Burberry • No. 2 Trench • Eye Shadow

rated 4.5(8 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.87%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Geeves1980 on 7/10/2014 11:08:00 AM more reviews by Geeves1980

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Despite the price (which is the only con for me) this is one of my 5* products.
It is the best base colour for brightening the whole area, neutralising any uneven pigment etc if I'm just wearing liner and mascara.
It's also the best brow bone colour for those who don't like shimmery/frosty highlighters (which I don't).
It is a beautiful soft satin finish, not chalky matte cream nor is it sparkly or frosty 'highlighter.
It is a sheer colour, you won't get an obvious block of colour, but this is why I like it. It is just beautiful and natural, perfectly defined and not obvious gleaming brow bones! (If that is effect you are after, you will not like this).
The packaging is very heavy and luxurious, not the best for travelling and yes it does attract fingerprints. It comes with a good quality suedette pouch which I keep it in, so I don't find mine gets grubby.
At 22.50 this is not cheap, but it's a choice I made to buy despite the price and for the quantity and quality of performance, I am comfortable with spending that amount.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DEWW on 6/12/2012 9:05:00 PM more reviews by DEWW

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I am always looking for very natural makeup stuff so this was on my wishlist and as soon as Burberry Beauty opened in Mexico City I ran for it! I am NC25 with dark brown eyes and dark blonde hair, and this is what I wanted Bare Escentuals Well Rested to be, a neutral buttery soft shade so my lids looked fresh. I've been using this on days I don't want to bother with eyeshadow combinations or when I use a bright lipstick. Would repurchase despite the very high pricetag (minus 1 lippie cause this is about 40 dollars in Mx).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* liangaf1 on 2/29/2012 2:12:00 PM more reviews by liangaf1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I just reviewed MAC Paint Pot in Painterly, and I mention this only because Trench is similar in that it provides a smooth even surface to the eyelid. I actually first used Painterly (I couldn't imagine NOT priming the eyelid before any shadow, so even though the shades are similar, I must use both!) then used a brush (not the one that comes with) to apply Trench all over the lid surface. This creates an absolutely flawless even color that can either be left as is for a nude eye look, or can then be played up more. It is the best nude for my pale skin (NC20) because it matches so perfectly. This is the first Burberry eye shadow I've used, and I'm very impressed by how incredibly smooth and buttery the shadow is. The packaging is becoming well known for a pleasant heft - it's very nice with a subtle magnetic closure. I bought three eye shadows and have tried two and am really impressed - it won't take much for me to want to add many more colors to my collection. It's a little pricey for a shadow, but I would say if you're inclined, it's well worth it! *Quick edit* Upon looking more carefully today, I would actually say that Trench has the slightest touch of shimmer, rather than being completely matte.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ilminyia on 10/9/2011 9:27:00 AM more reviews by ilminyia

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This trench Burberry eyeshadow is my HG. I am sorry it costs so much, but I can't live without it. It has a beautiful finish and stays all day. It has a small shimmer or shine, but not much and for me it is just the right amount. The color is perfect and goes with everything, day or night. If I am in a hurry or going to work I usually wear it alone and it makes me look polished. With more time or in the evening I will add in some darker contrast. I have tried but I cannot find this exact color in any other brand.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Katie75007 on 9/27/2011 2:46:00 PM more reviews by Katie75007

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I should never have stopped at the Burberry counter a few weeks ago, because now I am obsessed -- I *love* these shadows! They are densely pigmented, but still buttery smooth and blendable -- making them very easy to work with. Trench is such a pretty, bare highlight or base color -- I love pairing it with Taupe Brown or Midnight Brown (and Rosewood). A must-have!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AnnaMaria on 5/30/2011 3:04:00 PM more reviews by AnnaMaria

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

Oh my! This is so lovely. Who could not love this eyeshadow? I know I love it. It is as soft and creamy as butter. I usually wear it alone with liner and it makes me look alive. Like my eyes but a billion times better. This is amazing stuff IMHO. The only people I could see it not working as well for are darker ladies because it would stand out more, but in that case it would be more of a traditional shadow or a highlighter. I have to just say, in case I haven't made it clear, I totally adore this shade and this shadow (they are so wonderfully textured and wear amazingly well). :) It is pricey, but you get a lot of product (more so than with other shadows), and the packaging is fabulous. So elegant, plus I love the magnetic closure. I was deciding between this and Porcelain and went with this b/c I read that Porcelain has some gold shimmer in it. Trench is part of the Spring Collection from Burberry, which is FABULOUS. I have Trench and Rosewood shadows, Misty blush, and English Rose lipstick (all from this collection), and I love love love all of them. For reference, I'm a cool-toned PPP (NW10). Trench has become my go-to shadow for that polished, put together look -- that "I'm wearing no makeup but look amazing" look that most people (including me) can only get WITH makeup. :) Get this. I read the Spring Collection will be made part of the permanent collection, and I hope that is the case.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ibrusat on 9/11/2010 12:45:00 PM more reviews by ibrusat

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

When I first purchased Burberry eye shadows two months ago I was not a great fan, but they are growing on me - not up to the point of repurchasing them. I prefer to apply the colour by patting the powder (rather than "swiping it") and build it up in layers (they do not look powdery at all). Beautiful eye shadow. The price is very high (22), but it contains 2.5g (it would last me for years!) which is double the amount of Giorgio Armani Maestro and Chanel eyeshadows. Therefore, it works out cheaper than other high end brands. But Becca is much better. This is mostly for Burberry fans, the pay out and pigment of the colour is non existent. You pay for the fancy packaging (which gets dirty very quickly) and for the brand.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 robbinrr on 7/20/2010 12:14:00 AM more reviews by robbinrr

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

The Burberry eyeshadows are gorgeously textured and hued! Trench is a perfect all-over matte shade to use alone or as a base. It is truly the color of a classic Burberry trench (the light tan-beigey-ivory color). I apply it all over my lid and beneath the brow, then wear No. 6 Almond (a perfect matte light-medium brown) in the crease. This combo gives me a perfect classic, polished look for everyday. Everything about these shadows is perfection to me, although they may be a bit pricey for some. I've been searching for the perfect brown for so long and have finally found my HG!

Just a tip ... the best web sites to view the colors are Burberry.com and naturalnchicmakeup.blogspot.com (the best site). On the Nordstrom's web site, the colors are really off.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Burberry products

More Eye Shadow products