CeraVe • Facial Moisturizing Lotion - AM SPF 30 • Moisturizers

rated 3.4(182 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* RaquellaDeVille on 9/17/2014 3:23:00 PM more reviews by RaquellaDeVille

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I wear moisturizer with SPF every day on my fair skin, but I've hated a lot of the products out there because they feel like sunscreen (Olay Total Effects SPF 15... I am talking to you!). They either burn, smell like sunblock, or look/feel greasy and heavy. So I used to LOVE this moisturizer. It doesn't feel disgusting going on even though it has a high SPF. It left my face matte, smooth, and non-greasy. Plus it didn't have an overwhelming sunscreen scent.

HOWEVER -- for those of you sunscreen divas (like me) out there, THIS PRODUCT IS NOT BROAD SPECTRUM. I just called the company to confirm and they said that it does not meet FDA standards for broad spectrum sunscreens, and they have no plans as of now to reformulate the product. That kind of shocks me because Cerave is supposed to make "dermatologist approved" products and it seems ridiculous to me that they are selling a moisturizer with SPF that doesn't totally protect the skin. That's kind of crappy to me.

THEREFORE, as much as I love this moisturizer I will not be repurchasing it. What is the point of wearing a moisturizer with SPF if it doesn't block out all of the sun's dangerous UVA and UVB rays? There are plenty of other products that will. Another great one is the Eucerin Daily SPF 30... it is slightly sticky and smells like sunscreen and leaves a whitish cast but it IS broad spectrum.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Sassymedusa on 9/13/2014 9:42:00 PM more reviews by Sassymedusa

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is the second time I've tried this product but it just is not for me. It makes my face sting even when I'm not in a particularly sensitive period, and it also leaves my face very shiny. Right now I use the regular CeraVe lotion or cream on my face (with a separate sunscreen), but those don't contain enough antioxidants for them to be beneficial long therm. There has to be something better out there.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 veelui on 9/11/2014 5:34:00 AM more reviews by veelui

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

i think this is a good winter moisturizer, really does give my skin hydration, i tried it during these summer months and if you are a person who sweats a lot, this product will run a little and in my particular experiences, it cause my sweat to form perfectly even beads around my forehead and nose, it wasfunny to see. and after sweat evaporated, i turned pretty oily, so i had to use powder to set mutt moisturizer to stop being so oily. i also started noticing blackheads on my forehead which i never had b4, i know bc i used to try the biore strips on my forehead and nothing attached to the strip and in these few months i used it again on my forehead, there is an insane amount.. so.. i think that it does a good job moisturizing but not for the summer months bc it will run and the spf wont be utilized

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 marcy93 on 9/8/2014 5:02:00 PM more reviews by marcy93

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Clogged pores, white cast, and sits on the skin. I casually scratched my face while wearing this only to see white gunk underneath my nails-so gross. It doesn't absorb well and caused a lot of tiny zits to form. I'd imagine that this come right off if I were sweating. Sucks that I won't be finishing the bottle but luckily it's inexpensive. The only benefit is the niacinamide, but that's pretty much it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 csif on 8/20/2014 2:56:00 PM more reviews by csif

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Immediately after the first application my face was bright red and burning. I would recommend patch testing this product if you have sensitive skin. Such a bummer! This is the only product to cause an allergic reaction and I hope it's the last.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Roxysurfergrl on 8/18/2014 1:20:00 AM more reviews by Roxysurfergrl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

My experience with this moisturizer:
1. Causes a white cast that won't rub in
2. Low SPF (I would prefer 45 and higher)
3. Not moisturizing/dried my skin out

My Skin: My skin is dry/acne prone and I am highly sensitive to the products I put on my face. I also have eczema that can react to irritating sunscreens/moisturizers if I'm not careful. I've recently (within the last yearish) started getting cystic acne along my jawline too.

I really wanted to like this product, but between the white cast/low spf I just couldn't keep using it. It also caused several breakouts/ made my current breakouts worse.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 kristanley on 7/11/2014 10:42:00 AM more reviews by kristanley

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This product clogged what seemed like every single pore on my entire face. It started with my forehead and moved downward on my face. I kept using it for a few days but it only got worse, and it has been 2 weeks and my face is still recovering. I bought this in tandem with the PM lotion and got such terrible results! My skin is generally clear, I get a pimple every once in a while like everyone else, but this induced giant patches of skin covered in acne. I didn't even want to leave the house.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 JetJockey on 7/9/2014 2:38:00 PM more reviews by JetJockey

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this for several months with no adverse reactions. It has a light, creamy lotion texture that I like better than any other facial sunscreen I've tried, but I have very dry skin and sometimes I still have to use a thicker moisturizer on top. The lotion takes about 20-30 seconds of massaging for it it fully absorb and not look streaky, but I don't consider that to be much of an issue. I also like that the packaging is sanitary, and that it contains niacinamide (vitamin B3) and ceramides (lipids that aid in skin's moisture retention).

The issue I have with this product is the four types of sunscreen it contains. The first three (homosalate (12%), octinoxate (7.5%), octocrylene (2%)) only protect against UVB rays, not both UVA and UVB. UVB rays penetrate only the very outer surface of the skin and are responsible for sunburns. So while this lotion IS good for preventing sunburns, it contains a rather low concentration of the ingredient that protects against UVA rays (the 4th sunscreen ingredient, zinc oxide, at only 3.5%). UVA rays are more harmful than UVB rays. They penetrate deeper than UVB rays and are responsible for skin aging and they increase one's risk of skin cancer.

I would have given this a rating of at least 4, if only this sunscreen contained either more zinc oxide or titanium dioxide, the two ingredients to look for in higher concentrations in order to truly benefit from broad-spectrum sun protection.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 patty48 on 7/1/2014 1:12:00 PM more reviews by patty48

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Finally, a product with sunscreen that doesn't break me out. I know sunscreen is important but for the life of me I could not find a product that didn't break me out. It didn't matter if it was high end or drugstore (I've tried many of them), within 24 hours I would have a breakout. I was very hesitant to try this (I do use the PM version and have had no problems, but no sunscreen either). I took the dive and started using this a week ago, everyday. No problems what so ever. Yes it does have a little sunscreen scent, I don't mind and it fades rather quickly. I have combo skin, it sinks in and I don't find it greasy at all. Love the pump bottle and locking cap for easy travel. I would recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ironicsymphonic on 6/26/2014 7:18:00 PM more reviews by ironicsymphonic

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This moisturizer is the one thing I have EVER found that keeps me from getting irritated little clogged bumps on my forehead and cheeks. I don't know if it's the niacinamide (topical antioxidant) or something else in the formulation, but this helps scabs heal fast and keeps my face MAGICALLY clear, provided I'm on track with a healthy diet and keeping hair products off my face, etc. I keep being stupid and trying other things, but I always come back to this and it always clears me up within a week. I usually use it at night, but sometimes in the morning as well.

This plus fermented cod liver oil = gorgeous skin. When will I ever learn to stop experimenting?

I don't find it greasy. It soaks in nicely and doesn't leave a whitish cast (but I'm very fair, so take that with a grain of salt). It has no smell. It doesn't sting the eyes if you accidentally get some in there. The pump packaging keeps the product clean, locks so you can't spill it, and the bottle is small enough to go in an airplane carry-on. It lasts several months per bottle, even with daily use, and because of the sunblock in it, I can use it in a pinch to protect my tattoos if I'm out in the sun. And it's easily available everywhere - I can pick it up at any drugstore or Target if I run out.

Yes, it has parabens. No, I don't like that. But I have never had anything else work so well, so I deal with it. Can't win 'em all. This is a simple basic product in simple plain packaging, but I'm not in it for what it looks like; I'm obsessed with what it does.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More CeraVe products

More Moisturizers products