Maybelline • Neutral Liaisons • Eye Shadow

rated 4.2(11 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* VegetaFanGirl on 8/19/2012 9:58:00 PM more reviews by VegetaFanGirl

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Love, love love! This is one of my favorite neutral-metallic palettes of all time! I got this on sale at Target a couple months ago, and it was totally worth it. The three colors in this little palette are extremely versatile, suitable for both day and night looks. What I love is that they are neutral yet reflective at the same time, so these are neutral shades that don't feel dull. It does take a bit of practice applying them, I will admit that. It helps to alternate between brushes and fingers. They don't crease, and I haven't had any fading, falling, or other kinds of problems like that. These shouldn't be used or stored in super cold places- they refuse to work when they're cold! Honestly, the plastic packaging is of poor quality. The lid broke off when I dropped them. However, these shadows are pretty affordable, way under $10, and possibly some of the best neutral cream shadows out there!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jexka on 4/10/2012 3:49:00 PM more reviews by Jexka

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I'm surprised I'm the only one that really doesn't like this product. I misplaced a makeup bag with my Benefit Creaseless Cream Shadows, which I was using daily for a super easy natural makeup look. I went to the drugstore and saw these; the colors looked nice, so I figured why not. But honestly, these suck.
Like I said, I do like the colors. You get a glowy ivory shade, a champagne, and a deep brown. All the shades have a little sparkle to them, but not in an obnoxious way. What's weird is these all seem to have a completely different texture. The ivory shade is very chalky; it flakes like crazy when I rub it on. The champagne shade is the best; it's creamy and applies pretty well, but it's hard to blend. The dark brown is the hardest in texture and is also pretty hard to blend.
My biggest issue with these is that they crease like crazy! I tried several different primers underneath to no avail. Even setting a powder shadow over these didn't prevent the creasing. The ivory and the brown are the worst...they crease in less than two hours. The champagne is a little better, creasing after about three.
These also fade considerably after only 3 or more hours of wear. The ivory pretty much completely disappears, and surprisingly, so does the brown! I expected the brown to last the longest, since it's the most pigmented. But no matter what, after 3 hours or so, this is totally gone, only leaving the slightest stain.
I've tried and tried and tried to make these work, but I just can't. The only thing I occasionally use these for is as a browbone highlight, since they can't crease up there! Obviously, I can't use the dark color as a highlight, so I'm not sure what to do with that one. I considered using it as a liner, but since it disappears so quickly, I don't think it would work. Oh well.
I'd love to try the much talked about Maybelline Eye Tattoo Cream Shadows, but I still haven't been able to bring myself to do it based on the awful quality of these. :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TinkerbellonCrack on 1/29/2012 11:07:00 PM more reviews by TinkerbellonCrack

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

So very torn on this trio. I was lemming a paint pot but opted for this inexpensive alternative. Of all the Eye Studio cream shadows, this trio was the only one that was truly neutral, packing a pearly cream, shimmery beige, and a metallic chocolate milk color. The taupe pulls a much more champagne color on me than most but it's excellent on both light and dark skin. The colors alone earn a whole lippie from me; they are so very beautiful and blend like a dream. They allow you to create a very sheer, simple smokey eye with ease so you can still have a polished look if you're pressed for time. BUT, creasing is an issue. I have never experienced real creasing from any product except this one. I do not have oily lids and I have tried using these solo, as bases, etc. and the creasing seems inevitable. I combat it with a generous layer of primer, gently patting the colors on, then lightly topping with powder shadow. I love this trio so much that I don't mind checking my makeup throughout the day to smooth out any creases. All in all, don't expect a Benefit, EL, or MAC cream shadow quality here. That aside, I am glad to have bought this product because it was a steal (around $7) and it's beautiful and so easy to use.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Christinaann5 on 11/2/2011 11:57:00 PM more reviews by Christinaann5

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

wow! This cream shadow trio is wonderful! such a great addition to the Maybelline Eye Studio Collection. I love this trio and use it alot! if i wasnt so obsessed with any and all cream shadows/bases Id be able to use these everyday!
PRICE/AVAILABILITY- Maybelline Eye Studio Cream Shadow Trios can be found where Maybelline makeup products are sold. Can be found at most drugstores like CVS, Walgreens, Rite Aid as well as mass stores like Walmart & Target. Price will vary depending on your location as well as where you purchase this trio. Ive seen it from $5-7 so check for sales and coupons.
SHADE/FORMULA- Neutral Liasons is a great everyday neutral trio with 3 great daytime neutral cream shadows. All 3 shades can be worn for daytime and be jazzed up for night time. From left to right:
1ST SHADE- a champagne cream shade that works great for all over the lid, brow bone area. a great color to have as a darker alternative to Milk, it has a matte finish which is great to have in this trio for sometimes i want to tone down a shimmery shadow. this is a great light creamy champange with a slight pink undertone. almost like painterly but lighter.
2ND SHADE- my favorite shade of all! its probably one of my favorite cream shadows out of my vast collection. this shade is a light taupe. its a grey brown with purple undertones. it has a sheen finish. its a great taupe, very similar to NYX Iced Mocha pencil. i like this one more since its a true taupe. so pretty on its own but works great with almost any eyeshadow esp with taupes! its so unique from most of my cream shadows. its gorgeous!
3RD SHADE- this is a great deep milk chocolate brown. its more metallic sheen finish but great for using on the outer corner area to add definition. this is also makes a great base for brown or dark smoky looks! lovely bronzey brown shadow. i love this one too.
I love all 3 colors. so great for girls like me that do neutral looks everyday. I love the 3 different finishes on these since its great for adding texture to looks. The formula is very similar to Revlon Creme Iluminance Quad shadows. so if you have tried and loved those, then you will def love this trio! The cream shadow is a cream but its more of a powder finish. not waxy or too creamy. just right to use alone or as a base for powder shadows. The key for these to not crease is applying thin layers and working up. Also using an eye primer underneath will also help significantly! I use my fingers to apply these since it helps thin and blend them out. but will work with fingers or brushes. Ive not experienced any crazy creasing. I have normal lids but Im sure this will work as long as you use correctly. Top with powder to help set and soak up any excess oil from lid/cream I love the formula/consistency of these since they are almost a powder finish but allow my powders to cling to. You have enough time to blend and set without worrying about clumping or hardening.
LONGEVITY- these on their own will probably last around 5-6 hours on normal lids. But if you want the most longevity and staying power- DEF set with powder shadows or even your face powder will do the trick if you want the cream shadow color. I love using these as bases but also even on their own. makes a wonderful neutral almost smoky daytime look! Staying power is great. Lasts just as long as Revlon and NYX.
PACKAGING- these trios come in a rectangular plastic compact with black glossy back and see thru plastic snap lid. Maybelline Eye studio is stamped on the see thru lid. There is a sticker that in on the snap that name. The name/logo/labeling is on sticker on the back. The plastic is very sturdy and compact. Great for on the go and travel. The see thru top is great for seeing what cream shadows are inside if you own more than 1 and want to see what you're reaching for. The 3 shadows inside are placed on a shiny black tray. The 3 shadows are all the same size, roughly the size of a nickel. Decent amount of product but not tons either since I dont think the pan is very deep. But for the price its not bad but not the best. I dont mind though since I prefer I dont have a ton of product to get thru or worry about drying out. Simple and compact, sturdy and made it through my rough handling. Not elaborate but def does a great job of protecting and storing shadow. Make sure the lid is snapped shut to ensure your creams dont dry up.
Overall= This trio especially is great for anyone and everyone! Great go to everyday colors that everyone should own. If you like cram shadows and want something to help your shadows Pop! and stand out! If you want some dimension & texture- PICK THIS UP! out of all the color/trios, this one of course stood out of course bc I knew id get use out of it. I dont reach for blue creams often enough so def worth the price! Would i repurchase, maybe? but since Maybelline is still continuing to test on innocent animals barbarically, Ill probably continue to buy from Cruelty free companies! But im def a fan of this trio! is sooo pretty! esp my taupe! gorgeous!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nlt87 on 11/2/2011 8:59:00 PM more reviews by nlt87

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

These are great cream shadows I use a primer first then I apply these then i apply my shadow. It works like a charm every time, I never have any creasing. My favorite shade is the taupe shade it's so beautiful.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 camycheq on 11/2/2011 8:46:00 PM more reviews by camycheq

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Colors that will compliment just about anyone. I haven't experienced any creasing because I always apply a primer.
Great for an everyday neutral look

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kavitacaviezel on 12/23/2010 5:46:00 PM more reviews by Kavitacaviezel

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really like these cream shadows. I own Neutral Liasons, Rose Revolution & Flash of Forest, and all three trios share the same dark color. It's a frosted brownish plum. Why put one of the same colors in all three compacts? But all in all it's lovely as an eyeliner for my bottom lashes. Yes they crease, but overall, I'm happy with the product. I got mine on sale at Rite Aid 40% off ($3.72 each trio) Neutral Liasons is my favorite color combo.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* makeupaddict76 on 8/18/2010 5:07:00 PM more reviews by makeupaddict76

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I'm so impressed with this trio. I went to the amusement park in 98 degree heat and it didn't smudge or crease all day. I use the middle shade all over my lid, the dark brown in the outer crease and blended upwards and used the lightest shade as highlight. I went back to the store to purchase more but I didn't see any other colors I liked but this trio is definitely recommended!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rock_chica81 on 8/7/2010 11:58:00 PM more reviews by rock_chica81

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

These are pretty decent DS cream shadows. I love the neutral colors and they blend pretty easily. On the downside, they do crease without a primer and fade throughout the day. I pretty much have used these shadows when I'm in a hurry and need to look more polished. I actually like these better than the Revlon cream shadows which I found to crease as soon as I put them on. However, I don't think they compare to the more expensive shadows like Benefit. But not bad for the price since I had a coupon and bought them on sale. I'll probably try out some of the other colors.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kb13xoxo on 7/7/2010 7:52:00 PM more reviews by kb13xoxo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Great set of neutrals to use as bases. I tried them by themselves and they crease so will definitely use over a primer. I do use these sometimes by themselves when going to the beach or the pool.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Eye Shadow products