Viktor & Rolf Flowerbomb EDT

3.7

9 reviews

55% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 1/25/2015 8:47:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool

Hair: Silver, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Green

I will be the boy in The Emperor's New Clothes here. Flowerbomb is NOT a floral, it is a modern oriental. In fact, I read it as a faux, ersatz chemical-ly dupe of SHALIMAR. It is the "poor woman's SHALIMAR", it is basically a cheap drugstore synthetic perfume, nothing about it smells natural, yet it is still quite expensive...as expensive as SHALIMAR itself.

Which begs the question, why would you want to wear FLOWERBOMB.. when you can put on your big girl panties and, for the same price, wear the classic SHALIMAR instead?

This is truly an example of how slick advertising and beautiful flacon and emballage.... can pawn off an inferior perfume upon the public.



on 12/16/2014 12:24:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I usually wear three perfumes only depending on the time of year: Annick Goutal`s Le Chevrefeuille in spring, L`Occitane`s Pevonia in summer and Issey Miyake`s Le Feu d`Issey Light (EDT) for winter, the latter having been discontinued unfortunately. I managed to stock up on a few extra bottles of Issey`s, but have been on a quest for a new winter fragrance after my stock ran out. I sampled the Flower Bomb EDT at a counter in Bangkok and decided this would make a nice replacement. The fragrance changes ever so subtly as the day wears on, but in a pleasant, mellow way, and lasts all day. The floral bouquet is just right, with a hint of jasmine and vanilla, not chemical or artificial in any way. Surprisingly this wears well in summer, too, just has a different kind of note, without the crispness that the cold weather brings out in it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/1/2013 11:41:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

One of my favorite scents, ever. Not overwhelming yet it lasts! So very nice!


on 11/11/2011 6:04:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this by accident as i thought i had picked up the perfume. The perfume is amazing so i thought this wont be that bad. I was wrong this is nothing like the perfume and the scent does not last long either. Stick to the perfume its amazing.


on 10/1/2011 10:27:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

"Bomb" indeed. The fragrance ladies at Nordstrom are forever trying to attack me with this horrible fragrance. With a name like "Flower Bomb" it HAS to be disgusting.


on 4/12/2011 7:02:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Most amazing perfume ever!
It's a super sweet scent.. it's almost like a rose-y candy.
HG perfume right here!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am on my 3rd bottle of this! I love it. Plain and simple. It is a light fragrance that does not overkill in the floral scent. Unfortunately, it does not last too long. I'd say that the scent has faded by midday. But it is still my all time favorite fragrance.


on 7/16/2010 6:27:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

I love this perfume! Its quite expensive but you only need a really small amount so its worth it and last a very long time. The packaging is really lovely as is the bottle. It is quite a strong scent initially but settles down and is delicious! Perfect for anything..


on 7/16/2010 3:50:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

Don't let the name fool you - FLOWERBOMB isn't an explosion of floral notes. In fact I can only seperate one floral note in the EDT version.




The main thing I love about the EDT is the long top note of green tea; It's so fresh and zingy. It adds a sense of energy and refreshment when applied to skin.

Sadly everything goes downhill from there. Being an EDT the notes of the already soft florals are watered down, so the jasmine envelopes them, so I can't seperate anything else other then the sweetness of the heavier jasmine. Oh; the jasmine does mingle with the lingering tea note, prolonging it further still.

The base is rather flat and boring. Just a commonly used musky sandelwood blend, sweetened up by the remaining jasmine notes. Considering the price and high number of awards I was expecting something a bit more 'wow'.



Scent notes:

Bergamot, green tea, jasmine, rose, freesia, orchid, sandalwood, musk and patchouli.






The heavy, faceted glass is shaped as a hand grenade. The glass is clear, showing the pale pink juice inside.




It's a EDT, so don't expect to get a lot of wear per spritz, despite the cost. It's goes close to the skin quickly and wears of within 4 hours.

As it's lighter and fresher than the EDP you can wear it all year round. The original can cause headaches in warmer weather, but I've not had any problems with this.




Although I adore the more developed tea note in this and like that it's easier to wear, I'll go back to the EDP after I've finished my bottle.

Initially I thought I was being clever by saving a bit of money going for the EDT rather then the EDP, but it's still expensive and is noticably flatter. Nice, but for the price I wanted it to be just as complex as the EDP.

Conclusion: It's worth paying more for the more complex EDP variant.

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
Coco Mademoiselle
1374 Reviews
Chance
Chance
960 Reviews
BOMBSHELL
BOMBSHELL
140 Reviews
No.5
No.5
944 Reviews
Si
Si
44 Reviews
Back to Top