Lipstick Queen • Jean Queen • Lipstick

rated 4.0(20 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tigirlyly on 3/10/2014 11:24:00 PM more reviews by tigirlyly

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I end up getting this lippie after I purchased the gloss in Jean Queen. This lippie is a little coral/rose as compared to the gloss which is a pink on my lips. I find it's a safe color to wear on a daily basis. Wears ok, it did not survive lunch though. I will be buying more LQ lippies in the future.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 z71krystal on 11/20/2013 6:27:00 AM more reviews by z71krystal

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I love this natural pink (almost soft watermelon coral) lippie! I'm always feel as though I look healthy or young with this shade. It's a great everyday color and there is something about wearing lipstick as opposed to lipgloss that makes a girl feel a little more glamorous. I found it to be moisturizing as well.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stimwink1 on 11/19/2013 11:14:00 AM more reviews by stimwink1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Yes I'm hooked on this line. I had read several reviews on this and eyed it at Ulta a few times and finally swatched it. I'm generally a cool tone, However, once in a while something will come out very warm toned on me. I see a lot of reviews say they got a pink or Pink/rosey color on their lips. Jean Queen actually gave me a coral/rose hue. Very pretty very wearable. This is a little more opaque than medievil or hello sailor but not a matte at all. I can wear this dressed down or up depending on my other makeup.

Yep this is $$$ but if I'm wearing it and not letting it sit in the tube I'll make that treat for myself. I am a drug store dupe queen but I have to say I am liking a lot of this line for me!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 syashimi on 10/25/2013 2:55:00 AM more reviews by syashimi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

I was on the hunt for a MLBB lipstick, so I was recommended Jean Queen. I've never heard of Lipstick Queen, and I thought the concept behind it is quite gimmicky.

I tried Jean Queen at the shop and liked it straight away! It's a bit rosy compared to my natural lip colour, but it doesn't dry out my lips, which is a major plus!

About two hours into wearing the lipstick, I realised the "shine" in the lipstick has faded and my lips looked like it had some lip stain on... which isn't necessarily a bad thing. But I was expecting it to last a little bit longer.

Personally I wouldn't buy it again. So the hunt for my holy grail MLBB lipstick continues!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MaryEllen on 10/9/2013 4:02:00 PM more reviews by MaryEllen

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Although I love Poppy and her Chinatown Gloss Pencils, I'm finding myself disenchanted with her lipsticks. This looked like a great shade for me, so I jumped to buy it. I found it somewhat difficult to apply (dragged over my lips), not at all glossy, and very drying, as I find all LQ's lipsticks to be. And although the shade is good, it's not great. I swapped it away, and I hope the other person's enjoying it. I don't see myself buying more Lipstick Queen lipsticks in the future--too drying, and the shades are not unique.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 hamelma on 10/9/2013 3:39:00 PM more reviews by hamelma

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I read slot about this lipstick, and decided to give it a try. I love sheer lip colors, and I read a lot of positive reviews from cool-toned gals so I ordered it.

As soon as I put it on I thought " oh heck no". I couldn't wipe it off quickly enough.

It looked garish, and I didn't think it was cool toned enough. It looked to warm/reddish on me.

I have no complaints about the quality of the lippie, or the packaging.

I just didn't find it to be universally flattering.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blacksheep6293 on 8/20/2013 8:09:00 PM more reviews by blacksheep6293

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

count me a converted among the sceptics.
I would constantly walk past this boring, bland looking lipstick at my local Kit Cosmetics. there was always muuuuuuch better, more interesting trends to go by.
I had always considered MLBB lip colours to be pale concealer nudes, light pastel pinks etc...and never really grasped the concept of My Natural Lip Colour But Better, which would be a light flushed pinky rose.

I myself am a fan of Poppy King and her Lipstick Queen line, being a lipstick queen (translation: lipstick hoarder) myself.
Being a bit tired of wearing drastic colours to work- the usual being bright blue based reds to go with my 50's style wardrobe, or a pale nude to go with a smokey eye on a night out.
Realising I really had nothing to go with simple legings and tshirt days (aka casual), I decided to go on the hunt for this elsusive MNLBB.
Googling it, this was one of the photos that came up. Initially it was a lovely dusty translucent creamy rosy pink, with a shiny balmy looking texture. I had to have it. But the description said Jean Queen....thinking 'you mean that boring dirty rose LQ makes?'

I decided to look up reviews. Lo and behold, most people love it, so I lashed out without even testing it on my lips.
It has turned out to be the perfect every day colour. I'm wondering if this is going to be turning into my every day lip. Such a beautiful, effortless but flattering colour I can see suiting a huge range of colours. Happy Lipsticking!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shriekingviolet on 8/14/2013 4:22:00 PM more reviews by shriekingviolet

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Love this color! I'm generally skeptical of "universally flattering" lipsticks as I'm kinda picky about lip colors. I don't look great in warm toned colors, extremely cool toned colors and a lot of "neutral" shades read too warm on my complexion. Moderately cool lippies tend to work best, and that's about how I'd describe this pink. It's a true medium pink, slightly blue in its undertone, but not so much that it starts to lean violet or fuchsia. At least on my NW20 complexion, it's a flattering, natural shade of rosy pink.

My lips are pale and I look totally washed out if I don't wear lipstick. Jean Queen is the perfect shade to perk up my face, and the translucency of the color lets enough of my lips to peak through that they don't look obviously made up. The finish has just the right level of gloss, looking more like you've just licked your lips than that you're wearing something shiny.The formula is soft and comfortable to wear. It's definitely one of the most moisturizing lipsticks I've tried, though it's no replacement for lip balm.

My only complaint with this product is its wear time. I get maybe an hour before I need to reapply. I feel that's to be expected though when using a sheer, glossy lipstick so I'm not too annoyed about having to reapply so regularly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Thrillmore1987 on 5/1/2013 3:41:00 PM more reviews by Thrillmore1987

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This is a great MLBB colour for me. The idea of a lipstick made to be worn with jeans is a little hokey to me but I am glad I picked this one up. Its great to slick on quickly for a no fuss, polished look. I have skin that is quite pale and I really think this perks up my whole face. I also really enjoy the texture. Light and doesn't leave my lips a dried out mess. Due to this slippery texture it tends to wear off quite quickly but it feels so nice, its worth it to have to reapply. I don't normally spend so much on a lipstick but this was a great buy for me as I do find myself reaching for it often. Its worth the splurge for me if I get alot of use out of it. Packaging is also simple and chic which I enjoy. I will definetly be checking out some other LQ shades.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BayRidge on 3/21/2013 6:00:00 PM more reviews by BayRidge

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have just repurchased this lippie... And I never repurchase the same lipstick. Like others, its the perfect MLBB on my neutral 20 skintone. My lips are quite pale, so if I wear a colour that's actually close to their natural state, I look washed out. This provides a perfect hint of tint, not too glossy, but just enough to make my lips look really healthy. It could be a glorified Burts Bees, but this one can actually be built up to a certain extent whereas Burts Bees don't have that ability.

I'm sure there are other brands/colours out there that would also fill the bill, but I don't want to go through the hassle (and cost) of finding them when this one suits just so well. Yes it needs to be reapplied, but this can be done easily without a mirror. And its seriously one of the few formulas that I can wear consistently without suffering from dried out lips. (The others being Ilia Beauty & rms beauty lip shines).

This lipstick/balm is not a ground breaking or edgy colour, but it is really pretty. Or at least it makes me feel pretty, like a better version of myself.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Lipstick Queen products

More Lipstick products