L'Oreal Visible Lift Serum Absolute Advanced Age-Reversing Makeup

3.9

301 reviews

71% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

(Active Ingredient : Octinoxate 1.0%, Titanium dioxide 6.7%), Water, Isododecane, Cyclopentasiloxane, Glycerin, Cyclohexasiloxane, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Methyl Methacrylate Crosspolymer, Butylene Glycol, Dimethicone, Isoeicosane, Ascorbyl Glucoside, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 Dimethicone, Phenoxyethanol, Sodium Chloride, C9-15 Fluoroalcohol Phosphate, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Hexyl Laurate, Caprylyl Glycol, Isostearyl Neopentanoate, Alumina, Polyethylene Glycol, Methylparaben, Phenylethyl Resorcinol, Acetyl Trifluoromethylphenyl Valylglycine, Calcium Pantetheine Sulfonate, Hydroxypropyl Tetrahydropyrantriol, Pisum Sativum (Pea) Extract, Retinyl Palmitate, Hydrolyzed Elastin, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Polycaprolactone, Soluble Collagen, Sodium Hyaluronate [may contain] (CI 77891/Titanium Dioxide, CI 77491/CI 77492/CI 77499/Iron Oxides, CI 77019/Mica)


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I really wanted to like this product! My favorite foundation is by Lancome, so I thought that L'Oreal products (since L'Oreal owns Lancome) might be comparable. This foundation was ok, but it doesn't beat my Lancome Teint Idole Ultra 24Hr.

The bottle is nice and the pump is great. The foundation has a sort of thick, mousse-like consistency but it does not feel heavy when applied. I'm very pale and I always buy the lightest shade available, so I got this in shade 143. When I started applying this to my face with a stippling brush it looked too pale, but after about 5 minutes it blended into my skin quite nicely. In comparison to my Lancome Teint Idole Ultra 24Hr and a Neutrogena foundation I've been testing (Shine Control foundation), this foundation didn't give as nice of a finish.

After 5 hours of wear (and I did use a primer) I started to notice that I was getting oily around my nose and on my cheeks. I used a blotting sheet to soak up the oil and it took my foundation with it leaving me with some patches of no makeup on my nose and cheeks (not obvious, but I could tell when looking up close). I also noticed that before the 5 hour wear mark, whenever I touched my face some of the product came off, so I guess this never set really well even though I use a setting powder after applying. I guess if you want a lightweight foundation and only need a few hours of wear this would be alright. (Make sure not to touch your face too much or the product will rub off.) Probably better for girls with dry skin.

Overall:
PROS:
-lightweight
-no noticeable fragrance
-light to medium coverage
-looks dewy
-a sheer foundation, providing some coverage for a healthy fresh-faced look

CONS:
-didn't set even with setting powder
-wipes off the face if bumped or blotted
-starts looking oily within 5 hours

So last minute thoughts: After 12 hours, I took another look at the foundation, and the finish looks pretty good. I am a little oily, but its not excessive and the patchiness I referred to above is hardly noticeable. I think this is a nice foundation if you have dry/combination skin and/or if you want to look like you aren't wearing makeup. It does even out my skin tone and match really well!

UPDATE: I wore this for a full day 10-12 hours in 90 degree weather without any touch-ups or blotting, and it held up really well. At the end of the day I had some oiliness around the sides of my nose but the rest of my makeup still looked great! I have learned that I need to start by applying a generous amount of my Becca primer (patting/pressing this into the skin rather the rubbing it) and then apply this foundation with my Real Techniques expert face brush instead of a stippling brush. It makes a world of difference.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 8/16/2015 2:48:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I usually prefer BB cream for everyday use. But for more medium to full coverage, most BB creams just don't cut it. This liquid foundation is fairly light in texture and yet allows medium (and above) coverage. This line offers many shades from light-dark so even if you can't find the exact shade that matches your skin, you can probably mix your own. For me the most important thing I look for in a foundation is the naturalness of the result and that it does not cause acne, since my skin can be very sensitive. So far, I like how it looks on my face. Overall, for this price IĎd say this one is not to be missed.


on 6/23/2015 8:43:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love it! One of my favorites . Wore it on my wedding day lovely:) and the under eye concealer is lovely also:)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/1/2015 5:01:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I prefer to use this foundation during the winter months - I have combo/oily skin and if I want to wear it in the summer I usually have to mix it with a matte foundation; you also absolutely need a primer for this if you tend to get oily, especially in the T-zone. I really do enjoy the finish, however this foundation does not really last on my skin. I do recommend it for someone with normal/dry skin, but would I personally repurchase it? Probably not.


on 5/1/2015 7:13:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I think the texture and finish of this foundation are quite unusual for the price point and it reminds me of Chanel and Dior foundations. Itís definitely worth checking out if you want a soft-focus, slightly glowy finish. I have normal/oily skin and am acne-prone so Iím a bit wary of some of the ingredients but I havenít had any problems with it after about 3 weeks of wearing it most days. Itís a really flattering finish with buildable coverage and I think it has a brightening effect. Most of the days Iíve worn it have been over sun block and Iíve sometimes had to layer more sun block and powder over it during the day. I canít say that I look perfectly fresh at the end of a long day in the heat with multiple layers of sun block and powder over this but I do still have coverage at the end of the day and it doesnít migrate or settle in lines.

This foundation is easy to work with and blend. Iíve applied it with my fingers and with a synthetic brush. It doesnít dry too quickly so I have time to spread it out and it doesnít require buffing. The pump is great!

The shade I have is 143 Soft Ivory which is the lightest one. It has a definite pink undertone. When I first swatched it on my hand, I thought it looked too dark and too pink but Iíve found itís one of those odd formulations that actually looks lighter when itís spread out and some of the pinkness turns in to brighteners somehow. I often have problems with makeup oxidizing darker and warmer on my skin but this is stable once itís blended. It really seems like an advanced formula.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/1/2015 6:40:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The texture of this foundation is very nice. It comes in very light shades, which is hard to find when you have pale skin. It went on nice, enough coverage and not too thick. Unfortunately, after about an hour, my face felt very tight. A few hours later I looked in the mirror and my skin looked all dried up. It started separating and looked awful. I couldn't wait to get home from work to wash this off my face. I should also mention that I always moisturize my face before applying foundation. For anyone with dry skin, this is not for you.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/3/2015 10:49:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

First off let me just say I love the pump. You save more product and it's more sanitary. This is a great foundation, it's my new HG along with True Match. It has great coverage considering it's anti-aging since those tend to have lighter coverage since it's meant to prevent settling in fine lines. The consistency is a little bit runny but it covers me imperfections. Large colour selection, no where near True Match but I didn't have a hard time finding my colour. The finish is satin, not dewy, not matte which I assume makes it geared to multiple skin types. Lasting power is good, lasts all day on me. I'm in W5 True Match and I got the exact same colour except the colour is called 151 Natural Beige. Perfect for my yellow undertones. Try this, it's a little more expensive but totally worth it. Hope this helped. :)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

My new Holy Grail. Hands down, this is a lovely foundation. I was sucked in by the "Visible Lift" and the satiny finish it gives is just amazing. I also use witch hazel and St. Ives moisturizer twice a day. This gives a great base for the foundation. My old HG was Revlon Colorstay, now I wonder how the heck I ever used it so long. That stuff was like paint on the face whereas this, it just glides on and makes you look like you have great skin. The End. Would definitely recommend and will be buying again and again!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 11/22/2014 12:10:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Grey, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I have been using this foundation since the weather turned cold. While I am generally not a fan of liquid foundation, or of foundation at all, I like this for several reasons:

1) Coverage for moderate rosacea. I have cheeks that have a tendency to become beet red (along with my chin) and this does a good job of covering it. It's not 100%, but looks pretty decent with only 1 pump for my entire face.
2) Coverage for melasma. I have melasma marks where my face meets my neck--this takes care of the problem.
3) Amount needed to cover. I could put more than one pump on, but, as I said, I am not a fan of foundation--using a small amount works.
4) Consistency. This seems to have a fairly light consistency, and is quite spreadable. It takes a few seconds to dry (unlike Revlon Colorstay) so you can get the product where you need it most.
5) Formulation. I appreciate the anti-aging products in this formula, although I don't really know if there is enough of anything to make a huge difference.
6) Finish. I love, love, love the satin finish. As a 56 year old woman, it's nice to have youthful skin looking back at you when you use this!
5) Pump. I am not a fan of pouring foundation all over my hand (I'm kind of kutzy that way). The pump allows me to use just a small amount, without waste. Yes, it would be good if the pump were effective all the way to the botom of the container, but I can live with it.
6) Sunscreen. Uses a physical sunscreen, the only type of sunscreen that I am not allergic to.
8) Color. I use creamy natural. Lorealparisusa.com has a nice tool for finding the right shade.
9) Moisture content. Not super moisturzing, which works for both the extremely dry areas of my face (I layer moisture underneath) and oily tzone (no moisture underneath).
10) Application. I haven't tried using a brush or sponge, but it's fine with my fingers. May try it using other methods down the road.

What I don't like:
1) The pump is too short! (See #6 above.)
2) I would love to see a sqeeze tube container for travel.
3) Sinks into pores. This can be effectively remedied with the use of a primer.
4) Not super long-lasting, but use of a primer and setting spray will extend wear significantly.
5) L'Oreal STILL TESTS ON ANIMALS. Get with the program, L'OREAL! (And don't start outsourcing it just to be able to say that you don't test on animals.)
6) I don't know how usable this will be for summer; however I often go simply with tinted moisturizer at that time of year. We'll see.

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.


on 11/7/2014 7:52:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I missed giving this 5 lippies because it can look a bit heavy. However this is an excellent product otherwise in the anti aging /mature skin cosmetic market. It will make one's complexion look like fine porcelain but it only lasts for 5-6 hours and not much for humidity. Definitely requires the use of a setting powder, which helps it last lo .

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top