Lipstick Queen • Jean Queen • Lipstick

rated 3.9(24 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ClariceD on 12/20/2014 12:10:00 PM more reviews by ClariceD

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Jean Queen is as unassuming and casual as it was designed to be. A mid, cool-ish pink (Iíve debated with myself as to whether itís neutral or cool, I think it straddles the two) with a sheer glossy finish and some very fine, hidden shimmer to augment the gloss, it works well as part of a toned-down look. It comes into its own when you want something on your lips that meshes with what youíre wearing on your face and otherwise, or if you donít want to give your makeup much thought. That, for me, is most days. This is a lazy route to looking put together.

I have pigmented lips so although I donít get much in terms of colour from Jean Queen, it still adds vividness, polish and uniformity of tone. It harmonises well with my NW15 skin tone and has a brightening effect on my eyes and skin. More pigment could feature, though, without losing the studied nonchalance of the product or even the sheerness.

The staying power is as you might expect from a sheer, glossy lipstick of this type, around two hours if not eating, drinking, etc. Most lip products are drying on me; this is fairly neutral in that regard. It doesnít remove moisture from my lips but doesnít actively hydrate them either, which it doesnít claim to do.

Its packaging appeals to me, not luxe but functional and pretty, a blue metal tube with a lighter blue logo, echoing the lipstick-and-denim concept behind this product. Itís robust, lasting well tossed in a large handbag that contains miscellaneous rubbish including sharp keys. Youíd expect a scratched tube but not so far in more than a year of usage probably once a week.

This joins Lipstick Queen Medieval as a welcome addition to my wardrobe of sheer lipsticks, of which I am very fond. Thereís nothing particularly distinctive about it, but sometimes thatís exactly what you need.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* timothybcat on 9/30/2014 9:30:00 PM more reviews by timothybcat

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have to be brutally honest and say that I think the idea behind this lipstick is hilariously absurd. Is there some woman out there who pulls on a pair of jeans and cries, "Oh dear! Now which lipstick do I wear with these? Oh me, oh my! Whatever shall I do?" Am I the only one who has never scratched her head over this conundrum? That said, this color does complement the indigo blue of jeans very well. So if you wear a dark-rinse denim jacket, this would look gorgeous with it. That's the only way I can figure the lipstick and denim would have any relation to each other.

Anyway, I am OBSESSED with it. The color is just unbelievably beautiful and flattering, and really had to describe. I've really thought HARD about it, too. Watermelon pink? Sort of, but not as bright with a little more warmth. Rose? Maybe, but not quite that pink. It makes my lips look glossy and juicy and pink in a natural shade.

It feels incredible, which is another reason I love it. It's very silky and glossy, and quite moisturizing. It's definitely going to be a go-to lipstick in the winter, but this would definitely look great with spring pastels and summer brights as well. It's very natural looking, so it would go with everything. It's sheer, so your natural lip color is definitely going to alter this color anyway. I mean, it's REALLY sheer, so I lay a lot on for the amount of color I like.

The only reason I can't give this five stars is the lack of staying power. It wears off really quickly. I really wanted to try the LQ "Sinner" lipsticks, which are full-on pigment, but I chose comfort over value. I don't have particularly pigmented lips, yet I really have to layer this on for the color to have impact. Then it's going to start disappearing as soon as you sip something. If you have really pigmented lips, you may just want to stay away. It'd be really cool if Poppy came out with a full-pigment "Sinner" version of this, though!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* snowshoe73 on 8/18/2014 12:53:00 PM more reviews by snowshoe73

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is a beautiful rose color that is almost MLBB. It looks fantastic, the formula is creamy and my lips feel great wearing it. It looks good with or without the denim. However, where Jean Queen--and a lot of Lipstick Queen's lipsticks for that matter--struggles is in its wear time. It's one of the poorer wearing lipsticks, requiring me to reapply every 2 hours or so. And this is without me doing anything drastic with my mouth!

This lipstick is more like 3.5 stars, but I upped it to 4 because it looks so good on me, and I don't mind reapplying that much. But for situations where lipstick wear is important, it might not be the one I reach for.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ltgee on 4/23/2014 3:08:00 PM more reviews by ltgee

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

i really love this lipstick, its a very sheer, shiny rose on my lips. unfortunately i had to return it because it has zero staying power. you literally put it on and seconds later its like your lips just suck all the color right up. its very moisturizing, has the perfect amount of shine and its the perfect MLBB color for my pigmented lips. i love everything about it, but seriously, for $20.00 plus tax this should have SOME staying power! its only 11:30 am and i've re-applied it 4 times already since 9:00 am and i have not even eaten anything yet. at this rate, the entire tube will be gone before the weeks out!

cute blue tube packaging and i can see why this would look great with "blue jeans", its a perfect color to wear every single day for a nice polished casual look.

i WANT to give it a 5 lippie but i just cant. because of the lack of staying power this gets a solid 3 lippies. if this stayed on, i wouldnt care about the price!

going to trade it in for one of the china sticks!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tigirlyly on 3/10/2014 11:24:00 PM more reviews by tigirlyly

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I end up getting this lippie after I purchased the gloss in Jean Queen. This lippie is a little coral/rose as compared to the gloss which is a pink on my lips. I find it's a safe color to wear on a daily basis. Wears ok, it did not survive lunch though. I will be buying more LQ lippies in the future.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 z71krystal on 11/20/2013 6:27:00 AM more reviews by z71krystal

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I love this natural pink (almost soft watermelon coral) lippie! I'm always feel as though I look healthy or young with this shade. It's a great everyday color and there is something about wearing lipstick as opposed to lipgloss that makes a girl feel a little more glamorous. I found it to be moisturizing as well.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stimwink1 on 11/19/2013 11:14:00 AM more reviews by stimwink1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Yes I'm hooked on this line. I had read several reviews on this and eyed it at Ulta a few times and finally swatched it. I'm generally a cool tone, However, once in a while something will come out very warm toned on me. I see a lot of reviews say they got a pink or Pink/rosey color on their lips. Jean Queen actually gave me a coral/rose hue. Very pretty very wearable. This is a little more opaque than medievil or hello sailor but not a matte at all. I can wear this dressed down or up depending on my other makeup.

Yep this is $$$ but if I'm wearing it and not letting it sit in the tube I'll make that treat for myself. I am a drug store dupe queen but I have to say I am liking a lot of this line for me!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 syashimi on 10/25/2013 2:55:00 AM more reviews by syashimi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

I was on the hunt for a MLBB lipstick, so I was recommended Jean Queen. I've never heard of Lipstick Queen, and I thought the concept behind it is quite gimmicky.

I tried Jean Queen at the shop and liked it straight away! It's a bit rosy compared to my natural lip colour, but it doesn't dry out my lips, which is a major plus!

About two hours into wearing the lipstick, I realised the "shine" in the lipstick has faded and my lips looked like it had some lip stain on... which isn't necessarily a bad thing. But I was expecting it to last a little bit longer.

Personally I wouldn't buy it again. So the hunt for my holy grail MLBB lipstick continues!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MaryEllen on 10/9/2013 4:02:00 PM more reviews by MaryEllen

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Although I love Poppy and her Chinatown Gloss Pencils, I'm finding myself disenchanted with her lipsticks. This looked like a great shade for me, so I jumped to buy it. I found it somewhat difficult to apply (dragged over my lips), not at all glossy, and very drying, as I find all LQ's lipsticks to be. And although the shade is good, it's not great. I swapped it away, and I hope the other person's enjoying it. I don't see myself buying more Lipstick Queen lipsticks in the future--too drying, and the shades are not unique.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 hamelma on 10/9/2013 3:39:00 PM more reviews by hamelma

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I read slot about this lipstick, and decided to give it a try. I love sheer lip colors, and I read a lot of positive reviews from cool-toned gals so I ordered it.

As soon as I put it on I thought " oh heck no". I couldn't wipe it off quickly enough.

It looked garish, and I didn't think it was cool toned enough. It looked to warm/reddish on me.

I have no complaints about the quality of the lippie, or the packaging.

I just didn't find it to be universally flattering.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Lipstick Queen products

More Lipstick products