NARS Captiva

4.3

15 reviews

86% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/18/2013 7:57:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have several of NARS matte lipsticks, and they can be a real chore to use. I have to use a good liner and some balm to soften up the texture. But Captiva is really worth it. I am always on the lookout for lipsticks that look good with my purple clothes, and I must say they are hard to find. I was very shocked with I discovered that Captiva is quite a good match for many of them. I am very pleased. Just use some balm and go for it.



Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have a couple of the Nars lipsticks, and this is one. I exchanged a Dior color for this (mistake number 1) as I accidentely bought two of the same color. I am not too fond of his formulas, as I generally prefer something a bit more moisturizing. The SA showed me the color and layered a gloss on top, so it didn't appear so dramatic. I tried wearing without, and it looked AWFUL! I am all for looking vampy, but this was just like putting clay on my lips. Not one that I would repurchase-not because I don't like the color, but because of the texture.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/1/2007 10:18:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Gorgeous deep plum shade but very dry texture. The color is a matte plum with the slightest reddish-brown undertones, very dramatic but not too dark for fair skin. As with most Nars lipsticks the texture is pretty dry and somehow the color sinks into the outer edges of my lips. I'm going to try applying it on top of a lip pencil and some balm to see if that helps. Otherwise this is a very nice and wearable shade for the cooler months.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/22/2006 11:35:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm astounded I haven't yet reviewed Captiva as it is probably in my top 5 lippies of all time (and I have an enormous collection). A deep dark berry w/ a sheer finish--this is understated glamour. More wearable than a red, but with the same impact. A little vamp you can get away with in the daytime even. This is one of my favorites from Nars and I will buy it again.


on 11/18/2006 2:33:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love all NARS lipsticks I have tried. This one is no exception. It is a perfect sheer plum stain that can be built up for drama. It is a great fall/winter color for me- NC42 naturally tan. Beautiful, sophisticated plum lip color.


on 8/22/2006 8:33:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm new to Nars lipsticks and am stunned at how fabulous they really, truly are. Captive is the gorgeous colour of plum skin, a very cool toned, purpled berry that is perfect for fall. This is an HG shade for me, a cool-toned PPP with brown hair & eyes. I can't tear my eyes away from my own reflection after I put this on! The texture is heavenly, I love the matte coverage and lasting power.


on 4/26/2006 10:52:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love this shade. Perfect deep berry/wine with no fushia undertones. This lip color is a part of NARS Emotional Rescue palette (another winner!)and looks beautiful when paired up with just about any eyelook. The application is smooth and most importantly it is quite long-lasting. I top it with a bit of clear gloss and it looks awesome. I will defenitely purchase a full-size of this lipstick!


on 3/4/2006 12:53:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Curly, Other

Eyes: Brown

My holy grail lipstick. Beautiful sheer berry color that does not turn to fuschia or anything scary on me. Stays true. Much more sheer than the dark red-purple color in the tube. Looks gorgeous and makes my teeth look very white. Not too drying. Very flattering. Kind of expensive but totally worth it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/25/2005 12:34:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is a sheer dark berry/plum that is very flattering on my highly pigmented lips. (I am very fairskinned, with reddish brown hair and brown eyes.) I can't wear light lipcolors because they wash me out, and anything that is too pink turns into fuschia on me. I love lipcolors with a bit of plum/purple or brown (rather than pink or red) and this one is great. Although it's a dark color it's a sheer formulation so it looks relatively natural on, just like a nice sheer lipgloss that adds a bit of color. Similar to Tanganyka, but berry/plum instead of brown and with just a big more pigment. I like them both.


on 3/17/2004 9:44:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Captiva is too dark, to purplish/berry pigmented. It makes one look like they've been eating dark berries, and not in a pretty way. I can't imagine this shade would flatter anyone.


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
178 Reviews
provocalips
41 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin



Top Rated NARS Products

image

Coconut Grove

28 reviews
image

Bali

35 reviews
image

Ita Brush

42 reviews
Back to Top