Cacharel • Lou Lou • Fragrances

rated 3.9(86 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kyl77 on 12/5/2013 8:15:00 PM more reviews by kyl77

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I bought Loulou without smelling it first. It got such great revews, that I was sure it must be a winner. Perhaps I got a bad bottle or it's my body chemistry, but this smells awful on me. There is this sort of ozone smell that reminds me of the novacaine they give you at the dentist office. I get the sensation of something strongly chemical dripping down the back of my throat when I smell this. Needless to say, I won't be repurchasing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* zeynepd on 11/23/2013 10:11:00 AM more reviews by zeynepd

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

If Lou Lou was music, it would be the wonderful jazz of beautiful Esperanza Spalding. It is this lactonic, slightly boozy, sweet but at times dark beauty that could compete with expensive niche fragrances if it was marketed differently. To me it is a rare blend that can speak to me in a lot of ways. I love its sweet, floral-oriental opening with exotic tiare treated with dark, shadowy nuances that Cacharel has done so beautifully in more than one example. The floral notes transition beautifully into a milky, comfortable scent that reminds me of Irish Cream. Lou Lou is warm, balsamic and comfortable but very few comfort fragrances are at the same time as womanly, voluptuous and passionate.

Good sillage and lasting power (Usually one or two spritzes is enough for the whole day).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* violette on 4/20/2013 8:52:00 AM more reviews by violette

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

LouLou is said to have been inspired by the famous silent movie star, Louise Brooks – which perplexes me because unlike Arpège (another ‘purple’ perfume), LouLou does not evoke that era at all. I don’t know about the original formulation/parfum, but the current EDP smells more like a cross between Vanderbilt (minus the aldehydes & pineapple) & Poison, with the addition of incense, bubblegum & plastic doll notes. And those two scents came out just a few years before LouLou did (Vanderbilt - 1982, Poison - 1985, LouLou - 1987), so go figure. I like this current version well enough, but since I am already too familiar with this smell, it doesn’t wow me. The bottle & box are hideously ‘80s. Cacharel REALLY should update that packaging (though I think the parfum bottle, which looks like a genie lamp or something, is kind of cute in a kitschy sort of way). On the plus side, the longevity is INSANE (lasting practically the whole day on me), so if you have warm skin like mine, you only need 1-2 sprays. Overall rating: 3 ½ lippies.


*From Michael Edwards:

Fragrance Family: Rich Soft Oriental

Notes:
Top: Blackcurrant buds (Cassis), Leaves (Green), Mandarin, Marigold (Tagete)
Heart: Heliotrope, Ylang-ylang, Tiare flower, Mimosa, Jasmine
Base: Incense, Tonka Bean, Vanilla, Iris (Orris), Musk, Sandalwood

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 truffle_me on 2/16/2013 12:28:00 AM more reviews by truffle_me

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love this stuff. First, I love the bottle. It looks like a wacky turquoise plastic new age crystal or something. The stuff inside is similarly witty. To me, it is a dense, heavy, linear scent that has a lot going on but still manages to smell completely cohesive. It's like a plume of creamy-powdery-flowery smoke. I smell individual accords sometimes: the sweet, jammy plum-tiare-tuberose, the cheerful scratchiness of cheap head shop incense, the plush heliotrope-vanilla-sandalwood base... and yet, from beginning to end, this perfume is saying one thing: fun. It's not dumb fun, but LouLou is out to have a good time, and she is strong enough to pull you right along with her.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lucinka01 on 6/4/2012 7:09:00 AM more reviews by lucinka01

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Absolutely gorgeous oriental, the best way to wear it in hot summer!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ShellyMum on 5/25/2012 1:30:00 AM more reviews by ShellyMum

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I'm going through a phase of wanting to revisit old scents from my past. I recently purchased Lou Lou after about 20 years of not having smelt it. It is one heavy potent scent. I cannot believe I used to wear this with reckless abandon when I was 16 or 17 years old!! It is a very floral, powdery, vanilla, oriental scent on me. After placing some into a sample vial, I only put a small dab on my arm and boy does this baby have some huge sillage/projection. I honestly can't imagine how anyone could wear more than one spray. I am loving it however, but it's winter here and I am not sure I'd be enjoying it so much in the summer time. I think I will save it for evenings and winter time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 coolfreshair on 5/24/2012 9:43:00 PM more reviews by coolfreshair

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This scent is okay. It's complex and distinctive, yet somehow delicate and pretty. Not too sure about the packaging but it's definitely and interesting scent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Fleurine on 1/19/2012 9:47:00 PM more reviews by Fleurine

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Notes Top Note: Violet, Plum, Cassis, Anise Middle Note: Tuberose, Orange Blossom, Ylang-Ylang, Orris Base Note: Tonka, Vanilla, Benzoin, Musk


I purchased this cute little blue cone shaped bottle of Cacharel Lou Lou blind, after I saw it got a rave review in a popular perfume guide. I found a 50ml bottle in the perfume district in NYC for around $30-$40.
When I first tried LouLou it was a hot summer day, my first impression was like a harder-hitting, spicier version of her sister Anais Anais. Not too heavy, but a bit more *there*. Rather sweet, irisy, powdery, lily and incense floral, with a hay (?) note, and with the same soft focus feel of Anais Anais.
Goshdarnit, I like this weird little bluebottled new wave fragrance. Still, as I have *a few other* fragrances, I very seldom went back to rewear it. It felt a bit dated- but in a good, desperately-seeking-Susan kind of way.
Then this winter, I pulled the adorable little thing out and tried it again, and over time I am really gaining appreciation for Miss LouLou's complexities. Who are you, LouLou? To me she is Anais Anais in an 80's bright blue party dress, with a dark red belt, and an asymmetrical haircut.

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Leigh2670 on 1/12/2012 11:11:00 PM more reviews by Leigh2670

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I absolutely LOVE, love, love this perfume! I discovered it around 1990 and was still wearing it when I started dating my husband. He still loves it! My kids love it, too. It reminds them of me getting dressed up to go out to dinner with daddy and the babysitter coming, etc.

Because this is so strong ... and warm, spicy, intoxicating, sexy, sophisticated, delicious ... you only need a little bit so it can be discovered on you. I don't like when people wear perfume that announces them. I prefer to keep it subtle. I put a quick spray (not a full spray)between my breasts, dab one of my wrists in it between my breasts, and then rub my wrists together. I love having the warmed scent waft up through my body for the next several hours--it lasts a long time. With the scent dabbed on my wrists, the fragrance surrounds me just the right amount when I raise my cocktail or wine glass.

Definitely for a woman, too sophisticated for a teenager.

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Sambalina82 on 12/30/2011 3:49:00 AM more reviews by Sambalina82

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Wow. I wore a bottle of this in my early teens as it was cheap and readily available. I didn't fully appreciate it back then as it was so commonly used. Tried some on in the store for nostalgias sake, and wow, how gorgeous! Big blast of jasmine, hint of spice, full on floriental. The drydown is amazing vanilla and jasmine. It's quite cheap these days, and as soon as I scour out the cheapest im so getting myself a bottle! I love the box and bottle too!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cacharel products

More Fragrances products