Stila Stay All Day Waterproof Liquid Eyeliner

4.3

589 reviews

81% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

water/aqua, ammonium styrene/acrylates copolymer, butylene glycol, alcohol, beheneth-30, phenoxyethanol, acrylates/octylacrylamide copolymer, methylparaben, polyglyceryl-3 disiloxane dimethicone, propylparaben, sodium hydroxide, disodium edta, may contain ( /) carbon black


on 7/30/2015 5:02:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is one of 2 black liners I currently have, the other is a gel, and this is the one i typically use. Its black and lasts brilliantly without primer on me I also like the pen as its a much finer point than others I've used, makes it so quick and easy compared to a pot of gel and a brush. It's also easy to clean up mistakes with a cotton bud which I find odd given it never smudges whilst I'm wearing it. The only thing I don't like about it is it has a slightly shiny finish when dry and cracks. It doesn't flake or anything but when I look up close it doesn't look as smooth as my gel liner would and I do much prefer a matte liner. I will use it up no problem but then I'm going to force myself to get good with a brush and use up the gel liner I have and then we'll see!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 7/27/2015 12:34:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is the hardest review for me to write because once upon a time this was my HG liquid liner. I was obsessed. It had the perfect jet black color, stayed all day and didn't even smudge. NOW, i'm not sure what it is (changed formula?) but none of this applies. It DOES NOT STAY ALL DAY and it smudges!!! I cannot believe it. The last two times i've purchased it, its staying power has been WEAK. It smudges with a stroke of a hand and bleeds onto my upper lid -- it's really embarrassing. I'm so upset because this was genuinely an amazing liner, but something's changed and I will no longer be purchasing this product.

Having said that, If you want a good liner and aren't too worried about it being long lasting, this formula is still OK. It's a fairly easy application and the color is fairly black. But i'd compare it to a drugstore liner at this point, you're better off with L'oreal.

I just know that I work/study/whatever for long hours everyday and don't want to have to worry about my eyeliner smudging. I used to be able to wear this to the beach last summer and it not move -- i'd be lucky if it lasted one hour now at the beach. I don't know what it is, I'm just confused and unhappy -- especially when you're in an important interview only to leave and find your whole upper eyelid is covered in black and that's the reason you were being looked at oddly.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

I cannot rave enough about this liner. It is just perfect for a nice, pigmented line and also, for someone like me who cannot draw a wing for my life, makes it so simple. With it being felt tip, it will wear out a little bit but if you take care of it, make sure you shake before you use it, you'll be fine! I wish it was cheaper because I would buy it more but it's just a beautiful, black liner.


on 7/20/2015 5:21:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this eyeliner after I was told it was quite waterproof, and boy was it. I really love this eyeliner, as someone who has double creased eyelids, I find eyeliner can get really smudgy on my eyelids and it's annoying, it's fast drying and easy to put on. I like the fine tip, making it easier to do a good cat eye. The one thing I will say about it is that it goes really fast. I had mine for about a month and it ran out (my other eyeliner of a similar brand lasted 4 months). For a markerish eyeliner, I do like it.


on 7/14/2015 3:20:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I haven't tried Kat Von D's liner pens so I can't really compare but I must say I really do like this liner. It seemed pretty life changing when I first bought it because I hated traditional liquid liners that you dip into and wanted something a little more smooth and precise than gel. Stila's liner changed my thoughts on liner. My only beef with this stuff is that it dries kind of shiny instead of matte, but is easily fixable by patting black shadow over the top. Another small issue is that the tip of my liner got a little ragged, maybe from smashing the tip in the cap so it's a little harder to make a sharp thin line. I haven't tried any colors other than black but after swatching some at Sephora, the other colors look great & pigmented, especially the white.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm

Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I have gone to Hades and back to find a genuinely waterproof eyeliner. So many different kinds of eyeliner... I'm having flashbacks. Anyhow, I learned of this from a friend. She loved it. Ordered some myself, in black.

The application tip is very svelte and applies liner without feathering, and I've read from many ladies whose lids tend to wrinkle that this makes application very easy for them. The point does get fuzzy near the end of its use, which I find inevitable with precision tip liners, and isn't really cumbersome. Needs just a moment to dry.

My temples and lids get very oily but the liner wasn't disturbed. I have slept with this stuff on and given that my eye isn't crammed into the pillow overnight, it remains perfectly intact.

One thing I very much liked about it is that when it's done, it's done. It doesn't show up watery, needing to be layered near the end of its use; it's simply finished.

My favorite waterproof liner.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 7/9/2015 6:46:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I have tried so many drugstore eyeliners but I just can't find the one the suits me until this.

Pros:
+ Does not smudge
+ Long-lasting
+ Intensive
+ Easy to apply ( the tip's sharp )
+ Buildable

Cons:
+ Not waterproof comletely
+ A little bit expensive


on 7/5/2015 11:17:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've repurchased this several times due to the amount of product in it, the precise tip, and the stay power. The Stila liner did not smudge a bit from a day spent at the water park. However, the tip can get softer and less precise as you use it so I suggest carefully cutting a small portion of the top to maintain the fine tip. Also, you can easily find a dupe for this at the drugstore since it is a bit pricey (maybelline master precise). But at the end of the day this is my HG!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/5/2015 12:42:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Everyone seems to love this, but in my opinion it's rather mediocre. The tip is nice and easy to control, but the formula is too thin and I have to apply 2-3 times to get the dark brown color I want. It smudged and faded on me after couple hours... Definitely did not stay all day. I might be having a different experience from many other people because I have monolids, but I cannot justify spending $20 on a "meh" eyeliner when I can get other liners with similar or better performances for around $10 at Target.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 6/29/2015 10:27:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is my holy grail eye liner! The colors I have are Intense Black and the brown, your staple colors, and they are very true to color and pigmented. The pros are that they last all day when applied on top of your eye primer (I must use one because my eyelids are oily.). I played high school basketball for four years and makeup that could last through school and a three hour practice. That was the true test of this liner. It is very easy to create a wing and it last for a long time. The only con I had was that if you put it in a cup standing straight up, it dries out quicker. Always store it on its side! Other than that, it's amazing!


Video Reviews & Tutorials

How to look like a cute doll: Easy simple steps & ideas, Very Kawaii! by beautybysantaana

New Year's Eve & Party Smokey Makeup Tutorial! 2015 by Angie Wilches

Faking a Crease: Smokey Eyes (great for monolids?) by KoreanLovesBeauty



Back to Top