it every day, just when I need it, and only at night. The main thing I like about it is how is calms down my face, takes down my redness and irritation feel. You know when you feel like there is something alive under your skin that is crawling out? Well this kicks it back down and tells it to shut it. It would be really good for oily skin, but I have dehydrated skin and often get very dry patches and I can still use it if I moisturise properly. Pretty good product. Always in my stash, ready to get out when I need it.



on 6/3/2015 9:37:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I bought this for my daughter, who had been battling some acne near her hairline. We had tried many other drugstore brands, including Neutrogena, but they often left the skin very dry, which left the remaining acne very red, and took quite a while to heal. I bought this item on whim - I admit I was attracted by the little label on the box that stated it had been an Allure magazine winner for an outstanding product. It was pricey, but Ulta offers a generous return policy. My daughter applied this to her affected areas once per day, and within 3 days, her acne was nearly gone! - No read marks, no irratation, or dry skin.. Amazing product and worth every penny. Highly recommend!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/19/2015 10:13:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Very nice product, perfect for sensitive skin as it is not harsh like other acne products. But you have to stick with it in order to see results (especially if you expect to see fading acne marks). I use it twice a day but if you have dry skin it might be too drying so try to increase its use incrementally.

I wouldn't recommend using this under your makeup because it makes the foundation ball up.

Also, don't forget this product contains BHA so make sure you use sunscreen when you go out!


on 5/15/2015 10:40:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This product caused me to break out when I didn't have acne, and did nothing for my pores that I wanted to be cleared when using this.
Doesn't moisturize yet leaves the face looking shiny and oily after use. Bad product.


on 5/9/2015 6:12:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This stuff is AWESOME !! I've been struggling with breakouts for the last month caused by a new medication i'm taking, and nothing was working ! I bought this on impulse a week ago and OH MY GOD, my skin has completly cleared and no new breakout has appeared! I use a very small amount of this morning and night as a serum under moisturizer (since i have combo/dry skin) and i feel like it keeps my skin clear and protected under my makeup. I can imagine that it might not do the trick for severe acne, but for my issues, this is perfect !


on 5/7/2015 8:58:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Other, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

when having my bad skin days, I often reach for this product and it really does all the things it is supposed to do


on 3/24/2015 6:00:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I'm struggling with perimenopausal breakouts and thought this would help as its meant to help with reducing spots, clear pores and help with shine breakthrough.

However, I can honestly say it did nothing for me. Using tea tree oil is far more effective


on 3/24/2015 6:07:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The first time I used Effaclar Duo I stopped using it because it not only made my face peely and dry, but bright red too. It stopped the acne, but bright red and peeling isn't better than acne! Now a year later I've picked it up again and am very happy with the results. The key is to use it as a very thin spot treatment in a very specific point, let it dry, than slather on the lotion! Even if you have acne all over like I did the first time, I still wouldn't recommend putting it thinly over your whole face.


on 3/20/2015 4:13:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This stuff is OK.

I do not suffer from acne, or spots as such. But I do have clogged, evident pores and I suffer from old acne scars with very red skin. Very red.

I do not feel like this product has done anything for my skin. I would use it morning and night, then I would just use at night because I found it too drying to go underneath make-up. It did leave horrible dry patches and made my skin look extremely dull and lacklustre.

My pores are not significantly different, nor is the redness in my skin or the acne scars.

I'm not actually sure what this cream is supposed to do. It does smell nice though I do not think it is suitable for those who suffer from dry skin like myself.

I don't think I would buy this again as it made no changes to my skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/13/2015 11:26:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this after reading lots of rave reviews online and was very disappointed. This product does nothing to heal my existing acne and seems to cause more breakouts. I have given this product a number of fair chances praying for it to work with no luck.

Texture & fragrance :
It has liquidy texture that spreads easily and it doesn't really smell.

Packaging :
It comes in a nice tube similar to other la roche posay products.

Overall, I would not repurchase or recommend this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Treatments (Face)


Sudocrem
Sudocrem
142 Reviews
Lemon Juice
Lemon Juice
398 Reviews
Back to Top