Burt's Bees • Nourishing Lip Balm with Mango Butter • Lip Treatments

rated 4.0(118 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 Lilymon on 9/13/2014 11:28:00 AM more reviews by Lilymon

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly   Eyes: Brown    

So, I loved this at first. It feels good on the lips. I am a lip balm junky, so I was stoked when this became my favorite. BUT, as time went on my lips got worse. I have dry lips, sometimes that chap. They started to peel and get really chapped. I thought maybe I need to drink more water. THen I lost this, and got a regular chapstick because I was broke and they are only a buck at walmart. WEll, as soon as I stopped using this, my lips magically stopping peeling. So sadly, this just did not work for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MissLerina on 8/26/2014 8:28:00 PM more reviews by MissLerina

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

PROS

- scent

CONS

- does not moisturize
- greasy

COMMENTS: I don't find this moisturizing. It has a thin, greasy texture that I didn't care for. The good news? It smells great.

Will not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jesalyne24 on 5/2/2014 8:23:00 PM more reviews by jesalyne24

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is my second fave Burt's Bees chapstick. It goes on incredibly smooth and leaves a bit of a shine, I think because of the Mango Butter listed in the ingredients. It definitely has that Mango smell-the real kind, not the fake sugary smell found in Mango scented Bath and Body Works fragrances/products. I also find that when the product does come off of my lips, they are left smooth and nourished-just like the packaging promises.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pec on 4/26/2014 10:02:00 PM more reviews by pec

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I cannot stand the smell or feel of Chapstick, I don't find the minty tingle of mentholated or "medicated" lip balms to be comfortable or beneficial to my lips, and I really don't want a lip balm with petroleum (which seems to be almost all of them). So when I came across Burt's Bees and read the ingredients list I was happy to pay the extra cost. I paid AU$6.95 per tube.

I only had enough money for 2 when I was at the shop and to be honest I was a little overwhelmed at the range of products available, so spent a good 10 minutes reading ingredients and comparing tubes. There were no descriptions next to each tube display, so to pick one you had to read the ingredients or just go for a scent you like. I ended up buying this Mango Butter one because of the natural ingredients, but moreso because of the "Nourishing" title.

The tube was sealed with an easy peel safety sticker, so I didn't actually get to smell it but once I opened the tube it doesn't really smell like mango. It just smells like some kind of synthetic generic fruity scent. I really appreciate the safety seal on the packaging, considering these balms are free standing on display. The sticker peels off really smoothly and doesn't leave a sticky residue on the tube. That's my #1 hate with product packaging - a sticker that takes the name of the product off with it, or leaves a sticky residue that attracts everything in your handbag.

This Mango Butter lip balm is moisturising on the lips, it offers instant hydrating relief to dry or chapped lips when applied without feeling greasy or slick, and also doesn't feel too thick and waxy. The moisture does hang around for a while after the balm wears off, and this fact alone completely justifies the higher price for me. The 2 BB balms I've tried are like moisturiser for my lips. I'll use this during the day and it wears off through eating & drinking, but my lips still feel hydrated. I especially love using this as a night treatment. After washing my face, I'll swipe this over my lips only twice and when I wake up my lips feel soft and hydrated.

I really love how hydrating this lip balm is, but I'm not crazy about the scent. It already smells a bit weird to me, and I imagine it's one of those scents that will reek like vomit once the product is nearing the end of its shelf life and starting to go off. I'll continue to use this til it's finished (hopefully before the stink kicks in!) and try a different variation.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lalaapop on 4/18/2014 12:53:00 PM more reviews by lalaapop

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

Soft mango smell which I love but this really isn't moisturising enough! I'm constantly reapplying yet my lips are still dry ):

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Lovelaura23 on 4/3/2014 2:50:00 AM more reviews by Lovelaura23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

The best I just bought mine and I can say they are fresh on the lips, I love the smell, I used it as a night treatment

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lizknowsbest on 11/17/2013 10:03:00 PM more reviews by lizknowsbest

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

the product smells nice at first but after a while it smell kind of waxy,not the best moisturizer on the market

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sarahkins17 on 11/11/2013 6:20:00 PM more reviews by sarahkins17

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE THIS!!! I have 2 so far. I feel like I need one in my purse, my car, my room, etc. The packaging is a normal stick lip balm type package. This lip balm smells nice and feels nice on the lips. It's not sticky or greasy. The formulation is smooth. Burt's Bees did well on this product :) I will definitely be buying this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* babyblue59 on 11/3/2013 6:03:00 PM more reviews by babyblue59

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I love this lip balm. It is my current favorite. Super moisturizing, smells and tastes amazing, perfect under lipstick or on it's once. It's amazing. I'm not a fan of original burts, I don't love the intense minty-ness, but this stuff is perfect.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 RachelRexxx on 10/25/2013 1:52:00 AM more reviews by RachelRexxx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

This smells great, but it's too shiny for my personal preference and doesn't moisturize my lips much at all! It's disappointing, I prefer their original lip balm. The label completely faded as well, which doesn't leave for a very attractive product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Burt's Bees products

More Lip Treatments products