Serge Lutens • Bas de Soie • Fragrances

rated 3.7(16 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tessture on 6/28/2013 4:41:00 PM more reviews by tessture

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a distinct Galbanum Chypre scent with a lovely iris incense behind and a soft touch of hyacinth. I'm not a huge fan of galbanum because it does tend to devolve into that inimitable 'forest floor' rotting green note, but in this case, it's blended in balance enough to turn this into, on me, a chypre version of Iris de Nuit or Infusion d'Iris. Lovely.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kerriki on 10/25/2012 7:33:00 AM more reviews by kerriki

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

The iris is sweet yet woody, somehow they have put a rich powdery oriental tonality to this that modernises the astringent effect of classics like Cristalle and stident iterations like hyacinth Bluebell. I often think nowadays that one should study consumer perfumery and then just buy all of Lutens. Gosh, I could have saved up for many trips to Paris!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dumpling on 10/24/2012 2:52:00 PM more reviews by dumpling

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Oh my, I have finally worked out what this smells like a cross between Vosene shampoo (herbal, anti dandruff!) and my local dry cleaners- and I love it. At first the odd, chemical finished, new garment smell really disturbed me, but it has really grown on me. Curiously, I don't get any floral notes on me this is super synthetic smelling but in a good way. I left a tester trip in a bag with a brand new Liberty scarf and just couldn't stop sniffing it. Sadly, it doesn't last long on my skin. Also reminds me a little of CdG Odeur 53 and Joop , both of which I was rather fond of back in the day. Just not sure I should be splurging £80 or so on something that makes me smell like a freshly cleaned suit.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Pimpinett on 2/29/2012 11:01:00 AM more reviews by Pimpinett

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is an uncharacteristic love for me; I haven't been much of a floral person, and I tend to favour big scents. Bas de Soie is not one of those large fragrances, although it's quite tenacious on me - I'm still getting faint whiffs of it, eight hours after application - and, I suspect, has quite a bit of sillage. Well-behaved, discreet sillage, but still.

On me, it's a chilly, powdery and very elegant green floral with prominent iris and hyacinth notes; as much hyacinth as iris, I would say, although I do get both. The iris is slightly soapy and a little old-fashioned in feel, reminiscent of the lingering powder fragrance inside a vintage compact. The hyacinth is green and lifelike, and the clean base emphasises the old-fashioned cosmetics associations.

The real hook for me, though, is a hard-to-describe buttery quality that I can't get enough of - smooth, rich, fatty, almost fleshy, a smoothness that feels slightly intoxicating in the same way that a good musk does. It's probably a trick of the iris, possibly assisted by the pale musk in the base and something else. Whatever it is, I love it.

And so I had to have a bottle. Bas de Soie turned out to be the iris I couldn't live without, to my surprise.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 maryandtheboys on 2/20/2012 1:57:00 PM more reviews by maryandtheboys

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Hyacinth, Powdery accents, Iris...hmm not to my nose. Granted, I am a beginner but all I get is a sharp, aldehydic, metallic, decaying floral that just makes me gag. This is even worse than Secretions Magnifique. I love so many in the SL line, so this was a shocker!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 iodine on 2/18/2012 8:52:00 PM more reviews by iodine

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I haven't found one yet I liked---till this one! It was awsome for all of THREE minutes! Too bad and of course, I'd not buy it, thank goodness RIS>

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Milelis on 7/24/2011 5:19:00 AM more reviews by Milelis

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I was shocked by all the good rewievs! Lucky I just get a sample. This smell like some greenish slime that has rotten in water!! Really, there is something very strange in this scent that does me fell sick - for real! I usually like Serge Lutens, but this...yuck!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* condesadepitimini on 7/17/2011 7:36:00 AM more reviews by condesadepitimini

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I was very impressed at first sniff, and this rarely happens with Serge Lutens (fragrances that are often so complex, I appreciate more in their developing stages).
The first sniff strikes me as a strong, fresh, hycinth note. I LOVE hyacinth, as a flower, in fragrances.
Bas de Soie is a green fragrance, that can *partly* remind you of Chanel n.19 (mind you, not the same frag but in the same family or with the same vibe).
Contrarily to many other reviewers, I do not get much iris here. Well, of course there is some cool iris, not the powdery iris you could find in Villoresi's Teint de Neige or Infusion d'Iris. Rather metallic, cold iris (this Cittą di Kyoto or Hiris by Hermes).
Forget Iris Silver Mist though! That one was masculine and cold and all about metallic Iris, almost disturbing . Bas de Soie is all about hyacinth, and a happy one.
Again, the name is distracting. By the name only I would think of a sensual, silky oriental frag (being Bas de Soie equivalent to Silk Stockings), yet it is not your typical spicy oriental perfume. It is not oriental at all!
Bas de Soie is a green floral, sensual in a sophisticated, classy, lightly selfish, self assured and ladylike way, just as Chanel 19 could be.
A very very well executed frag, with good lasting power & easy to wear in a number of occasions.
Definitely a must try.
______________________________

Notes as per Osmoz:
top note Green Notes, Galbanum Note
middle note Hyacinth, Floral Notes, Spicy Notes
base note Iris, Powdery Notes


4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* WentworthRoth on 5/21/2011 10:14:00 AM more reviews by WentworthRoth

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Bas de Soie

Notes: iris, hyacinth and powdery accents.

This fragrance opens with a watery iris note - reminiscent of Hiris - that is quickly overwhelmed by an indistinct, vaguely peppery floral. Gradually the two notes settle into an uncomfortable truce and create an unusual accord: dry, peppery and vegetal green with mossy undertones. I can understand why some people are put off by this Lutens and see unpleasant things like acetone and gasoline; I, however, see blue hyacinths. On my skin this hyacinth impression is the essence - the true nature of the scent and does not change for many hours. Only as we progress towards the dry down does the accord dissolve into a pale anisic floral.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Caramellane on 1/14/2011 12:45:00 PM more reviews by Caramellane

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Cool, green, herbal, and powdery, is exactly how Bas de Soie came across to me. Since silk was in the name of the fragrance, I was expecting something smooth, soft, luxurious and powdery. What I got was a strange bitter green opening that never went away. The best way I can describe Bas de Soie is the scent of cilantro and parsley, in a mixed green salad with sweetened baby powder on top. Definately one of the oddest scent that I've tried. Please don't let my review keep you from sampling, I see that the other reviewers enjoyed this one, so I suppose not all find this as odd as I do.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Serge Lutens products

More Fragrances products