Giorgio Armani Lasting Silk UV Compact Foundation

3.9

22 reviews

63% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

(Active Ingredients : Octinoxate 2.9% • Titanium Dioxide 8.6%) ------------- Talc • Diphenyl Dimethicone/Vinyl Diphenyl Dimethicone/Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer • Diphenylsiloxyphenyl Trimethicone • Methyl Methacrylate Crosspolymer • Nylon-12 • Synthetic Fluorphlogopite • Dimethicone • Zinc Oxide • Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer • Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride • C9-15 Fluoroalcohol Phosphate • Hydrogenated Palm Oil • Ethylhexylglycerin • Dimethicone/Methicone Copolymer • Caprylyl Glycol • Methicone • Lauroyl Lysine +/- (CI 77019/Mica • CI 77492/CI 77491/CI 77499/Iron Oxides • CI 77891/Titanium Dioxide)


on 7/11/2015 4:06:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This is not my holy grail, mainly because the SA sold me the wrong shade. I've had this for two years and it's not used up. I WOULD buy this again if the color match were perfect.

When I bought this, I bought shade 3, which is too dark and orange for me. In the store the lightest shade looked too light but in hindsight I think 2 might have worked. At the time it seemed to wash me out. Department store light is the absolute worst for choosing colors!!! Normally I insist on getting a sample to take home and look at in different light (outdoors, indoors), but with a pressed powder this wasn't easy to do, and the salespeople really push you to close the sale with promises of an easy return policy.

Then when I tried to exchange it, I was told that some of the colors were out of stock. She did try some other testers on me, but told me she did not think they would look better.

To be fair, it does appear from a visit to the website (7.11.2015) that they have discontinued most of the colors, which makes me wonder if they are phasing out the product.

So, yeah, it's the wrong color. Normally I would have been much more aggressive about returning it, but wore it a few times over a primer and was told by friends it looked fine. But deep down, I know I need a different color - one shade lighter, neutral or slightly warm not too yellow or too orange or too pink.

Aside from that, I do think the texture is very nice. Silky but not too heavy. There isn't lots of fallout (grains of powder that don't blend in).

I prefer the Chantecaille powder I bought after struggling with this. I had the same initial problem - bought a shade too dark but that time the return was easy and I ended up with the color Shell in that (which is not as pink as it sounds).

PROS:

Armani Lasting Silk UV Compact offers quick sun protection

Convenience (you're done applying in a few seconds)

Provides medium coverage

Makes pores less noticeable upon application (this benefit fades after an hour or two)

Smooth finish that is surprisingly good for a powder

Best for skin that is normal, combination, or slightly oily.

It doesn't appear dry but it does feel a bit dry, and seems to control oil.


CONS:

Not exactly cheap at $59

Won't make you look younger (powders don't)

If your skin is dry, this will start to itch unless you have a primer underneath. For truly dry skin, I don't think powder foundation is as flattering as a good liquid.

If you are acne-prone, well, powder foundations are notorious for breaking you out and this is no exception.

I do think it's a great option to consider if you simply must have a powder foundation - I would try the testers of several brands before plunking down sixty bucks, though. Make sure the color match is good and you really like it.

If you accidentally buy the wrong color you'll never love it the way you should, but this is true of all foundations. I would not buy this color again but would be willing to buy it again in a more suitable color. However, I am curious to try Jane Iredale, which is similarly priced and has more shades to choose from.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 6/16/2014 3:53:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

How I wanted to love this... My review is because I developed an allergy to this, and I had skin issues for months. I would like to warn you, that if you have sensitive skin, take caution and read the ingredients (IF you know what you are sensitive to. I don't know what ingredient it is though that clogs me up...) I have used Giorgio Armani Lasting Silk UV Foundation for 2 years and have no issues, its amazing. When I first used this powder foundation, it was to set and create a flawless look on top of my foundation. And wow, did it ever! I LOVED the look it created. After 3 weeks, my forehead developed little bumps and it was so disappointing. It was a long road after that to try and clear it up. In conclusion, if you don't have sensitive skin - try this on top of your foundation for a flawless look, it was so pretty while it lasted.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/24/2013 11:54:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I see no pros of using the compact in my case.

Show dry patches, low/no coverage

Perhaps the shade doesn't suit me.


on 9/7/2013 11:35:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I tried this every which way, over make up, over matte primer powder, just over my spf moisturizer, which is thick. It just didn't last. I could see it patched all over my forehead by noon in the heat at work . I don't have AC at my job, but for the price & great reviews, I thought I would look like a mattified porcelain doll all day, but I looked like a leper by noon.


on 8/24/2013 1:14:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I have been searching for a foundation that's light and comfortable to wear but I have tried tons of different kind and most of them just breaks me out or just wear off. This compact foundation from Giorgio armani is by far, the best I have tried. It's sheer and silky. I finally found a foundation that can even out my skin and feel like I can still breath

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/3/2013 11:46:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a lovely silky powder foundation that blends to a really nice smooth finish.It has good coverage for a powder foundation.It just has a lovely gliding transparent texture. Some powder foundations are no better than ordinary powders, but this is a lovely powder that lives up to it's foundation name. And it has spf 34!Good colour choice too, from fair to dark skin tones.In some ways I didn't want to like this as the price is ludicrous, but hey, it's Armani .I've been using their cream shaper foundation and loved it so decided to try this as I wanted a powder foundation for summer.This is the best powder foundation I've used.If you don't want to splash out this kind of money try the Max Factor facefinity powder foundation spf 15. It's also excellent, I've used it for years.But Armani to me is worth the splurge.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

It is a good powder foundation. It is very smooth and silky and it is not cakey at all on your face no matter how dry your skin is. The coverage is fairly light so I only wear it when I don't feel like heavy makeup or use it as a retouch. The sponge supplied is not good at all so using a brush will give you a much better finish. The only downside is, the compact dries out very quick, I used it for about 5 months and with no dropping or anything the whold compact just fell into pieces. So at the end, I grounded all of the pieces and use it as a loose powder.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/22/2012 3:55:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

One of the best powder foundations I have used. My only issue is that I can't find a perfect color match. I use it in 04, which is close enough, however, its a little on the yellow side (I find the majority of their colors are a little yellow). It's almost perfect, but not quite. It goes on smooth, sinks into my skin immediately, and lasts all day. I have combination skin with an oily t-zone and even in the summer this will last 6 or so hours before I need to use any blotting paper. I use this over a moisturized and primed face, and generally use it wet (kabuki brush with evian mineral water spritz). I like full coverage, and this can provide that, however, if you prefer something more sheer that can be achieved as well. Of all the powder foundations I have used this is one of the top two (neck in neck with dolce and gabbana powder foundation). The packaging is ok, not great, but not bad either. I plan to continue to purchase.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 6/3/2012 9:09:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This was the first powder foundation i have ever purchased, because i have scars to cover up so i usually go for medium to full coverage foundations. I recently came to the realization that it is okay for skin to show through makeup so i opted for this compact at the GA counter. My opinion might short-sighted lol
The color i got was in 6 The color was not totally right was slightly pink (my skin has absolutely no pink in it.. if possible lol) I piled that powder on so the color was saturated
The powder glides on face (with the sponge it comes with) Initially face looks smooth. My hyperpigmentation scars showed through, so with clean shadow brush picked up some powder and spot corrected (not smart haha) Has that pretty 'powdery veil' look.
With in an hour i get oily, just a fact of my life lol
The powder sinked into my skin, looked like i was wearing a light cream foundation EXCEPT on the spots where i corrected hahahaa the spots looked like greyish/dark yellow splotches on my face!
I treated the powder like it was a cream foundation (not its proper function). I gave it another shot, i applied two EVEN coats with hyperpigmentaion slightly showing through. after it sank in. i got coplemented by more than one person "wow ur skin looks waaay better. What hav u done?" They did not realize i had on makeup. It was initially a bruise to my ego but then i looked at it a different way "Hell, i had on makeup that doznt look at all like im wherering something"
It is pricey for most people, but in reality by comparing it to other designer makeup its priced fairly

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 4/12/2012 3:05:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is an HG product for me. Shade 3.5 is a very good match for my light Asian complexion. It doesn't look powdery, sink into pores or break me out. For a powder, it does a good job of hiding the red patches on my skin. Also does a decent job of oil control. Even though the price is outrageous, I'll buy it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top