Burt's Bees • Nourishing Lip Balm with Mango Butter • Lip Treatments

rated 4.0(122 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Danielle312 on 1/26/2015 4:45:00 AM more reviews by Danielle312

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Burt's Bees is the best lip balm you will ever use... HANDS DOWN!!! It is has all the moisturizing properties you want in a lip balm...moisturizing, non-greasy, non-sticky, ect...with a variety of flavors that you will love. It has the qualities I always wished Bonnie Bell Lipsmackers would have had besides just the flavors. I have been using Burt's for about thirteen years now and swear by it. I have only ever had chapped lips when I ran out of it and did not repurchase after a few days. I have used Carmex, Blistex, and Chapstick in between just to try out a tasty flavor they have...I always end up tossing it and going back to Burt's because that stuff ended up making my lips dry and crack. This Flavor is another gem to that line. It has all the good qualities mentioned above. This one smells very fruity and tropical. You can definitely smell the mango in it. It is a great product and worth giving a try.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 chixxle on 1/25/2015 3:11:00 PM more reviews by chixxle

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

So far I've tried 3 Burt's Bees lipbalms and this one has been meh. I like the mango smell and at first I really liked it. It stays on for a long time and feels smooth. My problem with it is that it doesn't moisture too well and I hate the finish it gives. It's kind of like a greasy sheen on my lips. It's neither matte or shiny so I don't like wearing it out of the house. Overall, I won't buy it again because I would like to try more lip balms so I can find my HG.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jaimelyn80 on 1/4/2015 5:50:00 PM more reviews by jaimelyn80

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

My favorite Burt's Bees product by far! The balm has a very smooth texture and it smells incredible. I go through this stuff like crazy in the winter. It keeps my lips silky and has a nice sheen.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tripleb on 10/11/2014 7:08:00 PM more reviews by tripleb

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Honestly, one of the best things you can buy if you can dry/cracked lips! This stuff works miracles for my lips. I use a generous amount before I go to bed (as my lips are always dry and cracked by the end of the day) and in the morning they are smooth and supple! The mango tastes really nice too. I bought it online on sale for $5, not sure how much it costs in stores but it was a pretty good deal for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Nyarlathotep on 10/9/2014 8:26:00 PM more reviews by Nyarlathotep

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Grey    

I picked up one of these last Saturday. I've gotta say, I'm impressed! I'm a huge mango lover, so that nice, tangy smell is a delight every time I pop the lid off. I'm sort of addicted to putting it on; the first time I used it, I found myself applying it for two or three minutes straight before I decided that I should stop lol. It doesn't have a waxy texture, it's definitely smooth and buttery (duh), and I love it. I've noticed that my lips are softer and not as dry. Overall, this is a win for me, and I will definitely be repurchasing. Very happy with this one!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Lilymon on 9/13/2014 11:28:00 AM more reviews by Lilymon

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly   Eyes: Brown    

So, I loved this at first. It feels good on the lips. I am a lip balm junky, so I was stoked when this became my favorite. BUT, as time went on my lips got worse. I have dry lips, sometimes that chap. They started to peel and get really chapped. I thought maybe I need to drink more water. THen I lost this, and got a regular chapstick because I was broke and they are only a buck at walmart. WEll, as soon as I stopped using this, my lips magically stopping peeling. So sadly, this just did not work for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MissLerina on 8/26/2014 8:28:00 PM more reviews by MissLerina

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

PROS

- scent

CONS

- does not moisturize
- greasy

COMMENTS: I don't find this moisturizing. It has a thin, greasy texture that I didn't care for. The good news? It smells great.

Will not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jesalyne24 on 5/2/2014 8:23:00 PM more reviews by jesalyne24

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is my second fave Burt's Bees chapstick. It goes on incredibly smooth and leaves a bit of a shine, I think because of the Mango Butter listed in the ingredients. It definitely has that Mango smell-the real kind, not the fake sugary smell found in Mango scented Bath and Body Works fragrances/products. I also find that when the product does come off of my lips, they are left smooth and nourished-just like the packaging promises.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pec on 4/26/2014 10:02:00 PM more reviews by pec

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I cannot stand the smell or feel of Chapstick, I don't find the minty tingle of mentholated or "medicated" lip balms to be comfortable or beneficial to my lips, and I really don't want a lip balm with petroleum (which seems to be almost all of them). So when I came across Burt's Bees and read the ingredients list I was happy to pay the extra cost. I paid AU$6.95 per tube.

I only had enough money for 2 when I was at the shop and to be honest I was a little overwhelmed at the range of products available, so spent a good 10 minutes reading ingredients and comparing tubes. There were no descriptions next to each tube display, so to pick one you had to read the ingredients or just go for a scent you like. I ended up buying this Mango Butter one because of the natural ingredients, but moreso because of the "Nourishing" title.

The tube was sealed with an easy peel safety sticker, so I didn't actually get to smell it but once I opened the tube it doesn't really smell like mango. It just smells like some kind of synthetic generic fruity scent. I really appreciate the safety seal on the packaging, considering these balms are free standing on display. The sticker peels off really smoothly and doesn't leave a sticky residue on the tube. That's my #1 hate with product packaging - a sticker that takes the name of the product off with it, or leaves a sticky residue that attracts everything in your handbag.

This Mango Butter lip balm is moisturising on the lips, it offers instant hydrating relief to dry or chapped lips when applied without feeling greasy or slick, and also doesn't feel too thick and waxy. The moisture does hang around for a while after the balm wears off, and this fact alone completely justifies the higher price for me. The 2 BB balms I've tried are like moisturiser for my lips. I'll use this during the day and it wears off through eating & drinking, but my lips still feel hydrated. I especially love using this as a night treatment. After washing my face, I'll swipe this over my lips only twice and when I wake up my lips feel soft and hydrated.

I really love how hydrating this lip balm is, but I'm not crazy about the scent. It already smells a bit weird to me, and I imagine it's one of those scents that will reek like vomit once the product is nearing the end of its shelf life and starting to go off. I'll continue to use this til it's finished (hopefully before the stink kicks in!) and try a different variation.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lalaapop on 4/18/2014 12:53:00 PM more reviews by lalaapop

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

Soft mango smell which I love but this really isn't moisturising enough! I'm constantly reapplying yet my lips are still dry ):

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Burt's Bees products

More Lip Treatments products