NARS • Captiva • Lipstick

rated 4.3(15 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.86%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sweetcg49 on 3/18/2013 7:57:00 PM more reviews by sweetcg49

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I have several of NARS matte lipsticks, and they can be a real chore to use. I have to use a good liner and some balm to soften up the texture. But Captiva is really worth it. I am always on the lookout for lipsticks that look good with my purple clothes, and I must say they are hard to find. I was very shocked with I discovered that Captiva is quite a good match for many of them. I am very pleased. Just use some balm and go for it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* princessgracie on 1/4/2008 10:01:00 PM more reviews by princessgracie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have a couple of the Nars lipsticks, and this is one. I exchanged a Dior color for this (mistake number 1) as I accidentely bought two of the same color. I am not too fond of his formulas, as I generally prefer something a bit more moisturizing. The SA showed me the color and layered a gloss on top, so it didn't appear so dramatic. I tried wearing without, and it looked AWFUL! I am all for looking vampy, but this was just like putting clay on my lips. Not one that I would repurchase-not because I don't like the color, but because of the texture.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stilagrrrl on 10/1/2007 10:18:00 AM more reviews by stilagrrrl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Gorgeous deep plum shade but very dry texture. The color is a matte plum with the slightest reddish-brown undertones, very dramatic but not too dark for fair skin. As with most Nars lipsticks the texture is pretty dry and somehow the color sinks into the outer edges of my lips. I'm going to try applying it on top of a lip pencil and some balm to see if that helps. Otherwise this is a very nice and wearable shade for the cooler months.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* keahi on 11/22/2006 11:35:00 AM more reviews by keahi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I'm astounded I haven't yet reviewed Captiva as it is probably in my top 5 lippies of all time (and I have an enormous collection). A deep dark berry w/ a sheer finish--this is understated glamour. More wearable than a red, but with the same impact. A little vamp you can get away with in the daytime even. This is one of my favorites from Nars and I will buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chickety on 11/18/2006 2:33:00 PM more reviews by chickety

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love all NARS lipsticks I have tried. This one is no exception. It is a perfect sheer plum stain that can be built up for drama. It is a great fall/winter color for me- NC42 naturally tan. Beautiful, sophisticated plum lip color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chlocat on 8/22/2006 8:33:00 PM more reviews by chlocat

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I'm new to Nars lipsticks and am stunned at how fabulous they really, truly are. Captive is the gorgeous colour of plum skin, a very cool toned, purpled berry that is perfect for fall. This is an HG shade for me, a cool-toned PPP with brown hair & eyes. I can't tear my eyes away from my own reflection after I put this on! The texture is heavenly, I love the matte coverage and lasting power.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* seasplash on 4/26/2006 10:52:00 PM more reviews by seasplash

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I love this shade. Perfect deep berry/wine with no fushia undertones. This lip color is a part of NARS Emotional Rescue palette (another winner!)and looks beautiful when paired up with just about any eyelook. The application is smooth and most importantly it is quite long-lasting. I top it with a bit of clear gloss and it looks awesome. I will defenitely purchase a full-size of this lipstick!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SarahMcD on 3/4/2006 12:53:00 PM more reviews by SarahMcD

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly   Eyes: Brown    

My holy grail lipstick. Beautiful sheer berry color that does not turn to fuschia or anything scary on me. Stays true. Much more sheer than the dark red-purple color in the tube. Looks gorgeous and makes my teeth look very white. Not too drying. Very flattering. Kind of expensive but totally worth it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Chamuda on 7/25/2005 12:34:00 PM more reviews by Chamuda

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is a sheer dark berry/plum that is very flattering on my highly pigmented lips. (I am very fairskinned, with reddish brown hair and brown eyes.) I can't wear light lipcolors because they wash me out, and anything that is too pink turns into fuschia on me. I love lipcolors with a bit of plum/purple or brown (rather than pink or red) and this one is great. Although it's a dark color it's a sheer formulation so it looks relatively natural on, just like a nice sheer lipgloss that adds a bit of color. Similar to Tanganyka, but berry/plum instead of brown and with just a big more pigment. I like them both.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Chevere on 3/17/2004 9:44:00 PM more reviews by Chevere

Age: Unknown   Skin: Dry   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Captiva is too dark, to purplish/berry pigmented. It makes one look like they've been eating dark berries, and not in a pretty way. I can't imagine this shade would flatter anyone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Lipstick products