Revlon • Moon Drops Creme - Persian Melon 585 • Lipstick

rated 4.1(21 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Elankat on 10/15/2014 6:21:00 PM more reviews by Elankat

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

I bought this based on an online rec that this was a good lip color for a Light Summer (12 season color analysis). However, it's not great. The rec originally came from a blogger who thought she was a true summer, then a light summer, and was recently (and in my opinion, correctly) analyzed as a spring. I find this lipstick to be too bright and just a tiny bit "off" for someone who is cool/neutral and pale. The color is okay if blotted and wearable for me. However, the terrible thing about this lipstick is the overwhelming rose-floral smell. It's nasty and reminds me of all those old, hideous lipsticks that my grandmother may have worn. I put this on my lips and the smell makes me want to gag. Even if the color were perfect, I can't get past the heavy fragrance. It's awful.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Saspants on 3/25/2014 1:32:00 AM more reviews by Saspants

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Picked this up while grocery shopping, my local HEB had coupons for 40% off any Revlon product and the color of this lipstick caught my eye. When I got it home and applied some to my lips I first thought "meh, it's gonna oxidize to a weird pink". I left it on and when I went back into the bathroom to wash my hands after putting meat and seafood in the freezer I was shocked at how great the color looked. More important is that it still looked great about 3-4 hours later. This color is a bright, vivid pink with red undertones and just a hint of coral, I would say it's more of a warm pink.

I am very happy with this color and think having something different than my usual nude, or soft "safe" colors will be a nice change for the spring/summer 2014 season.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 VerniePie on 2/26/2014 6:16:00 PM more reviews by VerniePie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I really like this lipstick a lot!!!! It is an awesome bright almost neon pink shade that has this retro feel to it and of course because it comes from Revlon's nostalgic moondrops lipstick line. The color is really gorgeous and has a super hip retro 60's vibe to it. I also like it because it is a warm pink not a blue based pink which is so much more common.

The texture of this lipstick is super creamy and smooth and feels really moisturizing on the lips all the while not sacrificing color or pigment and let me tell you this lipstick delivers in the color payoff department! This is just a fun color to wear and it actually cheers me up when I put it on. As with all Revlon lipsticks the colors are pretty long wearing and last throughout most of the day, you can't go wrong with Revlon lipsticks! Some people complained about the smell of this lipstick but this is just the way the moondrops line smell (I also own Orange Flip) and although it does have a distinct smell, to me it really doesn't smell all that weird or florally like some of the others described but to each their own. This is a fun warm pink if you're looking for a bright pop of color to brighten up your day!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Menolikepolos on 12/16/2012 3:29:00 AM more reviews by Menolikepolos

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

NW10-15 (neutral-cool toned, very fair), blue eyes, Color season is True Summer, Baumann Skin Type is OSPW.

This lipstick is WAY darker on me IRL than in these pics. It looks like hot fuchsia/red verses a hot pink. Ick - not flattering at all. Additionally, it does not apply evenly, and I find I have to go across the center of my lips four or five times to get it as opaque as the outside of my lips. And it wears off and looks like liner very quickly. Yuck.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JoAnnU1978 on 6/8/2012 2:55:00 PM more reviews by JoAnnU1978

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this lipstick. Everything about it. I cannot stand having dry-feeling lips, and while I love satin textured lipsticks they often make my lips uncomfortable. This does not dry out my lips, (which I have admittedly caused to be addicted to lip balms with constant use), though I don't know that I would say it leaves them in better or same condition. They're certainly not damaged in any way by the wear of this (unlike some of the Nars Velvet Matte Pencils!).

The color is bright and summery- without being offensively so. I am completely comfortable wearing this lipstick to the office on casual Fridays, where I would feel very out of place wearing Nars Schiap, as an example.

The scent is heavy, but I am not overly sensitive to scent and can look past it. Others may have a sensitivity to it, and I would say it's a very throw-back perfume-y, synthetic type scent. It does wear off quite quickly after application.

The wear time is phenomenal. I can wear this for 6 hours without touch up (even with a coffee and a bowl of oatmeal on the list of things to do!), and then it wears off evenly to a nice pink stain. Even though this color is bright, I do not need a lipliner to contain it. It does not feather or bleed.

All in all, the quality of this lipstick outshines many of the high end lipsticks in my stash. I have many lipsticks I love, but rare is the lipstick that I can say I wear often. Persian Melon is DEFINITELY one that I consistently go to, and I am never disappointed.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BizzyBunny on 6/2/2012 4:03:00 PM more reviews by BizzyBunny

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Love this retro shade. Total classic and beautiful.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tearupyourphotos on 5/20/2012 3:09:00 AM more reviews by tearupyourphotos

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a neutral hot pink, which you can gradually build so it doesn't look like you have pink frosting all over your lips. It has similar qualities as other Revlon lipsticks - creamy, opaque, and wears a good 4-6 hours. However, I dislike the smell/taste of the MD line and that it's only available at CVS around me (meaning I have to spend $10 on smelly lipstick). I put up with this because it's hard to find a pink that isn't blue-based that looks decent against my skin tone (NC 25-30 with strong yellow undertones); this looks great when I'm pale and tan.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rickisyed on 3/18/2012 6:41:00 PM more reviews by rickisyed

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Its the most amazing hot pink neon color lipstick I have ever owned, it makes me look beautiful. A lipstick can really change my personality from demure to vixen. I love this color, even though it semi stains my lips, its not that long wearing, so I have to apply it often. For $6.99 Im not complaining, this lipstick competes with MAC!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Miribelle on 2/29/2012 2:26:00 PM more reviews by Miribelle

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I picked up this color when I heard it was the color worn by the original Pam Am stewardesses. I was sad to learn that although it is the right name, Persian Melon, the actual color they wore now goes by the name Blase Apricot (#702) in the moondrops line. Like all moondrops this has a strong soapy/chemically floral scent. This comes out to be a BRIGHT hot pink color on my light complexion and naturally pigmented lips. I have not had the bravery to wear it full force in public yet. I do love to use it as a lip stain however. If I have time in the morning I slather it on my lips full force. Once it has sat on my lips for an hour or two, I use a little vaseline and tissue it off. What is left is a BEAUTIFUL and very natural looking berry stain on my lips that lasts all day, even with repeated balm or gloss application. I own multiple moondrops lipsticks and this is the way I wear them all. I recommend it highly because it is far more natural looking than using a "lip stain" product.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 teslafaraday on 1/1/2012 9:49:00 PM more reviews by teslafaraday

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I love this color! It is VERY bright, so unless you want it to look extreme, you need to apply it lightly. Its a very flattering hot pink shade. The formula is nondrying, and lasts for 4-5 hours, even through several cups of coffee. It did not settle into any lines on my lips, and it did not feather (I hate wearing lipliner, so this is a big plus for me!). This color is a lot of fun to wear!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Lipstick products