Shiseido • Pureness Foaming Cleansing Fluid • Cleansers

rated 3.6(88 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 Chinesegirl04 on 4/17/2014 8:52:00 AM more reviews by Chinesegirl04

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

The first week this broke me out like crazy. I stoop using it immediately and put it aside.

I will give it a try again i hope this time it will work.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* NoirAngelx on 4/5/2014 10:32:00 PM more reviews by NoirAngelx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I can't imagine this cleanser working for anyone. Even my father that has oily skin made of steel agreed this was way too strong and drying for him to use. I have combo-oily, clog-prone skin that is prone to dehydration. I had been happily using my Olay Foaming Face Wash for Sensitive Skin but wanted to treat myself to a luxury cleanser (the heart wants such vain things, doh!). I know that the Pureness line from Shiseido is generally good for combo-oily, acneic skin so I gave this cleanser a try. I admit, I love a cleanser that lathers really well, but over time I've learned that it can be too drying for ANY skin type. This one produces a rich, creamy lather that leaves your skin feeling squeaky clean...and seconds after, very stripped. It also leaves a film on the skin which you can feel as you are rinsing it, like that of bar soap. I lived with it, but after using it nightly for a few weeks, it got to the point where it felt like I couldn't move my face, and I developed dry and reddened patches on my cheeks. After switching back to Olay, the dry patches disappeared and my skin is back to normal. For clog-prone and combo-oily skin, I advise to try CeraVe or Olay Foaming Cleanser (Sensitive), Avene Cleanance Soapless Gel, or Boscia Cleansing Gel.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 EvaImage on 12/9/2013 2:44:00 PM more reviews by EvaImage

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Soap. Regular, harsh soap in a nice package with a recognized brand name on it. It leaves your face feeling clean but very dry and lifeless. At first it even caused some flaking. Some very powerful and nourishing moisturizer is a must after using this cleanser. Overall, any brand of soap from a drugstore will do the same thing to your face for just $2-4.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Intermission on 6/16/2013 1:30:00 PM more reviews by Intermission

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I have been using the Pureness anti-shine refreshing lotion and the blemish clearing gel for some time now, so i thought i would give this product a try since i liked the results from the others very much, unfortunately this face wash left my face feeling as if i had just used a bar of cheap soap to wash up.
it left my face feeling tight and dry.
i hate that feeling! even after i used my face cream the tight/dry feeling lasted.
i don't know why unlike the rest of the line this item was such a miss?... its too bad but it was returned.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 coursey on 4/7/2013 10:26:00 PM more reviews by coursey

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

like this product a lot. cleans my oily skin well without drying it out. estee Lauder oil control gel cleanser is good too but I think this is more gentle on my skin especially for the colder seasons.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 whostolemymoose on 3/17/2013 11:02:00 AM more reviews by whostolemymoose

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm not sure what to say about this, I used it for a while and I don't think it did anything but once I came back from holiday (which cleared my skin up nicely) I ran out of Guerlain cleaners (rubbish by the way) I still had some of this and the toner left so I started using it and it cleared up my skin almost COMPLETELY (still had the odd spot during my period) I was so amazed it was the first time in ages I had clear skin. I got a bit ahead of myself afterwards and decided now that I have clear skin i could try cheaper brands so i went for a range by the body shop and it completely messed up my face. I managed to tone it down but my face is still a mess and it's awful, I think I'm just going to have to go back to this because I truly believe this product is AMAZING. It focuses on cleaning the skin rather than overdrying like most products with acne fighting ingredients do. It is quite pricey though (if you buy the cleaner, toner and moisturizer, especially the moisturizer) but when you find a product that works for you this well i guess it's worth it. Also I didn't use this with my clarisonic and I'm not sure if i should, anyone tried it with it?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Whiteday on 4/1/2012 7:32:00 PM more reviews by Whiteday

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Cleans away most of my makeup and I adore how foamy it gets! I still use some toner afterwards but this product does a very good job as it is without drying out my skin. It feels very gentle and I have been using it for almost half a year with zero irritation. The only drawback is that it isn't strong enough to clear out clogged pores.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jaeselle on 1/28/2012 1:41:00 PM more reviews by jaeselle

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I used this cleanser for 12 years until my face got drier, but will always recommend it b/c it worked so well for me for years.

This was my go-to product (i went back and forth between this and the deep cleansing foam)--- I actually liked the liquid better for many reasons:

- It always stripped away my makeup with one wash
- My skin never felt cleaner after using this- it was sqeaky clean and dint have any harsh AHA/BHA acids in it
- 1 bottle used to last me 4 months b/c it's ultra lathering, you only need a a small pump of product to lather up

I always used the Balancing softener after this (which is not a toner so much as it replenishes moisture into your skin). This was my holy grail cleanser for years- great for oily skin.
I have since switched it up to using the Future Solution Extra Rich Cleansing Foam which is off the charts amazing and moisturizing for those who have dry skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 iPhets on 10/9/2011 4:56:00 AM more reviews by iPhets

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Pros:
-Lasts VERY long. I have had this for a few months and I'm still only 1/4 through the bottle.

Cons:
-Leaves a tight feeling after washing.
-Doesn't cleanse very well by itself and strips the skin of oil after washing. (When I use it with my Clarisonic it cleanses much better)

Overall, I would not buy this again because it did not suit me. I think it would suit those with very oily skin more and although its quite pricey initially, I think its worth it (granted you like it) because I see my current bottle lasting me up to another year.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 tiffany0794 on 5/15/2011 5:09:00 PM more reviews by tiffany0794

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've used this once in a while, and I've liked it. It was really light feeling, and I liked how it foamed. But once I started using it everyday with my Clarisonic I started getting really itchy and red spots were appearing on my jaw line. I'm not completely sure that this cleanser is guilty but it is already blacklisted in my head. And once I started to stay away from it my jaw line was back to its normal self. This is just my personal experience, but because of that I have moved on to Shiseido's Benefience line, which I think is a more expensive but it hasn't made any negative impact of my skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Shiseido products

More Cleansers products