Rusk • Deep Shine Oil Protective Oil Treatment • Hair Treatments

rated 4.2(13 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.84%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Jdeliz on 7/24/2014 11:16:00 PM more reviews by Jdeliz

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I call it "a luster shine infusion". Ideal for dry, highlighted, colored treated hair. I get the best results when applied on damp hair before a blow dry. Never on already dried/styled hair since it is a thick product and can make your hair look dirty or weighed down. Same reason I don't apply it near the scalp. Do not attempt to use this product if you have oily hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bikerchick on 1/9/2014 4:19:00 PM more reviews by bikerchick

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

My hair is long, thick, wavy, and tortured from coloring, blow drying, flat ironing, and curling. The ends are a complete mess. I am always on the lookout for a good oil that will at least hide some of the damage and give me some shine. I found this at my military exchange store for only about $10 for a 2oz bottle so I can't comment too much on the price. I have no idea what the retail price is, but it's definitely worth the $10 I paid. I have only used it on my dry hair as a finishing oil, and it's fantastic. It gives my hair incredible shine and makes all my split ends less noticeable. I only apply a very small amount from my shoulders down and haven't had any issues with greasiness or extra weight. I know a lot of reviewers have complained about the scent, but I really like it. To me it smells quite fresh and maybe a little aquatic. My only gripe is about the packaging. It is almost impossible to pour just a small drop of oil out of the bottle. A pump or even a dropper would have made this product perfect!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 alypagz on 8/31/2013 8:16:00 AM more reviews by alypagz

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I had to do this review over! I decided to give this product one more chance since I have a 35.00 bottle sitting here will all my other hair products! I guess I initially put to much in and it made my hair greasy. I have medium thickness hair that curls a little and is highlighted. I have to use a flat iron to make it look sleek. So I just used a very small amount a dime sized drop after ironing and my ends are sealed and shiny. I don' t use near the root. My hair feels really good too and not stringy. I am constantly fighting those tiny frizzy ends, but this seems to be working for now!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 icestars on 7/31/2013 12:48:00 AM more reviews by icestars

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've read some great reviews on this, and some complaining about the smell/price. I was afraid to buy it at first, and then I saw a kit at TJMaxx for $15.00. It contains 250ml of deepshine oil volumizing shampoo, 250 ml of deepshine oil volumizing conditioner, and 60ml of deepshine oil protective oil treatment. Sold! I was so excited to try this out, as I almost finished using my conditioner+shampoo set at home. But I tore it open and decided to try the oil treatment. It left my hair so soft! Not to mention, it smelled amazing :) I find that the shampoo and conditioner work together really well to work wonders of shine and no frizz on my hair. Thank you TJMaxx!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 yoshiii on 3/20/2013 2:27:00 PM more reviews by yoshiii

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this product. I have tried a variety of serums, but this one does the job well. You only need to use a dime size amount, so the bottle lasts long.


It works great for normal to dry hair, and also on wet or dry hair (probably better when wet though).


In contrast to other reviewers, I still think this would work great on fine hair. You probably just have to use a tiny amount, even smaller than dime amount.


The scent is also very nice and not overwhelming.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Summer8167 on 2/19/2013 12:06:00 AM more reviews by Summer8167

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is one of my favorite hair / Argan oils. I have used a TON of different brands, and have only really liked a few. This is one of them. I use a little before blow drying and a little after to smooth my ends. It is light enough to not weigh down my hair but heavy enough to smooth my hair. Be careful not to use too much as it can make your hair oily if you do. Awesome product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 surfplum on 5/27/2012 11:58:00 AM more reviews by surfplum

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

For me, I don't think that this really conditioned my hair or made it any softer (I have thick, curly hair). But this is a good product to use with beach waves spray or mousse for waves/curls. It weighs down my hair so it doesn't turn into a big pouf and keeps frizz at bay. Smells great too. I bought a 4 oz bottle for $13 and it's lasting a LONG time. I'll repurchase if I don't find anything better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MakeUpIsFabulous on 2/26/2012 11:58:00 AM more reviews by MakeUpIsFabulous

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have tried Josie Maran 100% Argan oil, Kenzia argan oil, and the Moroccan Oil (brand) and none of those worked for my dry thick hair. Surprisingly Rusk's argan oil treatment worked like a charm.
I don't recommend it for thin/oily/normal hair because it this oil treatment is thick and OILY. So I think it is more for those with really thick and dry hair.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 TequilaaSantos on 10/11/2011 7:26:00 PM more reviews by TequilaaSantos

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I found this while
I was lookin for something cheaper to replace biosilk. I dont like it as much, it is very greasy and sticky and I dont like the smell is like nuts or something :( Not any shine to make it worth it. dissapointed I will be sticking with biosilk.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hollydolly24 on 9/30/2011 3:25:00 PM more reviews by hollydolly24

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Silver, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

AMAZING! Its really made my hair manageable, stopped breaking, great shine, great smell! I love it will defo buy more when runs out

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Rusk products

More Hair Treatments products